We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Inn in Little Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Square Inn
Ranked #17 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Inn in Little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We loved our recent stay at the Washington Square Inn! Having visited North Beach with my Italian grandfather over the years, I had never stayed in a hotel there, until this visit. The neighborhood was quiet and charming, full of wonderful restaurants, and the Inn itself is my new all-time favorite place to stay in San Francisco. While the rooms are small, they are exquisite in every way. (Our only complaint was that our shower door was difficult to close.) The service was impeccable, including having someone from the hotel bring our car from the garage to the front door of the Inn in time for our early morning drive to the airport on the day of our departure. Both the afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, as well as breakfast, were elegant, with the option of having breakfast downstairs or brought to your room on a tray. On our next visit, we plan to reserve a junior suite with more floor space, a king-sized bed, and a tub in the bathroom!

Room Tip: Consider a junior suite for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SusanBothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    105
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
30
248
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights early in March. The staff was very attentive from the first one we met, Parvar, (sorry I believe was his name) at the main desk, was very courteous & gave us great tips on a good restaurant (Gigi's Solla Mare - seafood & pasta) when we had arrived from an early morning leaving the Yucatan, Britanny, who knew exactly which Alcatraz & CityTours to book for us, the friendly kitchen staff & Brian, the new manager. Room 3 was a bit small & could not accommodate both big suitcases, and the BR also quite tight, but for only 3 nights & being out seeing sights was fine. The room looked out on the side street, and was well shuttered & with a black-out curtain. We also felt in a true neighbourhood which was quiet & safe after the business day. Mamma's Breakfast Cafe right across the street, which we didn't need with the provided breakfast. (We actually enjoyed & had missed porridge being in Yucatan 4weeks). The evening wine & cheese looked like fun, but we don't drink & they had no substitutes bevies, which might be nice to have on hand. One night we noticed they had marvelous hors d'oeuvres out, but were headed out for a nice meal. We met & enjoyed chatting with several other folk staying there. It would be easy to return to in the future. Try it you'll love the convenience of not needing a car to get around. Brian booked us an airport service (limo) flat rate of $50 at 9:00 am after the rush hour, app. 35 min. pleasant ride. It had cost $55 by taxi in rush hour on arrival.
Still lots to see in the city by the bay...we need to return & WSI will be in on list.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Betterthanboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
980 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 952 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

my partner and i stayed 2nights while on a road trip. booking in time was 3pm arrived at 1.30. reception gave us parking permit and took cases till 3pm for us so that was good. parking is actually further up the street on the left hand side so be prepared to get cases put of car before parking. parking staff very friendly,helpful having car ready on departure. hotel reception area great, room quaint, very small though if known before hand would have paid for bigger room. very clean , maybe a little worn around skirting carpet ares. hotel had happy hour cheese and wine which was nice. road works very noisy around 8.30am in morning only lasted an hour or so. breakfast to be ordered the night before leave note on your door. continental choices, good fresh, and can be brought to your room. great location for area. staff attentive and friendly. would recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a large room, pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Washington Square Inn, in San Francisco. From the street the Inn is charming, and visually "fits" with the North Beach/ Washington Square neighborhood it sits in. The building is older, but clean and decorated well. the lobby is small, but the desk staff is very helpful, and will store and place your luggage in your room if you arrive before the 3 pm check in time. We were directed up a neat stairway and down a hallway to our Junior Queen Room. The room was on the small side, but had a dresser, nightstands, armoire, and television. The bathroom is across the hallway. While it does take some getting used to, the bathroom was large, private, and well stocked with lotions, shampoos, and other supplies (shoe shine kit). We did not have an issue walking across the hallway to shower or freshen up, but the bathroom uses the same key card as your room, and you are only provided one on check in, so it is easy to lock yourself out of both your room, and the bathroom if you are not careful.

The hotel is within a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, a 5 minute walk to China Town, steps to Little Italy and the Coit Tower, and a cable car ride from Union Square/the Financial District. We were literally able to get anywhere we wanted to within minutes, easily. If you plan on walking, be advised, San Francisco has some very steep hills, but the weather was beautiful, and the changing contours provided us with beautiful bay views.

The breakfast at the hotel was small, but good, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch. Save yourself the frustration and money of eating on Fisherman's Wharf and instead opt for one of the fantastic restaurants immediately surrounding the Inn.

Whether you're in San Francisco to see the sights like a tourist, experience the city like a local, or do business like a professional, The Washington Square Inn is a great base, with good amenities in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Get a room with an en suite restroom to avoid locking yourself in the hallway, in a robe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmpark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Washington Square Inn and found the experience very rewarding.The staff were very cordial and efficient ,especially Brian the manager who couldn't have been more accommodating. We both enjoyed the breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and look forward to staying at this venue again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have stayed at the Washington Square Inn each time we've visited San Francisco. The rooms are beautiful, romantic, and comfy. Views out the window of the square, Telegraph Hill, etc. Nice wine, cheese and cookies are placed on the table downstairs in the afternoon. The Inn is within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Telegraph Hill, City Lights Books Store, and many restaurants. And talk about Breakfast! A wicker tray is delivered to your door with a large assortment of juice, fruit, granola, pastries, tea, coffee..To start your day. I cannot imagine going to S.F. Without staying at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location, if you want to be near China Town and Little Italy. Rooms are very small with no place for luggage. 1st floor rooms can hear street noise and breakfast. Gr8 breakfast, hords and wine. Staff very friendly. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a large room up on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 602travelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#114 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,020 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Property: Washington Square Inn
Address: 1660 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-3316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing