We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B choice in a downtown hotel.”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B choice in a downtown hotel.”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I had a group of friends with me and we all stayed at the White Swan for one night on our way to Napa Valley. The hotel is a few convenient blocks from Union Square, the trolley, BART, Chinatown and several great restaurants.
The rooms are quite spacious (all single queens) which works for couples and girlfriends, but may not for families. Extra amenities included a fireplace and supplemental area for sitting. We had plenty of room to spread out and have some closet space. The only thing that can be a little much is the floral decor (wallpaper, carpet, upholstery) but this is a minor detail. The hotel was surprisingly quiet since it is on a major street, but our room looked into the interior of the hotel and I'm not sure if all of them do.
The breakfast was lovely, lots of hot and cold choices and the hotel also offers a nice afternoon wine happy hour.
The hotel has a fun, old school elevator with a metal grate door and a sliding metal door with manual push button controls. There is definitely a knack to working this!
This hotel is a wonderful choice for the value, location and extra amenities that they provide.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventurousColorado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    472
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
306
943
75
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This hotel was lovely, centrally located and the people were very helpful. The breakfast was great but did not go to the evening wine tasting as we were out and about. My only problem was the room, although it was roomy and we were allocated a suite rather than a room which meant we had 2 bathrooms, bedroom, lounge and 2 kitchenettes we were woken every morning by the chef coming on shift at 5am. (we were told it was the chef we did not actually see him) he would come in thru the gate that ran under the lounge and although we had both doors closed we were both woken every morning when the gate was left to slam and make a huge noise. So i would suggest that you would ask for any room other than this one even if they tell you you are being upgraded.

Room Tip: Do not take the suite next to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joolsfelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

A part of the Joie de Vivre line, The White Swan Inn is well-located for either business or pleasure travelers. It's decorated in the English country inn genre, which means quite a bit of floral wallpaper. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms offer a small fridge stocked with free soft drinks and water. The building is a converted row house, I believe, and the rooms are all slightly different. Each has a working fireplace. The Inn offers rooms at very reasonable prices for San Francisco, and it's located near Chinatown and one of the cable car lines. Also just blocks to Union Square and the financial district.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mguerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

My wife joined me for a trip to a convention. She explored the area while I attended the meeting. We both loved the gourmet breakfast, and the afternoon wine and snacks. The chef was creative and provided lots of healthy, delicious choices. These events attract nearly all of the guests, many of whom were from out of the country while we were there. It was delightful! We made lots of new friends, and got tips about local "must see" restaurants and highlights. The staff was also extremely helpful. The rooms are charming, and the fireplaces a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanwagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Just one night here. This is a really quirky, pleaseant place to stay and a nice change from the corporate hotels. Staffed by enthusiastic young people and in a very central position, it provides comfortable accommodation( one gripe no curtains so the sun floods your room early) They provide a complimentary wine reception and a very nice breakfast served in a comfortable parlour, with unlimited cookies and coffee.
The staff were helpful and friendly and we would certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Fantastic service, spacious rooms, charming touches, great value. Travel widely with work and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The atmosphere they are trying to establish is succeeding . From the friendly staff , to the excellent location, to the lower level breakfast \ wine and cheese room . All made one feel a part of the Inn. Meeting similar like minded people that traded places to dine to sites to visit made the stay wonderful. One can walk out the door and catch the cable car, or go to the theatre within a stones throw of the Inn. Rooms are quaint and roomy and offer great value for the money. One has to be prepared to stoke it up hills and stairs but it is San Fransisco!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing