We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Decided to follow fellow Trip Advisors' recommendations this trip and was not disappointed, thank you. Stayed 3 nights on arrival in San Francisco in June. Seemed a bit strange at first, door locked, security I guess, small lobby with no bell-boys for luggage and an old lift, seems more like a bed and breakfast than an Inn or hotel. After getting over the initial fright, everything was as had been described.
Room was clean and as described and expected, bed was comfortable, shower was good and breakfast exceeded expectations, all the boxes were ticked!
Never expected San Francisco to be as hilly as it is (pretty stupid) so would have preferred it closer to Union Sq. but that does not affect the rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    470
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
302
940
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stumbled across this boutique hotel only by accident as most accommodations were booked out at the time we wanted to travel. We were very impressed with the service provided and Andy went out of his way to be very helpful.

On one of the days, we needed to make an early start as we had a long bus trip to Yosemite National Park. As pick up was before the breakfast room was open, they went to the trouble to pack us a breakfast meal as well as some snacks for the trip.

It was great that breakfast was included as part of the pricing.

All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful and we would have no hesitation in coming back to this hotel.

All in all, we enjoyed our 9 night stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury king room with pull out sofa for our young child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWithMe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evansville, in
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for several days in June. It was fantastic. The room was beautiful. Just like the pictures on the website. SF is difficult to navigate on your first trip. This hotel seems too far off the main area upon first glance.... it really is not. Chinatown is within comfortable walking distance.and the mall is also close. the mall is close (dsw) and the fisherman's wharf is also reasonably close (by crowded cable car) although the walk there is over 15 blocks.I would not stay on fisherman's wharf though - too crowded and too touristy. The room is very clean, the afternoon appetizers and wine is really nice and makes you not want to eat anywhere else. The front desk was very helpful to the rookie SF traveler (trust me I knew nothing). I really liked the throwback old elevator. It was really a very quiet hotel and felt very secure. Once we figured out the area, this hotel was absolutely perfect. I will stay here if i ever get to come back to SF.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maeday1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We spent two nights at the White Swan Inn and didn't want to leave. I would recommend Room 27 which is on the main floor and has a fireplace. The room was clean and spacious, the bed and pillows very comfy. We opened the windows and let in the fresh air. The service at the front desk was impeccable - Darren and the other young guy (sorry we didn't get your name) were extremely helpful as my boyfriend had to do a little business.

Evening happy hour included white and red white and some light dip,crackers and some sort of egg or pasta salad. Breakfast was good with eggs, sausage, tons of fresh fruit and wonderful baked items. The location is good - we walked a few blocks to the trolley and then walked the rest of the time all around the area.

Very nice and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 27 and I would definiitely request it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krazymoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hotel is in a great location and is nicely appointed. The staff is friendly and the rooms lovely. The "wine and cheese" hour needs improvement. All the food was consumed within the first 15 minutes and never replaced. The hotel should either replenish the food or eliminate the service. Late comers stared sadly at empty plates and bottles.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurocat75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Our first time in SF and were recommended this hotel. Fantastic location. Friendly staff. Breakfast sets you up for the day and complimentary hors d'oeuvres and wine went down a treat. Decor like old English. Large room with lots of facilities. Quaint elevator.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

In a city full of fine hotels this is a very nice little hotel with a great location. The price is right. But don't expect luxury. The staff is vey accommodating and the included breakfast is quite good. Neat and clean. A bit on the worn side but in general, a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NelloDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing