We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had no problems with the WSI holding our luggage when we arrived early and when we left for SFO late in the day-- no worries about theft fro a parked car. The rooms are large and had sitting areas; I could sit and read while my wife slept. Breakfast was buffet, with how foods and some protein. Evening happy hour with wine and appetizers was great, tasty and with good company from other guests. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant to work with. Parking at Sutter-Stockton garage was fairly convenient and about $24 for a 24 hour period. The Inn is warm and home like. I would definitely return here on my next San Francisco trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Active_traveler403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    470
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
303
940
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CABLE BEACH
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a small hotel in the middle of the city. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Decor is very English and the hotel is old but we loved to there. Drinks in the parlour are a terrific way to meet the other guests and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NICOLA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORANCE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

from my discussion with Reservation staff through check out---my brief stay at the White Swan was great. The breakfast was the best. The wine hour by the fireplace was delightful---and it was fun visiting with the collection of international guests. My only dilemma for my next SF visit is whether to return to the White Swan or try the sister establishment two doors away-----the Petite Auberge. (If you enjoyed the old movie, Thoroughly Modern Millie---you'll want to dance in the elevator)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a typical small European-style hotel with great personal service. The location was perfect for exploring the city on foot. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We had a bit of a problem with noisy people on the street. It was a refreshing change to have complimentary water and soda in the fridge. The bed was very comfortable with beautiful linens.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank boodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I only spent a brief weekend at the White Swan Inn but it was everything we were looking for. It was an oasis in the City with quaint rooms and common areas including a deck and garden in back. We loved the fireplace in the room and the breakfast offered a tasty and large selection.
We live fairly local but will definitely go for repeat stay as a treat to ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a cosy and welcoming place. The rooms are old but cosy and warm. drinks in the parlour are a nice touch, a great way to meet the other guests. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

An authentic stay at a bed and breakfast in the heart of San Francisco. The fireplaces in the room are a perfect touch. Capable, generous and knowledgable staff. SO close to everything including Union Square, the Financial District and North Beach. The trolley on Powell is a block and half away, so the Wharf is easy access. The perfect intimate stay in the city!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ScottBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
What an all-around fantastic review of our "hidden gem," the White Swan! Thank you so much!

With much appreciation,
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing