We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our family of 5 had a fabulous four night stay at the White Swan Inn. It is in a great position with so much within walking distance - great dining options, shopping and public transport. We stayed in the Ashleigh suite which is beside reception. The suite has a queen bed, sitting area, fireplace, kitchenette, wardrobe and good sized bathroom. It adjoins another room with a pullout sofa, kitchenette, fireplace, bathroom and plenty of room for a rollaway bed (this room is looking out onto the street). Our first night was filled with lots of unusual noises of the city and the hotel, but nothing terrible and once we adjusted to that we slept well for the rest of our stay. Housekeeping did a great job and what a bonus when our fridges were stocked everyday with complimentary sodas and bottled water. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful (loved the homemade frittatas and sourdough bread). We went along to the wine hour a couple of times and it was very nice (but a bit tricky with kids). Reception staff were always friendly and helpful. Personally I loved the decor (not what I would do at home but it was nice for a change from your normal hotel room). The White Swan Inn was one of our favourite places we stayed on our five week visit to the States.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We've stayed here before and we'll be back. It's like visiting an old friend. Great staff. Great room where we sometimes just hang out and never leave the hotel except for the great breakfast and the fun wine socials downstairs in front of the fireplace! It's easy for us with our hectic lives to just camp in the hotel for awhile and just "decompress" with a good book..the fireplace...the cozy bed...and a little bit of TV or music. The rest of the world stays "out there!" But, then when you do want to explore...it's so centrally located you can get to everything! Thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: Room #32 faces the front and has a great fireplace! Also, Rebecca in the front reception area could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Not sure where to start. We've stayed several times. It's the little things that keep us coming back. The incredibly friendly reception staff...the cookies...the super breakfast...the afternoon wine social...the cozy charm...the easy walk to EVERYTHING!

We'll be back! Actually, we'd like to just move in! Thanks again for the great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JILLENE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had no problems with the WSI holding our luggage when we arrived early and when we left for SFO late in the day-- no worries about theft fro a parked car. The rooms are large and had sitting areas; I could sit and read while my wife slept. Breakfast was buffet, with how foods and some protein. Evening happy hour with wine and appetizers was great, tasty and with good company from other guests. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant to work with. Parking at Sutter-Stockton garage was fairly convenient and about $24 for a 24 hour period. The Inn is warm and home like. I would definitely return here on my next San Francisco trip.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor...it was very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Active_traveler403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had no problems with the WSI holding our luggage when we arrived early and when we left for SFO late in the day-- no worries about theft fro a parked car. The rooms are large and had sitting areas; I could sit and read while my wife slept. Breakfast was buffet, with how foods and some protein. Evening happy hour with wine and appetizers was great, tasty and with good company from other guests. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant to work with. Parking at Sutter-Stockton garage was fairly convenient and about $24 for a 24 hour period. The Inn is warm and home like. I would definitely return here on my next San Francisco trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Active_traveler403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a small hotel in the middle of the city. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Decor is very English and the hotel is old but we loved to there. Drinks in the parlour are a terrific way to meet the other guests and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NICOLA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

from my discussion with Reservation staff through check out---my brief stay at the White Swan was great. The breakfast was the best. The wine hour by the fireplace was delightful---and it was fun visiting with the collection of international guests. My only dilemma for my next SF visit is whether to return to the White Swan or try the sister establishment two doors away-----the Petite Auberge. (If you enjoyed the old movie, Thoroughly Modern Millie---you'll want to dance in the elevator)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,859 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £160 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing