We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Swan Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Zephyr(San Francisco)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$512
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveller rating
1,130
507
109
34
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,130
507
109
34
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacecookie jarunion squarewine and appetizersdressing roomafternoon wineother guestsfresh fruitbreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastwine receptioncharming hotelpetite aubergehome away from homenob hillsmall hotelroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,076 - 1,081 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

When we checked into the hotel, we were greeted by hot cider and cookies in the lobby and each morning we started our day with a phenomenal breakfast spread. The wine and cheese receptions were a nice way to end our afternoons. We wanted to stay out of the tourist area, but within walking distance of restaurants, movie theaters, and other attractions, and the location of the inn fit that bill. The White Swan became our home away from home. The staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and giving us directions. We enjoyed the feel of a small, Victorian hotel. The age of the hotel was part of its charm. The inn was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KATHLEEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The best spot for long or short stay in this beautiful city. Everything is walkable, or ride the cable car or bus to transport you to the destination of choice. Staff are more than helpful. Accommodations have an olde English flair with working fireplaces in each room. The trip from Portland OR was to see the David Hockney "The Bigger Exhibition" at the deYoung Museum and bask in some clear skies and sunshine. No disappointment.....no sad gravy!!! Thank you, Rebecca Levy, General Manager for all the chats and especially the smiles and laughs.

Room Tip: The room faced Bush Street and had three nice big windows for day light. If street noises are a concern....choose a room away from the street front.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JotsFromaSmallApt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, General Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dearest JotsFromaSmallApt,
Thank you for spreading the word that we only serve Happy Gravy here!
You two were such a joy to host at the White Swan. It was a wonderful pleasure giggling with you! Thank you for your sense of humor and light spirit. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to welcome you back!

With much gratitude,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We visit the US every couple of years and always end our trip with a stay in San Francisco. We found the White Swan Inn through an accommodation search engine on our first stay two years ago but this time we were sure this where we wanted to stay and went directly to their reservation site to book our stay. We love the family oriented stile of the hotel. The wine and cheese are a real plus and a great opportunity to meet the other people staying at the hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located a block and half from the Powell street cable car and a couple of block from Union square. We are looking forward to our next trip to San Francisco and out stay and the White Swan Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RONALD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is located close to resturants, finacial district, and a nice walk to the wharf area. For the price you can't beat it! I guess most of the older hotels are probably in similar condition, as the White Swann could be a 4+ hotel if it just did some renovations. Rooms could use new windows that reduce the draft and noise form outside, some of the furniture needs updating, but yet the older furniture looks nice and fits the style of the hotel. The hotel is decorated very nice and has a lower room for breakfast and wine and cheese, all included! Parking(valet) is approx $35, but that is less than most hotels in the area that charge $40-70 a night! The desk and valet personnel were very polite. Their paperwork states gourmet breakfast included, it was a nice self serve buffet, but I wouldn't necessarily call it gourmet. We have family living in the City and we would stay again, but next time I think I will ask for a top floor room, in the back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MICHAEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After spending a week with family members in Santa Rosa my wife and I decided to spend the last two nights of our trip out west in San Francisco. We were looking to relax and pamper ourselves. We hit the jackpot with a last minute online reservation at the White Swan Inn. We were allowed to check in early which was a great stress relief. And we were upgraded to a king! Everyone who works at the WS is exceptional. Their consistent commitment to hospitality is the best we have ever experienced. We had previously enjoyed staying at the WS in January, 2007 and this stay was just as great. The included breakfasts, cookies, stocked mini fridge with water and soda, and the PM wine and appetizers were all delicious and generous. Sitting cozily in front of the gas fireplace in our spacious room while the temperatures were plummeting back home was a guilty pleasure we wickedly savored.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly C, Manager at White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your great review! We are thrilled to have been a part of your getaway, and we love that you were able to fully indulge in our treats and the warmth of our lovely fireplaces. Thank you for choosing us again for your stay, we’d love to welcome you back for a future visit!

Warmly,
Molly Cohen, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews