We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
BUDAPEST HUNGARY
1 review
“great place!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 5 nights in the Petite Auberge, the sister and neighbor of White Swan. It appears these two hotels are run by the same, great staff. The atmosphere is superb, cosy and very comfortable.
They have great breakfast, with a menu full with fruits, eggs, toast, etc. There is also a wine+snack period in the late afternoon.
The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, all places of interest are within walking distance, the surrounding of the hotel is a clean and safe place too.
Very good value for the price!
would come back every time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GUSZTAV S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    468
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
300
931
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the White Swan for a week with 8 of our guests! It was an amazing experience accompaning our beautiful wedding! We felt right at home. Rebecca and her team were amazing to us. Our expectations were exceeded. It's a great location and a comfortable accommodation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

When we booked, we thought the in-room fireplace would just be a fun, romantic touch - but since it rained for four days straight during our visit, the fireplace also ended up being a godsend to dry out our soggy clothes and shoes every night. The room was very clean, surprisingly spacious, and the separate "dressing room" with vanity and sink was an unexpected luxury (I want one at home!). Good strong WiFi, relatively quiet, GREAT location - walking distance to everything (and you'll want to walk so you can indulge in "just one more cookie" from the lobby cookie jar, which is filled with fresh treats every afternoon). Tasty breakfast, daily wine & appetizers to share with fellow guests, friendly staff, a vintage elevator - the charm and hospitality of the White Swan Inn helps you imagine what it might have been like to travel in the "good old days". We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatagal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Loved your darling European B&B! Great location walking distance to China Town and Union Square. The wine and horsdouvres were very tasty and breakfast was more than we expected! The room was beautifully decorated including fireplace. A nice change from the generic chain hotel. I will definitely recommend to friends. Your kind hospitality is appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orcutt, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

while i am a snob for clean hotels, this one really surprised me for not being a name brand hotel. i took a chance on this one and was pleasantly surprised. clean room with a fireplace. bed not to comfortable but on a scale of 1-10 probably a 6. but the service couldn"t be better and save money on breakfast. it was free and there was plenty. would i stay there again? yes..but there were a few more around there that also looked interesting. it was within walking distance to the cable car and all kinds of stores..sax fifth, macys, bloomingdales etc.

Room Tip: try the top floor. we heard a baby crying from above. very old building with a very cozy comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kriste614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was attending a conference in the city and wanted a place where I could get away fro the bustle and crowd. The White Swan iinn offered me a much appreciated respite. From its calming peaceful wine and cheese reception in the Parlor, a wonderfully cloud like bed through a hearty breakfast , I could take full advantage of the conference knwing I had the White Swan Inn to return to. Thanks!.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMSTERDAM
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Upon early arrival I was graciously upgraded to a luxury king room which incuded both a fireplace and a multitude of books. The parlor is very cosy and the toast - according to a couple who had stayed there frequently for over 20 years - the best ever.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ED K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
2,699 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,055 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing