We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Hills, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Very intimate and well appointed Inn. Loved the sitting room; one of few times on vacation when I was happy to stay put. Our room was spacious and quiet. Staff was very helpful before and during our stay.
Great central location with easy walks to Chinatown and Union Square.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MFKiesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    469
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
300
934
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great location near Union Square. Staff and amenities were great! Go to the wine/food get together during the evening from 5:00pm - 7:00pm to meet nice people from around the world. The complimentary breakfast was also excellent. Have already recommended to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lovely rooms,food excellent close to Union Square, traffic noisy at night but they offer ear plugs for those like myself from Australia who live in a quiet seaside village with only the sea pounding at night and in the midst of fantastic restaurants. They have a list of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel which makes it great for choosing your gourmet delight experience and even state price and how many blocks walk. I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A truly delightful stay in the heart of the city. Lovely staff. Great food Worth every penny which wasn't a terrible amount given it's San Francisco! We particularly enjoyed looking at the matchstick models of various cathedrals on display in the library.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BhamHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUNTINGTON BEACH
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is our third or fourth stay and we will definitely stay again. The location is perfect (easy walk to China Town)and the staff was great. Our bed was very comfortable and I loved having a working fireplace in our room. Looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JANNETTE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUDAPEST HUNGARY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 5 nights in the Petite Auberge, the sister and neighbor of White Swan. It appears these two hotels are run by the same, great staff. The atmosphere is superb, cosy and very comfortable.
They have great breakfast, with a menu full with fruits, eggs, toast, etc. There is also a wine+snack period in the late afternoon.
The staff is very helpful, the rooms are clean, all places of interest are within walking distance, the surrounding of the hotel is a clean and safe place too.
Very good value for the price!
would come back every time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GUSZTAV S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the White Swan for a week with 8 of our guests! It was an amazing experience accompaning our beautiful wedding! We felt right at home. Rebecca and her team were amazing to us. Our expectations were exceeded. It's a great location and a comfortable accommodation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing