We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in San Francisco”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Lutherville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our home in San Francisco”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have stayed at the Petite Auberge and/or The White Swan 4 different times over the years. The staff is very helpful, the bed very comfortable, the location is excellent. I will say however, that we had not been there for several years and we found the breakfasts and afternoon wine were not as good as before. The selections were not as varied as before and we had to ask or wait for more to be put out on several occasions. Some areas also looked a 'little worn.' even though they were clean

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank JEfiastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    484
    106
    32
    12
See reviews for
320
952
75
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed one night here while returning home during a family road trip. The staff was absolutely wonderful... So helpful and welcoming. Included breakfast was lovely and had the feeling of being in a British tea house Bed and Breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the hotel and we had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinishaker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mills River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A very comfortable B&B and our favorite place to stay when in San Francisco. Warm and courteous staff. Breakfast and wine tastings in the evening makes it that much more comfortable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Vic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our new home away form home in San Francisco is now the White Swan Inn. Convenient location just 2 blocks from 2 different cable car lines. Our room was large, comfortable and quiet and was at the back of the building. Enjoyable time at the end of the day with a glass of wine by the fireplace. Lots of great restaurants close by too. The staff was all great and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I booked a suite here for my wife and two children because of a recommendation from a co worker. I was concerned that my daughter would not be able to participate in the breakfast or evening snacks because of her Celiac. I notified the inn well in advance of my stay and they had gluten free bread and muffins available for her. They even made a gluten free cake for snack.

Also they had made a mistake on a booking for the first night. Instead of making us find another hotel or making it my issue, they provided two separate rooms and did not charge for the second room. This way my wife and I would still have our privacy instead of making us share a smaller room with our teenage kids.

The wine reception in the afternoon was great. Good wine and great company from the other guests. Met a couple from England and another from Sweden.

I did need to valet the car and parking is extra. I think $30 per day which is probably about right for the area.

The location is about a 30-40 min walk to fishermans warf. Nice walk to see the town. Many other options are avaialble. The Trolley is available for $6 per person. You can catch it on Powell, but many passed and were full, so it is best to go to the start point any wait in line which is a few blocks further.

There are many restaurants within a block or two that should meet any type of food you want.

The old elevator was one of my favorite features of the property.

The decorating is not my prefered style but it does fit with the building.

Beds were comfortable. There is a little sound from the city, but I guess that is to be expected being in downtown san francisco. It was not enough to cause me trouble sleeping.

Showers were nice and hot and rooms were very clean.

Staff was friendly and provided answers to every question I had.

I had an early flight and needed to leave at 415AM. I notified them the night before of the time to need the car. At 410AM I went out in the lobby and the car was waiting outside and the desk clerk had the key ready. Amazing.

Lastly, since we could not have the breakfast on the last morning. The staff made up four box breakfast packs to take to the airport All of the gluten free to be sure we didn't have any problems.

Customer service is a 10 on this place and I have stayed in many places. Thank you to the staff for your accomidations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DontwaitMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

loved the fireplace, the happy hour and the quiet, unpretentios atmosphere.
everyone who works at the Swan is so helpful and kind.
The bed was abit too hight to get in and out of easily and the art work over the fireplace was really out of place modern.





  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have stayed at White Swan several times over the past 10 years. We have always found it to be clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff is helpful and friendly and we enjoy the breakfast and evening reception. The location is also a plus factor, as we enjoy walking and it is close to most downtown attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,231 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing