We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in SF”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood
1 review
“Weekend in SF”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel, good service. Very quaint. Liked the area for breakfast with chance to talk to other guests. Good location. But shower curtain clings to your body, making the shower feel claustrophobic, and shower head puts out too little spray, taking a long time to wash off the soap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marc I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    482
    106
    32
    12
See reviews for
315
951
75
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

First time visit to US and San Francisco. 5 nights from 29th April. Nice small hotel in good location. Room was good size, quiet and at back of hotel overlooking some trees. Unfortunately often had housekeeping materials and equipment left outside room - nowhere to store it I think. Breakfasts although included in package were very bland and with little change in choice over the 5 mornings

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ratmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very nice and beautiful hotel, located near Union Square.

It was two things which we didn't like:

Bad internet connection
There are no fitnese centre or gym, nearest 24 hours is 20 minutes walking.
Staff very friendly and helpful.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Checked into room 31 - a noisy room on the street. At 1:30 woke up to water coming into the room through the ceiling. Was offered another room - 2 single beds and hot. Tried 33 - down to a smaller bed. Was offered a 10% discount on the way out after I asked for some consideration. The night staff handled it as best they could, management not so much. This is a tired property and management did not try very hard to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I normally stay in one of the high rise chain hotels when visiting San Francisco, so I was a little apprehensive about staying at a boutique hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find how lovely the White Swan Hotel turned out to be. It was very European and cozy. The breakfast was amazing (great coffee!) and happy hour was delightful. The location is great, just a few blocks to the trolley, muni, and metro. Great shopping and restaurants close by too. The staff is extremely nice and very helpful. I would give the White Swan 5 stars, but the only downside is that it lacks any views of the city. I highly recommend the White Swan if you are looking for a small, charming, B&B type of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pdrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and the fact that we wanted to experience old world charm while visiting San Francisco and this hotel did not disappoint. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the hotel location is excellent. It is old so you may come across a window that won't stay open (a book wedged in the window took care of that) or maybe a loose doorknob but they will immediately take care of any problem you report. There is no a/c but when we picked this time to travel you wouldn't need it(however, we did experience a heat wave unusual for this time but it still wasn't too bad). The full breakfast they offer each morning was awesome, fresh coffee all day long, and wine and snacks in the evening as a great way to meet your fellow guests and share experiences of the day, and perhaps pick up a tip or two. If your looking for a true San Francisco experience,I would definitely give this hotel a try. We are happy we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the White Swan Inn during our recent stay in San Francisco. The location of the hotel was centrally located between numerous shops, restaurants, tourist sites, etc. The Inn was very quaint and cozy with charming decor. Zack helped us at check in and was a great resource for restaurant & activity reccommendations. We were very impressed with how courteous and knowledgable he was. I would definitely reccommend the White Swan Inn because of the great customer service experience. Thanks again to Zack for all of his help in creating an overall wonderful stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa-Meli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,181 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
2,765 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
5,203 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing