We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #7 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, Ca
1 review
“Awesome inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Really great place centrally located. Full breakfast included, wine in the afternoon. Very clean, hospitable and the rooms were very clean. Private garage service that you pay for but well worth it because of the parking problem in san Fran

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    466
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
299
926
75
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

this hotel is more like an upscale bed and and breakfast. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The man who assisted us with our luggage (Andy) provided us with many tips on restaurants, public transportation, and places to visit. Everyone at the front desk assisted us many times of the day and night. Our room was very large with a fireplace,and five windows looking out onto a courtyard with a beautiful statue. The staff treated more like family then guests. The breakfast food was exceptional with different choices each of the four mornings we were there. There was coffee,tea, fresh fruit and cookies available around the clock in the dining room. The daily wine and cheese reception from five to six thirty gave us an opportunity to meet fellow guests. We could not have enjoyed ourselves any more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My syster and I liked every minute in the Hotel.
A very good location, verry warm atmosphere.
The staff was very nice and dedicated to the service, the food including the wine & appetizer, free coofee and tea 24 hours a day.
We just arrived and were invited to breakfast.
Will come back and send friends and Familie.

Room Tip: the entrance floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

From the attractive, oversized room (essentially a suite), cozy fire in the Sitting Room with complementary afternoon wine and creative hors d'oeuvres, wonderful breakfasts, and a terrific staff, it was a most delightful visit. Two minor issues were that despite the printed request in every room to the guests for "Quiet Time" from 10 P.M to 6 A.M., the people in the room above us played their TV loud enough to be heard by us and showered after Midnight (not really the fault of the hotel - just some inconsiderate jerks); additionally, the piped-in music during the hosted wine receptions should have been some gentle harp or piano solos instead of the old Rock & Roll tunes, which did not fit the serene English countryside theme of the Inn. These issues were defintely not sufficient to remove the White Swan from our plans for future trips to San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank USC_Trojan_Fan_90275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very convenient location, just two blocks away from the cable car, very friendly staff, cute and quiet room, freshly prepared breakfast with a good choice. We found it a good idea to join the afternoon appetizer & wine offering, as we got to meet other travellers who had some good hints for activities in San Francisco. We travelled around California and the National Parks for three weeks and the White Swan Inn was one of the top three places we stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Milena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location and staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back. Elevator a bit funky. Can't submit this review until I have 200 characters, don't know why. Doubt anyone will see this review but White Swan Inn was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

First timers with a SF timeshare that was booked so we gave the White Swan a try. We were very impressed--very unique and so many amenities. The downstairs was unique. Suite was quaint. Will stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,021 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing