We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
1 review
“Charming Hotel in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were charmed by White Swan. Someone obviously had great fun decorating it in its hybrid theme--charming old England mixed with '60s funk. Our room was perfect. The breakfast area is excellent -- fresh and filling meal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    469
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
300
934
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived in the navigate by the drive, a director ms leased hotel only garage to us, let us have the first security, the manager of another speak mandarin for our attitude is also very enthusiastic, any difficulties can tell us at any time to call her, although our English communication is not much, but we to food, health, environment, and in the hotel decoration decoration is very satisfied, to San Francisco will stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank weibeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Warm welcomes, outstanding service, clean, comfy rooms and delicious food! We loved the superb breakfast selections, fresh coffee and cookies, and wine with hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. The staff is delighted to lend a hand or offer advice. Thanks, Rebecca and all the others for the help. The hotel's location near Union Square is superb for local excursions - and it is an ideal first step for those who wish to tour the city's many highlights by foot, bus, or trolley.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Fantastic welcoming staff, exceptionally clean hotel and room. Loved the vintage elevator. We really enjoyed the "all day" coffee, the excellent breakfasts and the wine & appies every afternoon, plus the bonus - fresh cookies in the lobby! Our room was beautiful and fully equipped. We arrived very early for our check in just to drop our bags,and were amazed to be offered breakfast!
Excellent location for downtown, the waterfront, Chinatown, Little Italy. Easy, cheap bus service to anywhere else you may want to go. As morning runners, we really liked the opportunity to "run the neighbourhoods" surrounding the Union Square area. Excellent Plus!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank B. Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I must agree with the other recent reviews. The staff was highly attentive and helpful, the wine reception enjoyable.. a nice break between the day's activities and dinner, and the breakfast always tasty (all freshly homemade). The rooms were spacious, ( except for the lack of counter or shelf space in the bathroom) the beds comfortable, and the atmosphere relaxing. Because everything here was so nice, It is with much regret, however, that I must point out a problem... With the windows needing to be open, (no A/C), the noise from the kitchen (pots, pans, dishes, and voices) woke me at 5:30 a.m. on 2 mornings. I honestly don't know if anything can be done about this, but having my sleep interrupted was not good. Other than that, everything was delightful at the White Swan! The location is excellent!

Room Tip: The Abbey Suite has windows just above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nantrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chewelah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

super service by Molly Wonderful beds and nice quiet , relaxed breakfast
Walking distance to many restaurants and nice shops. Quiet rooms except a little road noise only because the windows were open a little. Fire place was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Warwick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The perfect hotel when you factor in the staff, location, and amenities. It was great to be within walking distance of all the hot spots or just a short cab ride or cable car away from things a little further like the piers. The staff was exceptional to us during our entire stay. The rooms refrigerator was always stocked and the room size was perfect. If you're in San Francisco for any reason but mostly vacation and sight seeing this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing