We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeburg
1 review
“Honeymoon Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely setting - Though we enjoyed the mixed decor in some areas the carpet was just a bit too1960's mod for the lovely wallpaper. Breakfast was consistently fresh and delicious, particularly the bread and jam, and the music every morning was nostalgic and enjoyable. The room was comfortable and the complimentary drinks a nice and welcome touch. The noise from the pub across the street continued late one or two nights, interrupting our sleep despite being used to city sounds. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    468
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
300
933
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel. Great location, only 5 minutes from Powell. Staff (especially Brendan) were very helpful and informative. The rooms were lovely with working fireplaces. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This review is way overdue. I last stayed at the White Swan in SF back in November but have been there multiple times.. I consider it more of a vacation hotel because it is so cozy and romantic but no matter what it is a terrific place It is small and there is an old fashioned elevator to take you to your room (I love that). Then your room is like a small tidy apartment with a big comfy bed and a fire place that turns on at the flick of a switch. Staying there makes me feel like I live there vs a big impersonal hotel. Last time I was there I was having a problem with my computer and the gentleman at the front desk could not have been more helpful. The location is good and there is a little dive-like bar at the end of the street that is fun after a day of sightseeing. I have stayed here both on business and pleasure and while I prefer it for vacation, no reason you shouldn't for business if you like a cozy warm little hotel with a LOT of personality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrc4525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good location and helpful staff. No noise between bedrooms but being on street was noisy. Helped to run fan and close some windows. Recent decor changes as compares to website are not well coordinated and off putting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We totally enjoyed our three night stay in Room #52. We loved the decor---the mix of 1960's mod and old English was funky and unique. Every one was kind and helpful and we didn't lack for anything. It is really nice to have the complimentary beverages in the room refrigerator---a nice touch! The breakfasts served had plenty of nice options and there was something for everyone's taste. The breakfast room is so very nice! I wanted to stay and drink the delicious coffee all morning!
Yes, there is some street noise but we like having the windows open so we tolerated it. We loved our room. Would love to come back someday and use the fireplace!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank momofkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place in a great location, less than five minutes to Union Square. I would definitely stay again when back in San Francisco. The breakfast, snacks and cookies are all complimentary and delicious. The style of the hotel is lovely!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarahfl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were charmed by White Swan. Someone obviously had great fun decorating it in its hybrid theme--charming old England mixed with '60s funk. Our room was perfect. The breakfast area is excellent -- fresh and filling meal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,059 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing