We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful cozy hotel”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Staying at the White Swan was a delightful experience. The room was very clean, large, and well decorated in a European style. Bed was comfortable and the fireplace a bonus. The first floor area provides a great setting for the wine tasting and a full buffet breakfast which was a surprise given the wide variety of foods and the quality. That area is decorated like a library or den with lots of wood, fireplaces, comfortable chairs and sofas as well as a selection of board games or books to curl up with. Outdoor seating on a patio is available.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vm1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

I spent 4 nights at the White Swan Inn with my sister and another girlfriend. We stayed in the Ashleigh Suite and it was very comfortable, big and cosy.
The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly when my sister had tripped while on a visit to see the Redwood trees and when she hobbled into the room there was a knock on the door and the reception staff appeared with band aids, scissors, tape etc.
They serve drinks every afternoon in the parlour and it is a chance to meet other guests and exchange tips for sightseeing etc. We ended up going out to dinner with some of the other guests and had a great night out.
Breakfast is very good and plentiful.
There are lots of great eating places walking distance from the hotel.
I would definitely stay there again if I go back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudettePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Wonderful hotel and super location! Requested king room in back of building overlooking garden this time as Bush St.can be a bit noisy for non-city people. Then got free upgrade to king suite in back as Joy of Life Club member. Quiet and peaceful. All rooms are huge with fireplaces and alcove with minifridge and coffeemaker, as this historic building was built as studio apartments originally. Recommend king suite as dressing room with sink and walkin closet make it easier for 2 to get ready. Downstairs, breakfast rooms, living room w/fireplace, and library are tasteful English lodge style, but not stuffy. Breakfast(included in price)is amazing, with fresh fruit, scones, sausage, homemade quiche and breads,whole grain cereals. Complimentary afternoon wine with beautiful cheese and canape trays (and did I mention homemade cakes/cookies in lobby?). Sit by fire or go out on garden deck-flowers and trees in the heart of downtown. Friendly,helpful staff called my cell phone 1 minute after we drove away to say they found my husband's I-Phone on the settee! We can't wait to go back to the White Swan!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soleil05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

I visited San Francisco with my wife and older daughter from May 27-31, 2009 and we had the privilege of staying at the White Swan during that time. The purpose of the trip was to attend a Seminar at the Hotel Nikko( We preferred to stay at the White Swan rather than the host hotel). We were very pleased with the service we received during our stay. First and foremost ,Andy went out of his way to assist us. We have known Andy for many years, having stayed at the Petite Aurberge many times over many years. We were also treated very well by Eno, Anne and Brian. They were all wonderful and we feel all of these wonderful employees are assets to the hotel. The hospitality of the White Swan is superior. The rooms are very attractive and comfortable. We enjoyed the food. We are looking forward to visiting San Francisco next May and plan on staying at either The White Swan or Petite Auberge.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rontack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

My wife and I and our two teenage children spent two nights at The White Swan on a vactation to the Bay area in May, 2009. We loved the quaint European-style suite we had with fireplaces in each room and period decor. The rates were very reasonable, and the complementary breakfast and wine reception were great. My kids loved it. Both before and after our arrival, the staff could not have been more helpful to us with restaurant reservations and general tourist advice. The hotel is perfectly situated near Union Square, China Town and the Cable Car line. I will not look any further than the White Swan the next time in I'm in San Fran.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Have stayed at The White Swan Inn many times and each stay has been wonderful. Rooms are large and comfortable, with antiques and books sprinkled throughout the room. Staff wonderful with grace and expertise. Bed was so comfortable I wanted to take the mattress home, but it would not fit in my luggage. Wonderful total relaxing experience, from the food, to the staff, to the furnishings, to the location. Highly recommend. A+++++++++++. Original recommendation for us to come to The White Swan Inn was thru our travel agent.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel10020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Had the pleasure of spending three days at the White Swan Inn in San Francisco in early June. What a great place!! It's a small, quaint hotel tucked into one of the side streets in the downtown area. Easily within walking distance to the trolley lines and hundreds of shops and restaurants. All of the staff were very pleasant and very helpful in getting directions or making recommendations for things to see or do. This hotel more closely resembles a bed and breakfast than it does a hotel, and it has the charm of a place from an earlier era. If you're not into the take a number, large hotel scene, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnum409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,367 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,864 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £159 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing