We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful small hotel that I can highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #7 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful small hotel that I can highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

The White Swan Inn is a charming small hotel with a friendly and helpful staff in an excellent location for seeing San Francisco. My husband and I stayed in a king with fireplace. The room was large and clean and included a wet bar area with a small refrigerator which was kept stocked with water and soft drinks. The bed was very comfortable, even for my picky husband! The room was on the second floor facing the street and we had no problem with traffic noise.

We thought the breakfast was excellent, including multiple options and variability over the three days. We only had time for the wine social once, and it was fine.

The staff was very helpful. We were especially pleasantly surprised when my son decided to fly out to join us and they allowed him to stay in the room with us on the sofa bed (and eat breakfast,etc.) for no additional charge. We will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    466
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
299
925
75
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

I have been staying at the White Swan Inn when I travel to San Francisco for the past twenty years and I have never been disappointed. The hotel is well located within a short walk or cab ride to anywhere in the city. The staff is always courteous, helpful and knowledgable. The facility is kept clean and up to date, and the rooms are well appointed, comfortbale, spacious and quiet. I love getting my day started with the great breakfast served every morning and they also offer a nice snack in the evening. The rooms include water or sodas and internet. All the things other hotels nickel and dime you for are included here. The White Swan Inn can always be counted on for quality, value and a memorable and friendly experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAMPOTHOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed at the White Swan Inn for 3 nights and we could not have had a better stay! The room was clean and very quiet at night. The front desk staff were extremely helpful arranging for transportation and suggesting a restaurant in Noth Beach. The location was great for us! It was an easy walk to shopping in Union Square and Chinatown plus they are only 1 block off of the cable car line. It was also very easy to catch cabs right in front of the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was better than expected. We also appreciated the free water bottles in the mini-refrigerator in the room. We would definitely stay here again for our next visit to SF.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurley_815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

My wife and I recently spent three delightful nights at the White Swan Inn. It is charming small older hotel in a good location halfway between the top of Nob Hill and Union Square. The staff was uniformly friendly and went out their way to be helpful.. The included breakfast was firstt-rate and the afternoon wine well presented. The mini refrigerator is stocked with free water and soft drinks which is welcome relief from the usual overpriced hotel minibar.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

We found the White Swan Inn on the internet. We were intrigued by it as we had traveled to the U.K. last summer and stayed in hotels such as this. It also seemed to be a good value compared to other places we have stayed in the area. We will definately stay here again when in San Francisco. The rooms was spacious and clean. The service was excellent. We anticipated the breakfast to be standard continental fare but found it to be much more than that. We attended the evening reception each night, meeting many interesting people from all over the world. One of our best trips to the Bay area!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drummergirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

This is the best hotel we have stayed in for all of our vacations. It took about one minute to check in, and then they helped bring our luggage right to our room. The room was spacious, clean, and the decor matched the charm this vintage hotel. The fridge always had soda and waters for us. It was nice to have a good, hot breakfast (not a continental breakfast) each morning and the evening wine and hors d’oeuvres were 1st class. The location is also great, being close to Chinatown, Union Station, and Financial District. The cable car is just two blocks away. Chris also arranged our airport shuttle and recommended a 5 star restaurant that was close and that we were able to get into on a Saturday night without reservations. The whole stay was wonderful and I can not think of one negative thing to say about our stay. We will be coming back next year and will be bring another couple with us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark13632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

I highly recommend the White Swan Inn. It is a charming, older hotel with a complementary decor. I chose this hotel based on the many positive reviews on tripadvisor.com. I was very happy to find that they were able to comfortably accommodate 3 guests in one room. One member of our group slept very well on a pull out sofa bed. Two of us slept in a wonderful king bed. This was my 3rd trip to San Francisco and the first hotel stay that was quiet and peaceful all night! The individuals who handled our check-in and check-out were courteous, friendly, and helpful. Complimentary cold soft drinks and water bottles were waiting in the room refrigerator. There was also an easy to use gas burning fireplace in our room! The delicious breakfast included with our stay included an egg casserole (quiche?), sausage, fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, 2 juices, and several other items. For our purposes, the location was perfect - we were within walking distance to many excellent stores and restaurants. Just wanted to mention that I booked my room directly with the hotel and the rate was comparable to rates I found online.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing