We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Swan Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$592
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$284
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$209
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$323
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$245
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$300
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$274
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveller rating
1,130
507
109
34
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,130
507
109
34
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacecookie jarunion squarewine and appetizersdressing roomafternoon wineother guestsfresh fruitbreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastwine receptioncharming hotelpetite aubergehome away from homenob hillsmall hotelroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,396 - 1,401 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2010

This is my home away from home when I come to San Francisco. It is cozy with a fireplace in each room, a good breakfast downstairs (including quiche, sausage, fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, juice and coffee - among the choices), and a wine gathering each afternoon - all included.

It is located a few blocks from both Union Square, where you can find some of the best shopping in the world, and from historic China town.

The hotel staff is friendly and willing to assist you in any way to make your stay enjoyable. They will provide you with a list of nearby recommended restaurants as well as help you plan a day of siteseeing. The White Swan is a Joie de Vie Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2lingling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This is a nice little hotel, we got a room with a fireplace on the ground floor and were impressed with the quality and size of the room - it was huge actually! The view from the window was of nothing much and would have been far better had we been at the front.

The hotel had a traditional feel and was a great retreat after a days walking up and down hills. The staff were friendly and anything we required was provide in friendly, timely fashion. Breakfast was interesting - I've never eaten quiche for breakfast before - but enjoyable.

For me, the location had positives and negatives, it's a couple of blocks up from the Tenderloin district which is dodgy, this means that some streets around the hotel have lots of homeless - this isn't uncommon in San Francisco, the place is full of homeless - most of whom appear to be borderline mental... or at least have a screw slightly loose. On the other hand, the hotel is close to anything you care to mention, although again - not uncommon in San Francisco as it's a small place. The Tenderloin does have it's upsides with some great bars, we really enjoyed visiting bourbon and branch which is a couple of blocks away (reservation required).

An excellent restaurant near by was the R & G lounge and the edge of China Town - really good food.

I didn't think the hotel was especially cheap but it is central in tourist city and the quality is high. Guess you get what you pay for at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shandyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Small hotel with European feel. Great service from friendly staff. Lots of ammenities and well appointed room. We enjoyed the evening wine reception and breakfast. Get there early though because they tend to run low on some things. Other than that is was an enjoyable stay and we would return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This is a beautiful, quaint hotel, it has a old time elevator with a lot of charm! We enjoy staying here due to the ambiance, there is a downstairs area, that reminds us of a old time gentlemans lounge, complete with a library, fireplaces, and even a old time globe. It is very relaxing to go in there during coctail hour, they have different wines, cheeses, fruit, and a dessert. While we were there it happened to be Easter, and they included colored eggs in the wonderful breakfast that is provided each morning. The rooms are very cozy, with a fireplace in each, beds are very comfortable, and bathrooms are antique. I very much enjoy our stay there when my husband and I go, and look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsnylndqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Great Service - Unique Rooms in English Bed and Breakfast Style. I have stayed here twice - once with husband and returned with Sister. Conveniently located in the heart of the City near Union Square, Cable Cars and great restaurants. It is quiet - great staff - good breakfast - relaxing evenings with wine and hors d'oeuvres. Don't expect modern/sterile - this is a charming stay with character and warmth..... and one can experience San Francisco.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maygin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews