We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need for a fantastic stay in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #9 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a fantastic stay in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

This was our fourth time at the Willows Inn and we absolutely love it! A cosy bed and breakfast inn with a very warm welcome. The Inn is situated within 1 minute of street car, underground and bus routes which cover all areas of the city. The Inn Keepers all offer the warmest of welcomes and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is an open kitchen to feed the hungriest appetite and drinks each evening from 6-7pm all add to the pleasure. We always use room 22 (largest and on the front). Although not the quietest because of the Market Street, we love it as the chaise longue provides a great place to sit and watch the world go by. Although this is a shared bathroom inn, there is piping hot water and ample toilet facilities to prove no problem at all. The reception office is a great source of information and a place to buy your Muni travel cards and stamps! We cannot rate this place highly enough - informal atmosphere and safe environment.

Room Tip: Room 22 is great - overlooking Market Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    53
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
77
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

First, I have to mention that The Willows is a warm and welcome place to ALL. We are an older, straight couple and found this B & B to be one of the best we have stayed at in San Francisco. It is squeaky clean and has a staff that is alert to a guest's slightest need. The rooms are small, but comfortable and each has a refrigerator and TV. The quietest rooms are in the back. There is a homey kitchen with all manner of treats in the morning. In the evening, there is a small "cocktail" hour in the library and we spent a lovely hour visiting with the other guests. The showers and the water closets in the hall are not a problem--there are plenty of them and no need to wait. You won't find a better location. For $20 a night you can park in the lot across the street--which is so much more reasonable than the larger hotels charge. There are tons of wonderful restaurants and night life around, just ask the staff. BART is right across the street and walking through this are of town is easy and a pleasure. The Haight is close by, as well as other fun neighborhoods. Thanks to the Willows, our stay was wonderful and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FundogsBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

The Willows Inn is a great B & B. We'd never been to SF before and were really pleased with this place. Very friendly and accommodating staff, well proportioned rooms with plenty of space, excellent location for a short 10-15 minute walk into Castro, and bus and cable stops into the city just outside.

No hassles at all with the WCs and bathrooms being shared - all facilities clean and comfortable. The B & B itself was really clean, welcoming and well maintained. We'll definitely stay there again when next in SF.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
384 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

A nice B & B in the heart of the Castro. Right above a restaurant, this comfortable B & B is ideally located right next to a bus stop on the corner of 14th and Market. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The staff are very helpful and make you feel at home. I was in the front of the house and even though it faced the street, it was not noisy. The running of the tram at 6 did wake me but that cannot be avoided in the city. There are rooms in the back of the house if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast is "fix yourself" in a small kitchen. cereal, eggs, toast, pastry, yogurt, juice, coffe/tea. Beer, wine or soda available during happy hour at 6 at no charge.

No en suite bathrooms but there are plenty of facilities on each floor. No elevator so you have to trek the stairs. Mixed clientelle.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggcaiazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

stayed at the Willows for the last week at the end of a 4 week holiday. We were a little concerned as we arrived just before midnight and the street is a little "colourful" to say the least, buit as soon as we were inside the door, you are in a different world. Very nice private and shared rooms. We enjoyed the banter at the cocktail hour sesions and the help yourself breakfasts. It's perfectly placed for the transport systems and the sights of the neighbouring areas. We've recommended The Willows to friends and will certainly stay there again next time we're in SF. A very pleasant experience both people and accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyesee1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napier
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Just steps away from public transport, on opening the door from the street, one is transformed into a "home away from home". The generous hosts set out to make you feel as though you are part of their family and nothing is a problem for them. This is extended to the drinks they serve guests every evening as travelers relax and share their stories of the day.

The rooms were individual and showed close attention to detail, from the fresh color schemes, to the crisp bedding and even the welcoming local chocolate set by the bedside.

The extensive Continental breakfast had plenty of choices and variations daily, with a supply of fresh fruit available.

This Inn is within a ten minute walk to the Castro area, and while being Gay-friendly, is not Gay-exclusive.

I would certainly stay here again if I were to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapierAro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
270 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

I stayed here four nights in December and was highly pleased. I am giving the rooms 4 stars, which is not a criticism; I just don't give out five stars too liberally. The shared baths and showers were squealy clean and the decor of the rooms beautiful. As other reviewers have stated, the staff is unobtrusive, but they were certainly friendly and helpful. Since I drove into town, they arranged for me to park in the restaurant parking lot across the street, for a not too outrageous fee. ( Other than it looked like somebody had eaten French fries on my hood, my nice Toyota was not bothered. ) The location is great, just off Market Street, with plenty of restaurants and public transportaion within a stone's throw.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,058 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 710 14th St, At Church and Market Streets, San Francisco, CA 94114-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel San Francisco
The Willows b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing