We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #9 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central location, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My friend and I only stayed one night at The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn,we were meeting out of town guest for dinner at R and G Lounge located in China Town, (Excellent family style Chinese food). Upon arriving we were unable to find parking on the street, no worries though because we had requested parking. At $15.00 per night, it's a real bargain. I lived in S.F. for 8 years and my friend is a S.F. Native. We are in our fifty's now and had no desire to search the neighborhood for parking.

Long story short, I will say we enjoyed our stay. We wanted to try something other than a traditional hotel stay. I give The Willows a four dot rating of "Very Good" because the water closets, and showers were well maintained and clean. The rooms were also clean, the sink inside your room is a wonderful amenity. The small in room refrigerator is convenient, especially with Safeway located on the opposite corner. The kitchen on the top floor where breakfast is served was clean. The offerings for breakfast were plentiful and great for starting your day.

We stayed in room 32, which is on the top floor facing the street. Although the room was very clean, the street odor was noticeably coming through the front windows. We were not afraid of the street noise, we actually welcomed it. But the stench from the street was not welcomed at all. Thankfully, it either rained or it was low fog that night that helped wash away some of the stench. Perhaps washing down the side walk in front of the property would help this issue in the future. ( I know the Inn has little control over what happens on the street, due to the large homeless population in S.F.) This is just a suggestion.

Lastly I am not a morning person, therefore, I don't expect anyone to be overly chipper in the morning. However, I do believe in being courteous. I believe in returning a good morning or greeting someone with an appropriate salutation, whether it be a guest or staff. I believe that staff should endeavor to do the same. I don't want to mention names...everyone has an off day. Just mentioning it as a heads up for staff. Other than the issues mentioned above, I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by the smells and sounds of S.F. a street facing room will not be for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    52
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
77
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights in June. The Willows is conveniently located around the corner from the Church MUNI station and the Market St streetcars that take you downtown. The place is very clean and well maintained. The fridge has a supply of juices and yogurt and the breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast although the space is a little cramped. If you sleep with the windows open you'll no doubt here fire sirens and ppl on the streets so bring earplugs. I never had to wait for a shower/toilet. Having a sink basin in the room is very handy. I stayed in the smallest room which was small but more than fine for one person. I interacted with Mark mostly and he was very friendly. I highly recommend the Willows and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torontodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. The Inn is very clean and tidy with lovely breakfast. The streetcar is just across the street to get into the city for $2. Lots of nice eating places around. A very safe area. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Suite is great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great location - walking distance to the Castro (if you don't mind the undulating terrain of San Francisco!) and the MUNI station is just around the corner from the hotel. The staff were friendly, breakfast was lovely and my room was clean and well maintained. Despite the shared bathroom thing I didn't have to wait at all to use the shower in the morning. Very nice all round.

The only criticism I have (and this is perhaps a criticism of San Francisco in general, not just The Willows) is beware any hidden charges! Everywhere I went and bought something or paid for a service in SF, I was charged for some hidden extra without being told about it first, and the Willows was no exception to this. On my bill, a $45 charge for parking had been added, despite this never being mentioned on the website, on my booking, or when I had a conversation with the inn keeper about parking at the hotel. I don't think it's an unreasonable price for 3 days' parking, don't get me wrong, but not being told really annoyed me, especially after 3 days of this happening everywhere I went.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and the room is readily available for us. It's cosy and clean. The breakfast spread is the same every morning but it's good enough to fill the stomach. It's very quiet throughout our 2 nights stay though we understood that all rooms in the inn was actually occupied. There's no problem with sharing the common bath and toilet. There's a supermart nearby and a nice burger fast food outlet. There's a Vietnamese Pho restaurant just below the inn. The subway metro is just a few steps away. Will stay here again if we even wanted to be at ard Castro area.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were stuck in San Francisco on Saturday 12/7 so at the last minute we booked the Willows Inn. We were first impressed with the accommodating and friendly last minute reservation we made. They actually were concerned that we were stuck in San Fran and were glad to have a room ready within the hour.

Upon arrival we were quickly greeted and taken to our room. He then showed us around the Inn pointing out where breakfast would be at and where the social hour would take place. Everything was very clean and well taken care of.

Our room was at the front of the Inn overlooking Market Street. We had a queen size bed, dresser, antique closet refrigerator, sink, and a small table with two chars. While the room looked old it was very clean and nice. A personal note with our names was on the night stand which was a very nice touch.

You have 2 Water Closets on each floor (Water closet is the toilet). And you have 2 shower rooms on each floor as well. The toilets and showers are shared with a sink in each bedroom. They provide nice robes for each room.

The location is excellent right on the MUNI line, and several grocery stores and resultants within just a few blocks.

Even our invoice that was left under the door had our names and thanked us for the business.
We talked to several staff members who were always friendly and welcoming. I felt like this was my own home and everyone was great to be around. We can’t wait to stay at the Willows Inn when we come back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJRLdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Willows B&B is located in the Castro neighborhood. If you are unfamiliar with SF, this is primary residential. The 101 "Central Freeway" terminates just around the corner so getting there and outa there is easy. This is a top-notch B&B, so if you frequent them, you know what that means. Baths/Showers are located centrally on each floor and are very clean and secure. In general rooms have running water, refrigerator, TV/VCR, phones, radio/alarm clock, desk, chair, roomy closet space, bureau, adequate electrical outlets, and extra blankets etc.
Good: on Mission street, public transportation, Safeway, Trader Joes, Starbucks, all kinds of shopping, food (groceries or take out), alcohol, all necessities in a block or so from the door.
Not so Great: Unfortunatelybar below on the street-side (don't take a room on street-side), no secure feeling taking a strool in the neighborhood in the evening, must book well in advance (month is a good idea), park on the street is OK but otherwise you pay $15/night and that is good in SF but still no easy parking for a residential neighborhood
Great: Healthy breakfast and plenty of it!, great hosts and not pretentious, walking distance to nice parks (20 minutes away from two) Corona Heights with one incredible panoramic view (watch out for dog poop), and Buena Vista has great trails for a flat ground run, and if you want to experience Haight/Ashbury, it is still there, but not what you would have seen in the 60's or 70's and Ben&Jerry's and others kinda made it seem a bit commercial (probably just not what we expected as naiive, nostalgic travellers.)
My wife and I are straight, but that did not make a difference. If you are phobic, you really don't deserve all SF has and it is one of the great cities of the world, and we have been travelling a lot.

Room Tip: Stay back from the street side, young people frequent the bar below and have hearing problems. All o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danvillme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,830 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,021 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 710 14th St, At Church and Market Streets, San Francisco, CA 94114-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel San Francisco
The Willows b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing