We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to call home, when in San Francisco.”
Review of Union Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Union Street Inn
Ranked #5 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place to call home, when in San Francisco.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Union Street Inn is one of those rare places that you feel comfortable as soon as you step through the door. The welcome is genuine and it carries through the entire stay.

Thank you David, Jane, and especially Kit for your kindness. We appreciated the yummy breakfasts, great recommendations, and the fact you didn't roll your eyes when we asked for directions more than once.

Room Tip: English Garden room was lovely. Only wished the weather was better so we could have kept the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    72
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
351
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Findon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

No numbers here! Guests are treated as friends, mingle over cheese and wine and share their appreciation of this lovely house and enchanting garden. Jane is a great host, generous with her time (and home-made breakfasts), interesting and full of helpful advice for first-time visitors to SF. The Carriage House is comfortable and secluded. A fascinating, memorable and eclectic place - we loved it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annie55Findon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for a few nights as part of our honeymoon in March 2014. The innkeepers were lovely people. On our last night, they were kind enough to leave us a breakfast tray in the kitchen since we would be departing for the airport before breakfast would be served the next morning, and they also helped us out with parking since we would be leaving before the garage opened. The breakfasts were great as well, and our vegetarian habits were easily accommodated.

We stayed in the New Yorker Room. It was very spacious, although the bathroom was a little small (but we expected no less in an old victorian). The view of the street coupled with the flowering window boxes was charming. There was some street noise from Union Street in the evenings, but it didn't bother us as we live in a city apartment anyway. If you are sensitive to noise, I would choose one of the rooms facing the garden.

The garden was probably my favorite part; it was gorgeous! We sat out there chatting and enjoying a bottle of wine we'd brought from the Napa Valley leg of our trip (which the innkeepers graciously stored in the kitchen refrigerator for us to chill). I only wish it had been warm enough outside in the mornings to have breakfast out there.

The location was also perfect. There are tons of restaurants and shops within a half mile radius; it was very walk-able.

A tip on parking: there is a public garage two blocks down that the inn has a deal with so that you can park for $15/day, but you cannot remove your car during the duration and the garage is only open during daytime hours to remove your car. If you plan to be using your car or need to leave before the garage is open, park on the street instead. We parked our car in the garage the first two days, took it out on the third, and parked on the street overnight as we'd be leaving before the garage opened.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the garden if you are sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unnecessarye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Loved our 4 nights here. We stayed in the Wild Rose room which was beautiful, at the back of the house so lovely and quiet. Breakfast were well prepared and we enjoyed the opportunity in the mornings to chat to other guests about their travels. You have a lovely place, Jane and David. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuzyRosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at the Union Street Inn during a conference in February 2014 and loved it. The attention to detail was excellent and breakfasts yummy! I loved the bed - like sleeping at home which is not the norm for travel. Would highly recommend this B&B and will stay here again whenever I need to return to San Francisco.

Room Tip: If you have a challenge with stairs, ask to be on the ground floor of the B&B. Steep stairs com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I travel often and stay at major hotel chains 99% of the time. But after my first time at the Union Street B&B, I ONLY stay at this quaint, comfortable, convenient and friendly place. Jane, Kit, Scottie and others ALWAYS great me with smiles. The personal touch that you receive is like no other in the bay area. I meet guest that travel from all over the world during breakfast (It's soooo good) or just sit in the comfortable "living room" chatting with others about their corner of the world. I can't say enough about Union Street...The rooms, gardens and people are wonderful!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had the opportunity to stay here during our trip to San Fran for a few nights and really enjoyed our stay. The people here really make the difference and the attention to detail was amazing. We stayed in the New Yorker room with a beautiful view of Union St. When we arrived (late at night) our keys were waiting for us, there were fresh cookies out, coffee and tea, a pitcher of filtered water on our table and a fruit basket-what a nice welcome. The breakfasts were amazing and the garden was beautiful. Jane and Kit are so sweet-I felt like I was catching up with an aunt or relative when I was talking with them. The place just makes you feel so warm and cozy.

A few things to keep in mind-the Inn faces the road so if you are in a room on the first floor, there is A LOT of noise at ALL HOURS-garbage trucks, traffic, cable cars-you can even hear people walking by on the sidewalk below. Also, the New Yorker room opens up straight into the parlor area, so there is very little privacy when entering and leaving your room. The bathroom was tiny and our room was very dark and a little stuffy, because there is no air conditioning.

Would highly recommend Union Street Inn for hospitality-New Yorker room could use a little updating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
1,445 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#1 of 72 in San Francisco
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Inn

Property: Union Street Inn
Address: 2229 Union St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Warm Hospitality at San Francisco's Union Street Inn. The Union Street Inn Bed and Breakfast combines the elegance and gentility of an Edwardian home. Rooms are spacious, airy and comfortable. Open your window and the fragrance of old roses, lavender, sage and rosemary wafts up from the romantic cottage garden - a delightful spot to enjoy an inviting breakfast or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Union Street Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing