We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst business concept ever?”
Review of Music City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Music City Hotel
Ranked #119 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The worst business concept ever?”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We went to this hotel mostly because of the good price. It turned out to be a good example of ' you get what you pay for'.

Pros:
Good neighbourhood, just don't go south into The Tenderloin.
Good bus connection to the Fisherman's Wharf (bus 19)
Near Chinatown (15-20 mins walk down hill)
Clean bathrooms
Free internet on pc's in the lobby and free wifi

Cons:
Not too friendly lady (in the mornings) at the front desk, didn't say really much
Heard two people being sent to another hotel because they were overbooked, without even offering them a partial refund or discount or anything
And the worst of the worst: they seemed to rent rooms to amateur musicians who can play music until 11 pm. Who ever thought of combining this concept with a HOTEL must be a bit awkward. Just choose either one of the concepts but this did not make any sense at all and it was really frustrating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    141
    98
    42
    31
See reviews for
27
111
140
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

It was a small room, but it was clean. We booked a room with our own toilet and that was positive. Sadly we had 4 nights bad sleep becaurse we could hear the neighbours every word and the bed was to hard. We had no problem with the musicians that was playing, they stopped at 11 o'clock. We recommend to stay on the third floor if you will book this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Funbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Yes this is a Hostel and there are share bathrooms, but it is very clean minus the old decor. This is an incredible value for the money in a city that commands top dollar. Good walking distance to most attractions in the area. Close to BART and Muni lines.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominicbr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I want to start by addressing the reviews that say there is no parking. There is a parking garage right next door, literally within 100 feet of the front door. The only downside is that it is closed on Sundays so you must plan accordingly. Otherwise you can't get any more convenient parking in SF.

I have stayed here three times. The hotel is typical of the buildings of its era. Narrow halls, steep stairs. But the rooms I have slept in have been clean and kept up well. It has everything from fully equipped suites with kitchens down to shared dorm/hostel style bunk beds and everything in between. For a traveler on a budget, there is something to fit any budget.

The shared bath situation is what it is. The staff keeps them clean and disinfected, but the person right before you might have adversely affected that. The private baths are fine.

Yes there are rehearsal studios in the basement that are quite popular. The music shuts off at 11pm. Before that, depending on the night and your room location, it is similar to a garage band playing down the street in your home neighborhood. You can hear it, you can choose to concentrate on it or ignore it. Certainly, if that would be an issue for you, don't stay here. But if you don't mind, this is a great value in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

this is a really good place to stay, its close to everything and the beds are quite comfy (thats if you get the bottom double). the rooms are really nice and they are kept clean every day. only gripe i have with house keeping is if something is not in the bin then dont throw it away. i lost a few things they probally thought was rubbish like email address's etc. anyways i never really spoke to the guys in the office so cant comment but they seemed nice. they dont work passed a certain time so if you lose your card key then your stuck basically. theres a really nice coffee shop on the main street. really friendly Staff i suggest going there. cant remember the name but it begins with a q. the noise from the rehearsing studio isnt really a problem lets be honest, i think its kool. It is in a slightly rough part of town but tbh theres quite alot in san francisco, unless you go to the otherside where ocean beach is.. this is central to everything. For the price you get a really good deal. dont book if your a single traveller and wanting to meet people, this is not the place for you trust me. i was lucky to meet a guy to show me the sights. its very hard to meet other travellers who want to see the sights and go out with you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is no place to stay if you are over 25. Front door is locked, and you can only get in when another guest arrives because the desk staff do not react to the bell. They don't react either when you check-in, they keep tapping their phones. No big deal. Once you get the WiFi key that works (the normal one doesn't) there is minimal connection. We couldn't get a room with its own toilet but were not bothered by others during our stay, although the bathroom was very dirty in the morning. We did not go there. What is really bad is the sleeping. Worst bed I can imagine. In the basement of the building there is a studio where bands can practise until 11PM. It was obvious some of them should practise a lot more. One night, people were using the earthquake reinforcement as a percussion instrument, but this reinforcement goes straight up into room 105. Ridiculous.

This is no hotel, it is a hostel at best. Be aware. The location is okay, walking distance to Chinatown. Breakfast restaurants and parking around the corner.

Room Tip: Probably the rooms at the back of the building receive the least noise from the studio, and the leas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Houtjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Central location, clean rooms and great price. Sure the management was a little stoned and bathrooms are shared, but the ambiance was really fun, and the price was very reasonable. One of the best parts was the fact that there are practice spaces for bands underneath the rooms and an extremely random French library and art gallery next door. Union square is an easy 10 minute walk away. The wifi was good, reasonably fast. One annoying thing was that even though we had scheduled check in for 12:00 midday, the rooms weren’t cleaned and ready for us until around 1:30. They held our baggage for us, but it was still a little awkward to be waiting around the place for our room, so we went food shopping. There is a whole foods basically around the corner. The hotel also allows guests access to a computer, which helped when the ipad we were travelling with broke. The room had only one bed, but it was pretty comfortable, and the area wasn’t too loud. Basically this is a great bang for your buck, especially if you are young, travelling with friends, and plan on spending a large percentage of your time semi-sloshed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#152 of 229 in San Francisco
845 reviews
Layne Hotel
#202 of 229 in San Francisco
257 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#147 of 229 in San Francisco
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hotel

Property: Music City Hotel
Address: 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Music City Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Music City Hotel/Hostel offers the best combination of service, location, and cleanliness for affordable Hotel and Hostel accommodations in San Francisco. Be energized by the past, present and future of music in the city while at Music City Hotel, a tribute to the robust musical history of the Bay Area, and dedicated towards nurturing its present. This is a one of a kind artistic and cultural experience you don't want to miss. Located in the vibrant Polk Gulch neighborhood, dozens of varied and excellent food, beverage, and entertainment options are within steps of Music City Hotel. Tourist attractions and neighborhoods such as Chinatown, Union Square, North Beach, Fisherman’s Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Haight Ashbury, and the Mission District are all located either within walking distance or a short bus ride away thanks to our convenient and central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Music City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Express San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing