We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Music City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Music City Hotel
Ranked #124 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I visited the hotel for 2 nights. The location is good, 10 minutes from union square.
The hotel itself is cute, the toilets are shared but don't worry, they very clean and you can enter only with the key card.
The rooms are small and isolation from the corridor not good, and i hear the other guests that walking in the corridor
The big disadvantage of the hotel is the music city in the first floor. Until 23:00 there are bands that play loudly. So if you go to sleep late it's o.k, but if you want to sleep early it's can to be problem
There are few parkcars nears the hotel and it's cost 20 dollar per day. The nearest park close in sunday

Room Tip: Higher room, less noise from the music of the bands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aya121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    135
    97
    42
    30
See reviews for
26
106
133
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I would stay at this hotel again if I plan to visit SF because of inexpensive price and location. I stayed at the place with my sister for 3 days vacation.

Down side: shared bath-but it was okay. Just like a house or dorm with a hallway with multiple rooms, you are given with your room but the restroom and shower is at the separate room.
May hear people playing the music downstairs.-but it did not bother me during my stay/sleeping at this hotel at all. I actually thought that made this hotel rather unique. If you are looking for an absolute quiet place, it may be a problem to you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank S Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires argentina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed at the Encore Express. The hotel is clean, the rooms are fairly spacious, attractively furnished and the location is great. One can walk to Union Square very easily; walk down Polk Street, turn left on Geary - it's all flat. A few blocks from the hotel, at the corner of Calif. and Hyde is a Trader Joe's grocer, which is a fantastic market. (don't go at meal time, as you'll be at the check out for a long time). The hotel rooms have small refrigerators and there is a microwave and a toaster outside the reception office. A great way to economize.
Hope to return to SF (I lived there for many years) next fall and will stay at the Encore Express.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor. My room (215) was a bit of a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XchocolateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I loved it!! BUT this is definitely not the hotel for everyone. This is a hostel like hotel with floor bathrooms. You can get a private room or a bed in a shared room. There are a dozen practice studios in the basement so you will hear music wafting up through the halls and floors until 11pm. That is exactly why I thought it was great. Like sitting out in a park and hearing a concert in the distance. The place is clean and very well kept. It's old and many layers of paint, but neat art everywhere and everything in good order. But you do have to be a little flexible in your schedule because there are 3 bathrooms on a floor so don't expect to get up and hop in the shower, you may have to wait. So if you've hiked the AT, or stayed at hostels, or ever slept in a horse stall, you'll love it. If your idea of a great experience is a Hilton, go stay there instead.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have louder music and 2nd floor are quieter. If someone good is practicing, the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavychauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Accommodation in San Francisco seems to be expensive. If you are looking for a great value gem then you will struggle!

We got a reasonable deal for this hotel online and it was fine for our 1 night in SF. We stayed in room 204 which was clean, although small and right next to the shared bathroom (I was concerned about hearing the ablutions of other guests bit sound proofing was good). The main parts of the bathroom were clean but the building is old, the room had poor ventilation resulting in mould on the ceiling which is really unacceptable. The corresponding bathroom a floor below was more unpleasant than this one.

The staff were helpful when we wanted to check early and leave our bags there for the day after we checked out.

There is free coffee, use of a microwave and clothes washing facilities.

If the hotel were to improve the shared bathroom facility then this would be a good place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hannoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#174 of 228 in San Francisco
56 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel North Beach
Hotel North Beach
#192 of 228 in San Francisco
320 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dakota Hotel
#191 of 228 in San Francisco
180 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#100 of 228 in San Francisco
2,308 reviews
Layne Hotel
#201 of 228 in San Francisco
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hotel

Property: Music City Hotel
Address: 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Music City Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Music City Hotel/Hostel offers the best combination of service, location, and cleanliness for affordable Hotel and Hostel accommodations in San Francisco. Be energized by the past, present and future of music in the city while at Music City Hotel, a tribute to the robust musical history of the Bay Area, and dedicated towards nurturing its present. This is a one of a kind artistic and cultural experience you don't want to miss. Located in the vibrant Polk Gulch neighborhood, dozens of varied and excellent food, beverage, and entertainment options are within steps of Music City Hotel. Tourist attractions and neighborhoods such as Chinatown, Union Square, North Beach, Fisherman’s Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Haight Ashbury, and the Mission District are all located either within walking distance or a short bus ride away thanks to our convenient and central location. With options ranging from four person and six person dormitories, to private rooms with shared restrooms, all the way to junior suites with a kitchen and bathroom, there is enough variety here to fulfill almost every style of travel and budgetary need. Below you are 15 rehearsal and recording studios, the epicenter for thousands of local musicians focused on the creative process of rehearsal, performance, and education in their craft. Be immersed in our stylishly decorated rooms and halls featuring aluminum laser printed photographs of the most prominent figures in the musical history of the Bay Area, all while staying comfortably connected at the crossroads of the city’s present day music scene along with it’s storied past. Feel free to wander into the lower level to check out this exciting vibe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Music City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Express San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing