We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“ok hotel in wrong neighborhood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Encore Express Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Encore Express Hotel
Ranked #130 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Brno
Level Contributor
521 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
“ok hotel in wrong neighborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hostel is not the best neighborhood. I went out the 2nd night, I didnt feel good on the way from night bus...I needed to go 10 blocks through streets where homeless people exchanged their stuff, many suspicious persons coming out from appalling bars...even though I was going in the middle of the street (where was at least some light) I expected a knife in my back...really bad feeling. I was not going out in the night again after this experience.

The hostel itself is advisable, with big room, clean bathroom, working internet connection and
close to one end stop of the cable car. The location not.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    122
    89
    39
    26
See reviews for
24
95
110
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I visited the hotel for 2 nights. The location is good, 10 minutes from union square.
The hotel itself is cute, the toilets are shared but don't worry, they very clean and you can enter only with the key card.
The rooms are small and isolation from the corridor not good, and i hear the other guests that walking in the corridor
The big disadvantage of the hotel is the music city in the first floor. Until 23:00 there are bands that play loudly. So if you go to sleep late it's o.k, but if you want to sleep early it's can to be problem
There are few parkcars nears the hotel and it's cost 20 dollar per day. The nearest park close in sunday

Room Tip: Higher room, less noise from the music of the bands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aya121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I would stay at this hotel again if I plan to visit SF because of inexpensive price and location. I stayed at the place with my sister for 3 days vacation.

Down side: shared bath-but it was okay. Just like a house or dorm with a hallway with multiple rooms, you are given with your room but the restroom and shower is at the separate room.
May hear people playing the music downstairs.-but it did not bother me during my stay/sleeping at this hotel at all. I actually thought that made this hotel rather unique. If you are looking for an absolute quiet place, it may be a problem to you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank S Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires argentina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed at the Encore Express. The hotel is clean, the rooms are fairly spacious, attractively furnished and the location is great. One can walk to Union Square very easily; walk down Polk Street, turn left on Geary - it's all flat. A few blocks from the hotel, at the corner of Calif. and Hyde is a Trader Joe's grocer, which is a fantastic market. (don't go at meal time, as you'll be at the check out for a long time). The hotel rooms have small refrigerators and there is a microwave and a toaster outside the reception office. A great way to economize.
Hope to return to SF (I lived there for many years) next fall and will stay at the Encore Express.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor. My room (215) was a bit of a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XchocolateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I loved it!! BUT this is definitely not the hotel for everyone. This is a hostel like hotel with floor bathrooms. You can get a private room or a bed in a shared room. There are a dozen practice studios in the basement so you will hear music wafting up through the halls and floors until 11pm. That is exactly why I thought it was great. Like sitting out in a park and hearing a concert in the distance. The place is clean and very well kept. It's old and many layers of paint, but neat art everywhere and everything in good order. But you do have to be a little flexible in your schedule because there are 3 bathrooms on a floor so don't expect to get up and hop in the shower, you may have to wait. So if you've hiked the AT, or stayed at hostels, or ever slept in a horse stall, you'll love it. If your idea of a great experience is a Hilton, go stay there instead.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have louder music and 2nd floor are quieter. If someone good is practicing, the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavychauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Accommodation in San Francisco seems to be expensive. If you are looking for a great value gem then you will struggle!

We got a reasonable deal for this hotel online and it was fine for our 1 night in SF. We stayed in room 204 which was clean, although small and right next to the shared bathroom (I was concerned about hearing the ablutions of other guests bit sound proofing was good). The main parts of the bathroom were clean but the building is old, the room had poor ventilation resulting in mould on the ceiling which is really unacceptable. The corresponding bathroom a floor below was more unpleasant than this one.

The staff were helpful when we wanted to check early and leave our bags there for the day after we checked out.

There is free coffee, use of a microwave and clothes washing facilities.

If the hotel were to improve the shared bathroom facility then this would be a good place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hannoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
The Dakota Hotel
#185 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#177 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#138 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Layne Hotel
#198 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Express Hotel

Property: Encore Express Hotel
Address: 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Encore Express Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Encore Express Hotel is centrally located near Van Ness Avenue and Union Square shopping districts, with many excellent food options as well as bars and nightlife located on adjacent Polk Stret. The Encore Express features 18 guest rooms with a mix of shared bath and private bath rooms as well as shared room dormitory accommodations. Private room options feature either 1 Double size or 1 Queen size bed, with deluxe options of Junior Suite (two queen beds) or King suite with private bathroom. Vanity sinks, work station, mini-fridge and a cable TV are included as room amenities in all room types aside from the dormitories. Shared showers and restrooms are found in four convenient locations per floor, just down the hall from the bedrooms. Looking for the best value and on a limited budget? Our clean, well maintained rooms are the most reasonable in the San Francisco Union Square/Nob Hill District and our friendly, helpful staff is happy to assist you with directions and recommendations for activities within San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Encore Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Express San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing