We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly, good location”
Review of Music City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Music City Hotel
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 3 June 2014

dumpster - toilet funky kind of smell as soon as you enter,it never goes away.
rooms are ok, pretty cheap
loction is good - close to a bus station and all the cable cars
guy at the front desk nervous and unhelpful
at check out time he went into our room and took our stuff out????????????

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ivana i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Music City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This backpacker hotel was just right for me. Comfortable rooms and each rep at the desk was polite and extremely helpful, the long haired gentleman pointed me in the direction of some nice attractions. It's San Francisco so expect noise. But it's a nice short walk away from many restaurants and attractions. It was my first time in a backpacker type hotel and the fact that I'm a us army vet made much smoother.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank DariEnLake25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Clean room. Fresh towels in the morning. One of the toilets was broken and leaking water. The room was right out to the street, which was alright if you could close the window properly that is. Everytime we needed service from the front desk we had to wait in line for about 20 minutes. The front desk was really friendly and helpful though, but the quality of the hotel was under average.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Frederik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were lucky to get an upgrade, from a double room with additional bed to a suite. It was clean, quite comfortable and well located. If you're searching for a cheap, clean, non-luxury stay in SF...-Encore Express is the perfect place!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed 4 nights at the Encore Express this week and was very pleased with my experience. The location was perfect for walking all over which is one of the things I love most about San Francisco. There were plenty of shops, bars, and restaurants nearby for those who aren't roamers like me. My room was lovely with high ceilings and windows that you could actually open and enjoy the fresh air. The staff were all friendly and made checking in and out a breeze. It has that old world San Francisco flavor that is missing in some more modern buildings. I also appreciated having the little fridge to stash goodies so I could just chill after many hours on foot.
Stay there is you can!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanFranciscoFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Good: the price, the room size (at least in rm 110), the cleaning staff were friendly, the bedrooms and bathroom were always clean when I saw them, and the place had free wireless, albeit slow wireless, and my (interior) room was quiet from 11pm onwards. Also I think the people who think this is a sketchy neighbourhood must not live in cities - it's fine.

Bad: the LOUD music that goes on until 11PM in the practice rooms downstairs. I know this place is cheap and it's a hostel etc etc etc, but that doesn't make it okay - there are plenty of cheap hostels that don't have music practice under your bedroom. The mattress was fairly lousy, the bed had plastic sheets under the cotton ones, and the rooms was really musty.

So overall not disastrous but not great either.

Room Tip: Top floors might be somewhat insulated from band practice downstairs I guess
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hostel is not the best neighborhood. I went out the 2nd night, I didnt feel good on the way from night bus...I needed to go 10 blocks through streets where homeless people exchanged their stuff, many suspicious persons coming out from appalling bars...even though I was going in the middle of the street (where was at least some light) I expected a knife in my back...really bad feeling. I was not going out in the night again after this experience.

The hostel itself is advisable, with big room, clean bathroom, working internet connection and
close to one end stop of the cable car. The location not.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#193 of 230 in San Francisco
63 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 230 in San Francisco
1,361 reviews
Layne Hotel
#203 of 230 in San Francisco
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#129 of 230 in San Francisco
791 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#188 of 230 in San Francisco
151 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hotel

Address: 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £69 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Music City Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Music City Hotel/Hostel offers the best combination of service, location, and cleanliness for affordable Hotel and Hostel accommodations in San Francisco. Be energized by the past, present and future of music in the city while at Music City Hotel, a tribute to the robust musical history of the Bay Area, and dedicated towards nurturing its present. This is a one of a kind artistic and cultural experience you don't want to miss. Located in the vibrant Polk Gulch neighborhood, dozens of varied and excellent food, beverage, and entertainment options are within steps of Music City Hotel. Tourist attractions and neighborhoods such as Chinatown, Union Square, North Beach, Fisherman’s Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Haight Ashbury, and the Mission District are all located either within walking distance or a short bus ride away thanks to our convenient and central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Music City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Express San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing