We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Could not be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Chateau Tivoli while visiting San Francisco. It is a very old, quaint B&B with heavy victorian style. The staff is super friendly, the food was great, it was very clean, conveniently located and comfortable. Lots of character in this little place. It was perfect for us and could not have been any better. I would absolutely stay here again if ever in the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outdoor328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and i had a wonderful stay in this quaint lovely old San Francisco historical house. the Innkeepers were very hospitable and we really loved the atmosphere. If you need ultra modern appliances in the bathroom, or tv in the bedroom, this is not the place for you. But if you enjoy staying in places with history and character, chateau Tivoli is a must.

Room Tip: the basement suite has a separate entrance and sleeps 4 so it is ideal for a family, it has 2 separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I love history, interesting architecture and antiques so staying here was an absolute delight. The house itself is like a museum that I was surprised that they would even let people sleep there. I felt like I should have to pay for a tour.

We were lucky in that we were staying during the week in the Joaquin Miller room and the other 2 rooms on our floor were unoccupied so we basically got our own bathroom. The room was large, the bed was comfortable and the house was quiet (besides the street noise).

Every morning we got a continental breakfast and had conversations with other guests. In the afternoon they put out cheese, crackers and wine for everyone to help themselves. The only issue that some people might have is that there are obviously no present day comforts like elevators or a TV, so bring a book or walk to Alamo square and just sit and gaze at the 7 painted ladies. Or walk to Bar Crudo for their happy hour and enjoy some oysters and drinks. It's a really nice neighbourhood that gave us a look at a different area of SF. It was also very affordable at $100/night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FidgeFodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great place really, can warmly recommend this to anyone. We were living in the Jack London room and shared the genuinely decorated bathroom which was no problems what so ever.

They have a tasty breakfast and we were lucky to stay over the weekend which meant champagne brunch as well. Incredibly friendly people that are running it.

Room Tip: If youre a couple the Jack London is great, you have a bit of a tower all to yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaswik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was quite a unique experience staying in an old Victorian house. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and had all the amenities you'd expect to find at a hotel. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The afternoon wine and cheese event and the brunch were tasty. The chateau is located in a quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance to Divisadero Street, Fillmore Street, Alamo Square, and a couple bus lines. Compared with other hotels in the area, the price was very reasonable for what they offer.

Bottom line, if you're looking for for an alternative to a hotel in San Francisco and would appreciate a nicely restored older building and a more intimate experience with the innkeepers and other guests, give them a try.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Chateau Tivoli is an amazing historic Victorian Pink Lady. Before booking your stay read up on the history of this Victorian B&B to truly appreciate where you are staying! I booked our last night before flying back to Minnesota (and it's snow storms-yes, we had snow April 11 while it was 80 degrees in San Francisco!) in San Francisco at the Chateau (we stayed in Marin county and Carmel/Monterey the first part of our trip to California) and we were very impressed. When we arrived we were told the suite that we had reserved (the Lillie Langtry suite) was being renovated so they upgraded us to the Louisa Tetrazzini suite. WOW! It was magnificent! A bedroom with a parlor attached; it was very spacious and beautiful. There were four of us and my daughter and son were given the Aimee Crocker room; there was one bed and so I asked for a rollaway bed for my son and instead they gave him his own room (the Enrico Caruso room) as well. We appreciated that they upgraded all of us; they went above and beyond what they could have done to make sure that we were all comfortable. We enjoyed the brie/swiss and cheddar cheese and crackers; the wine ..it was all so perfect. My partner played the piano in the parlor while my children played chess by the window. It was enjoyable and relaxing after a frantic week sightseeing in San Francisco and Monterey and Marin County. We loved this B&B and will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheryl103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

One of the best locations I've ever seen in my life. Magical atmosphere of a time gone, staff friendly and welcoming, breakfast delicious and plentiful, elegant rooms that retain the style of the past century, in short, a place where the echoing notes of the most beautiful opera, I'd say a good place for those who love culture and the refined style, located in one of the most elegant and quiet neighborhoods of the city, very close to the Painted Ladies. An experience once in lifetime.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emiliasavoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Buchanan
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
538 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-4620
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £127 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing