We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bed but no Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Bed but no Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was shocked.

The historical house was beautiful and wonderfully located only a few blocks from the famous Alamo Square park. The actual room we stayed in (the Enrico Caruso room) was very nicely decorated.

But, there was no breakfast the next morning! They had a "continental breakfast" available - which basically amounted to cereal and toast. This was shocking after staying at a few other bed and breakfasts in California that served elaborate wonderful breakfasts, often served by the owners themselves.

It also seemed like the bed and breakfast was "managed" by employees. The owners were nowhere to be found. This made the service very impersonal. So, in conclusion, if you want to stay in a semi-empty house with no breakfast the next morning, I guess this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caro_fy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    28
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
97
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here late October 2013. We were in the Jack London room. Very tidy and the turret was super cute! Only problem I found with room was lack of power sockets near bed, but I guess that comes with and older building.

Sharing the bathroom with the room next door was never an issue, and if we were desperate there was a bathroom available on the main level. The bathroom was nice and there was plenty of shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. Bathtub has a handheld shower head but I found I was too tall and had to kneel in the bath to wash my hair!

Third floor staircase is skinny and it was a little hard dragging our luggage up there.

Staff were so friendly and helpful. Were happy to hold our luggage for us when we checked out and let us wait in lounge area in evening as we had a very late flight. Dressed up for Halloween too which was cool! The breakfast was delicious and there was quite a lot to choose from.

Good location, five minutes from Alamo Square. We would walk down to Pier 39 etc in morning and then taxi home in the evening after our day for a reasonable price.

Overall I loved it here. I've stayed in a LOT of hotels in the USA and this is my favourite. The building is absolutely gorgeous and it was like being transported back to a different era. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank loveyourground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Chateau Tivoli is a boutique hotel / guesthouse in San Francisco. The building, its interior, its decoration scream original period detail. The hotel has modern creature comforts such as wifi and en-suite bathrooms, but other than that you feel blissfully transported back to another era.

It is a period building, so there is no double glazing and no air conditioning (i.e. expect some noise from the street, but not enough to disturb your sleep).

Breakfast is served at a large shared dining table, with only one table for two in the window bay. Therefore you need to be able to put on a "morning face" and chat with your fellow guests over breakfast (this will either be your heaven or your hell, depending on your personal taste). The breakfast menu is simple but delicious. Expect bucks fizz with breakfast on Sunday mornings.

Complimentary cheese and wine are served mid-afternoon, and the selection is generous.

The staff are helpful and friendly, but discrete and not in your face.

We enjoyed our stay here, and would happily stay there again. It is a little outside of the main tourist drag, but is close enough to a good selection of restaurants, the Castro and public transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

On the upside, this is probably the most gorgeous house I've ever stayed in. The room (we were in the Isadora Duncan) was spacious, clean, with a beautiful, high, painted ceiling and a nice, comfortable bed (slightly short for me, but I'm 6 ft tall, so almost every bed with a foot board will be short for me). It was also warm inside, which I've come to understand is not all that common i San Francisco. The neighborhood is quiet, and there are a couple of buses that stop fairly close by the B&B, making it a good location for exploring the city on foot and by bus.

The downside, for me, was unfortunatelty the service. However, me and my friend stayed at the Chateau Tivoli over Easter, so my guess is we didn't get the regular staff.

According to the webpage, the B&B accommodates dietary needs. Me and my friend asked for vegan food when we made our reservations, and were told that it would be no problem. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a person who I think is the regular innkeeper, who was very friendly and once again told us that us being vegan would not be an issue. However, the day after when we came down for breakfast, there was a little bread and granola, but otherwise nothing obviously vegan. After asking about the vegan food in the kitchen (where the weekend staff was) we were told that there was soy milk, and we could have that if we wanted to. Well, obviously we did, but we actually had to ask one more time for it. Then we thought, ”Well, this is America, shouldn't there be peanut butter?”. So we asked if there was, and it turns out there's not only peanut butter, but also hummus. Then, the day after, we found out that there was probably milk in both the bread and the granola (no-one does that in Sweden, so it hadn't occurred to us that there might be). Overall, this wouldn't have been a problem if not for the feeling that we were being obnoxious and in the way, having to ask for everything several times.

In all fairness, on our last morning at the Chateau Tivoli, we were served by the person who met us on the first evening, and she was very helpful, had gone through the trouble of actually checking what food we could eat or not, and made us feel very welcome again.

Overall, I would totally recommend this place, but more warmly to an omnivore with no allergies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Chris_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We only needed a place to stay for one night and are glad we came across this reasonably-priced Bed and Breakfast. As we had just come into town very early in the morning after a cruise, we were happy that Meredith of the Chateau welcomed us in the morning and allowed us to keep our luggage there while we explored the city for the day.

She even offered us breakfast which was very nice - lots of selections for everyone's breakfast desires. There were two types of cereals, yogurt, bagels, bread slices, quiche, fresh fruit salads, smoked salmon with capers and onions, etc. Coffee, tea, juice and water also available.

We stayed in the basement suite which consisted of a little kitchen, two bedrooms and a bathroom. The heritage of this large home is incredibly well-kept - I wish we could have stayed longer to get a good look at the whole place. The main floor has a large sitting area

Although this place is not that close to town, it is very easy to get there by bus or bicycle. For us, the price was right, the ambience was so pleasant, and we enjoyed meeting some of the others staying there.

The innkeeper offered to print off our boarding passes for our flight which was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: If you book the basement suite you get a key for your own entry. And you have use of the little kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greya16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved the location of this lovely lady,- this Victorian charmer. We did not have a car during our 5-day stay and could easily access several bus routes from this ideal spot. its only a few blocks from the BART station, too, for an easy trip to or from the airport. Our accommodation was on the third floor, in a room that shares a bathroom with one other room. That arrangement worked out fine-no problems. I had asked ahead of time that a portable fan be put in the room, and that worked out great both for air movement and background noise at night. The staff was extremely kind, capable and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the 5 o-clock wine and cheese get- togethers. We're definitely going back!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the two third-floor rooms that share a hall bathroom. Be adventurous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Because our youngest son was with us for two of our three night stay at Chateau Tivoli, we chose the Lola Montez "basement economy suite." It was a superb choice: The suite was spacious, comfortable, and quite affordable. Because of its private entrance, the basement suite was well-suited for our bicycles, our primary means of travel while in "The Cool Gray City of Love." My sole criticism of the "basement economy suite" is that the lovely original woodwork could use a fresh coat of paint!

Meredith, the innkeeper, is the very model of professionalism, competence, and friendliness. She also prepares and serves outstanding breakfasts (the recent review complaining about the quality of the weekday breakfast leaves me baffled!).

Chateau Tivoli's location was ideal for our two-wheeled exploration of the remarkable neighborhoods and architecture in what is surely one of the two or three most iconic of all American cities--a place quite easy "to leave your heart in" and one to which we hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,081 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Buchanan
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
433 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-4620
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing