We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, great location in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sleep Over Sauce
Ranked #18 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay, great location in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed over New Years. The rooms were clean and comfortable. My wife says, "Absolutely no complaints" (she would let me know if she had complaints).
The location is near the symphony and opera house and a block or two from several interesting area.
We had a suite that shared a private bath. There is a large common room with a fireplace, TV, and couches.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    47
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
51
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Perfect place whether you have work in that area or even if you are a tourist...clean room and more importantly for me, clean bathroom. great price for SF. stair are a bit steep to climb if you have some luggage. nicely 'homely' feeling. owners are extremely helpful. restaurant below is also very good.you don't get some of the standard hotel amenities such as dryer and iron in the room but everything else is extremely functional. if you just need a place to sleep and wash up, you can't find better value...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sash d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The accommodations were very comfortable. The staff was always friendly. The overall vibe of the place was wonderful and hanging out in the great room (with huge Christmas tree and lights) made staying here fun. I usually don't sleep well in hotels but the atmosphere here helped make an otherwise busy trip restful and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Good bakery a few blocks away on Octavia street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

You honestly could not ask for more. Convienient location, comfortable accomidations, and a real San Francisco feel. Incredible stay. I think the reviews on the site pretty much hit the mark. For someone looking for a 5 star hotel, you may want to just pay the price for the larger hotels. If you are looking for something fun and beatnik style, this is the place for you. If you are shocked by the price, prepare to be shocked, because it is a tremendous value. Great place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

likes: the overall atmosphere and the grand room...not locking up the food at night. very friendly and helpful maid. very good coffee. very good service generally....clean rooms. nice shower. Reasonable price (for San Fran anyway). good wireless internet service.

dislikes: lots of burned out light bulbs....not a good source of heat in the suite rooms. had to place a space heater in the hallway and then place a fan to blow it in the rooms. This is not really a suitable solution for heating....nobody would live like this at home....at least not that could afford these rooms. overly scented liquid soap.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

If you want to save $125+ per night vs other decent hotels in SF, this is the place. It is clean, neat, small rooms, redone bathroom, but know there are relatively steep stairs to the rooms, if that would be a problem. When we arrived we called a phone number on the front door and quickly a guy, who looked like a chef or kitchen worker, came out of the restaurant on the first floor and "booked" us in, giving us the combination to the front door and taking us to our room. He was very pleasant and helped with our luggage and would not take a ti.

My wife, who has traveled extensively in Europe, says it reminded her very much of her experience in Europe, if that helps give you the flavor. I would not say there is anything wrong with this place, just that I have reached the point in my life where I don't want to climb lots of stairs, like a little more upscale and would prefer onsite parking. If that does not bother you and you want to save money, this is a good basic place. Feels like a B & B, but near the Tenderloin district of the city. Lots of restaurants nearby and the Sauce, which is on the first floor looked and smelled good, but we did not get a chance to dine there.

There was some street noise, particularly since we had to leave the window open because of the heat and lack of air conditioning but hey, it's the City. It would have been nice to have screens on all windows, so they could have been open without letting in flies. Yep, flies in San Francisco, who knew?

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not front Gough Street and get one with a bathroom. If you have trouble wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Figoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I booked a room for two weeks so I could explore the city. I was given a room, the "Castro"-room, on the 2nd floor on the Gough St side. Although Gough can be a busy street, the street noise can easily be kept out when shutting the double glazed windows. The shower/bath was perfect, and so was the king bed. I also liked the comfy chairs. The size of the room was more than adequate for one person. Also highly appreciated was the breakfast, always available, with a coffee machine to make fresh coffee.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#100 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,829 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 71 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Over Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Over Sauce

Property: Sleep Over Sauce
Address: 135 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5919 (Formerly Albion House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shows, Travel, Business or Pleasure this is the place. Sleep Over Sauce is a unique, 9 room, boutique inn located in San Francisco’s #1 shopping and entertainment hub, Hayes Valley. We are located in the center of the city. With the shopping in Hayes Valley, the shows and events in the Civic center, and only a short walk to both the Castro and the Haight Ashbury districts, Sleep is truly in the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sleep Over Sauce Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing