We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sleep Over Sauce
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Orchard Hotel(San Francisco)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
47
49
13
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
49
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomhayes valleygreat roomrestaurant downstairsno elevatorperforming artshaight ashburyother guestslarge tvbed and breakfastcity noisean older buildingtop floora great place to staycomfortable bedsmarket streetunion square
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The place was alright. The bed was plenty comfy, the staff was nice for the very short interaction I had with them. For the price, I thought more would be offered in terms of breakfast and location, but coffee, cereal, and bagels/ English muffins were enough to get the day started. They warn you not to park on the street due to tickets and break ins. Listen..... I parked on the street literally directly in front of my window Only from about midnight to 6 am... There was an opera going on and I didn't want to pay the extra special event price for the garage. Some low life shattered my window and stole a bunch of gas receipts and paper..... They destroyed my locked glove box with a kitchen knife and scratched the crap out of my door. For the location being so close to the actual hood of SF and it just not being safe at night due to scum walking around with kitchen knives, I am giving 3 stars.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I really liked this urban guest house in San Francisco. It has eight guest rooms above an excellent restaurant called Sauce on Gough Street. The double room I stayed in was very comfortable and well equipped with a balcony which was handy as my boyfriend smokes. The reception was unmanned, but this was not an issue. Breakfast and drinks were available 24 hours per day, and included in the price. There is an ice machine and large lounge. Definitely recommended for the more independent traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Sleep Over Sauce......All the staff were very friendly, Rooms were clean and Beds were COMFY !! Close to bus line to get to Pier 39 and other attractions. Enjoyed the Common Area that everyone could share and relax in.....different couches, chairs, desks. Fresh coffee in the a.m. (and all day) fresh fruit, cereal, bagels & cream cheese, and there was milk and OJ in the frig. Felt very safe in the upstairs rooms, as you had to have a key or pass code to get into the hotel part of the building. In the Haye's District of San Francisco, many restaurants and stores in the area. They also had a computer we could look things up on, or to make reservations, or even print our airline boarding passes when we left. Would definitely go back !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lainey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Great value. This hotel is clean and welcoming. The staff is friendly. There are great restaurants within walking distance and about a 10 min ride from places like the Jazz district and the wharf. I will stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank DarkskinBoricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Sleep Over Sauce for five nights during our stay in San Francisco. It was a great, economical place to stay and we would definitely go there again.

The staff was kind of behind-the-scenes, not in-your face. They basically were the bartender and chef, and a couple other personnel from the restaurant downstairs. If you need something, you ask them, when the restaurant is open (evenings), or call them on the phone otherwise. They were very attentive when called upon.

They provided a nice continental breakfast, including delicious granola, and a few other cereals, an assortment of breads, whole milk, Odwalla orange juice, fruits, coffee and tea, and a microwave and toaster. These items are available 24 hours a day. We like yogurt with our cereal, so I would go to Nick's, a nice convenience store around the corner, or to Walgreen, just up the block, to satisfy our acidophilus fixation.

The breakfast is available in the "great room", which is truly a great room - a big room with numerous comfortable couches and some tables for food consumption. The great room also has a large HDTV with premium DirecTV channels available (the rooms have smaller TVs with basic satellite channels).

The room itself was fine. Lots of nice towels, comfortable bed, ample storage and pleasant decorations. We stayed in the Embarcadero room, which had plenty of photos of San Francisco's Embarcadero on the wall.

Important note for atmospherically sensitive people: the room does not have air conditioning, which shouldn't be a problem in normally temperate San Francisco. It was fine when we were there, except we had a two day "heat wave" where the temperature hit 88 one day and about 80 the next. It got a bit warm in the room and we had to shed the blankets. The other nights we gladly used the comforter. Note that a fan is available.

We kept the windows open each night. Sensitive individuals need to know that there were no screens on the windows. We did not observe any intrusions from flies, mosquitos, or any other varmints, but that was a possibility and probably would have been more likely later in the summer.

Another consequence of opening the windows was the admission of traffic noise from the fairly busy street below. We had busy tourist days so we slept pretty well despite the noise. Disposable earplugs are available in the little office/computer center on the second floor, though we did not need to use them.

We did have one difficulty at this hotel: On our last morning we ran out of hot water in the shower. The hot water supply partially recharged after about 15 minutes, but we should have waited a bit longer. I asked the manager about this the next day (after our return home), and he said that they recently replaced two hot water heaters, but had been getting intermittent complaints about hot water issues. He said that a plumber was coming to investigate, and that it was a tricky problem because the building is an older building and the pipes have not been updated. The hotel's half-dozen rooms were sold-out the morning of our incident, but they were also all sold out a couple other mornings during our stay. It probably was a matter of luck that all the residents chose to use the shower at or around the same time. Bottom line: if an absolutely reliable supply of hot water is an unbending requirement, you may have to steer clear of this otherwise fine, fun hotel.

Speaking of bathrooms, the brochure in the room indicates that Sleep supplies the bathrooms with EO brand soap products (in dispensers, not in wasteful little bars of soap or tubes of shampoo). My wife in particular liked those products so much that we went to Whole Foods Market upon our return to Michigan and bought some (labeled with the Everyone brand, by EO). We hope and assume it's the same stuff.

The hotel is located a short walk from the Van Ness Muni station at Market, thus accessible by public transit to any destination in San Francisco or indeed anywhere in the Bay Area. A few apparently homeless people are stationed on Market between the hotel location and the Muni station but they didn't bother us at any time.

The hotel is in the Hayes Valley, a lively, vibrant area full of restaurants and shops, not the least of which was Sauce downstairs. A former San Francisco resident told us the neighborhood was questionable but I have feeling that might been a dated opinion. A freeway used to go right thru this neighborhood - once that freeway was torn down the neighborhood experienced a resurgence and provides an acceptable edgy urban experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wla2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews