We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant old-school Oriental themed hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #73 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant old-school Oriental themed hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you want to stay in this area and don't mind paying a little extra for quality, this hotel is a good choice. It's a very pleasant, old-school Oriental themed hotel. For example, while the windows had the usual blackout curtains, in front of the curtains were translucent, Oriental-style sliding panels. However, since the hotel is not new, some modern amenities were missing, such as power outlets on the desk or nightstand to recharge electronics.

One piece of excellent service: I had ordered a $4 side order for breakfast, and left it on the room service card overnight. In the morning the room service manager phoned and asked if I really wanted it, since there would be a $5 room service charge. She pointed out that I could get the same side order in the downstairs restaurant without the $5 charge. I cancelled the room service order and did exactly that. Very thoughtful of the manager.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MenloMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your visit with us. It was a pleasure to have hosted you, and we're happy to hear that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. We take great pride in the hospitality of our outgoing team, and it would be an honor to be able to share our services with you again in your travels to come. Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to the region, and thanks again for being a guest of Hotel Kabuki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    750
    280
    104
    50
See reviews for
381
627
140
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level Contributor
361 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We honeymooned in what was formerly known as the Miyako more than 25 years ago and have returned several times since. The Japanese style property continues to be affordable with easy access and attractive rates. While some room furnshings could use an update, our 16th floor (top floor) room facing west was spacious and clean. The deep Japanese soaking style tub is always refreshing. Freddie, the doorman, valet, bellman, and concierge did a great job. Room service for breakfast was fast and the food was excellent. Parking in all of San Francisco is often a headache and is always expensive. Valet (in/out) was $40.00 per day at the Kabuki and was not a headache as it was very quick and efficient when compared to waiting for very extended periods in the City Center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thanks for being a loyal guest of Hotel Kabuki and for reaching out with your experience. It's a pleasure to be an active part of you and your relationship's history, and we look forward to many visits to come. We thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and we're excited to share our continued evolution with you in the years ahead. Please be sure to reach out as you plan return trips to the region; it would be a pleasure to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Felt like a hotel in Japan-peaceful and serene with unique decor, Japanese garden, Japanese food options and great choice of sake in restaurant. Rooms were good size as was the bathroom. Lots of Japanese/Korean food nearby and area was interesting. Cons: Internet was slow and furnishing was dated. Location was central but one may need a car to get around easily. Overall a decent hotel and comfortable stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out with your Hotel Kabuki experience. We're happy to have been able to provide you with an enjoyable escape within our peaceful property, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our authenticity. With continual upgrades across our facility, we hope that you'll return to experience even more of our unparalleled hospitality. Thanks again for your time and review; it would be a pleasure to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

It was my mother's birthday and she wanted to stay at the Kabuki. We booked two rooms that were joined by a balcony. Rooms are small as to be expected for city hotels and located on the Geary Street side of the hotel. Geary is a busy street but when the balcony doors were closed we did not hear the traffic noise.

We opted to self park rather than use the valet and found that many of the shops and restaurants in the shopping complex validated parking. Staff was very helpful and provided a wheel chair for Mom during our stay. The Kabuki's location makes it easy to get to other areas of San Francisco - we took a taxi to get to Union Square but opted to drive to other areas of the city. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvtoTravel982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We're hugely grateful to have hosted your mother's birthday, and we thank you for being our guest. It's an honor to be able to cater to such occasions, and we're happy top hear that our services and amenities afforded for a pleasant stay. We'd love the opportunity to host you again, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you return to the area. Many thanks agin for your time and review; we'd love the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We ended up here because we could not get an affordable hotel room, in the city, anywhere else. We liked it because the room was unique, decorated in a Japanese style, with a Japanese Garden on the ground floor. For a SF city hotel parking was good ($24 per day for underground self-park). We were able to get a corner room that had views, but not of the bay. The room (and the whole hotel) was quiet. The staff was very friendly, but they only had one person on duty so there was a 5 minute wait. On a Sunday morning the surrounding area is very quiet. Even though the area is surrounded by restaurants, the only place that was open on Sunday morning was the hotel restaurant, which was standard business traveler buffet fare, although they did also offer a Japanese breakfast. If you drive down to Filmore Street, the views are stunning.

Room Tip: We got a corner room with windows on two sides for the same price as their normal standard rooms. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to address the quite tranquility of our Hotel Kabuki. We're happy to hear that property and services afforded you with an inviting and unexpected experience, and we hope that you'll reach out to us in future travels to experience the ongoing hospitality of our world class hotel. Our team is looking forward to hosting you again, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return visits to the San Francisco area. Many thank again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel's Japanese ambience is great however the breakfast is not up to expectation. It would be great to wake up to an authentic Japanese traditional breakfast rather than the American / Continental style. A background music of traditional japanese music at the lobby will be soothing to the hears after coming back from a day tour in SF

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your Hotel Kabuki experience with us. We're happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one, and we will certainly pass your requests along in regard to our breakfast offerings. Thanks again for reaching out with your stay and review; we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had 2 rooms - wanted adjourning rooms and we could get to each other rooms via the balcony. Asked for 2 Queens beds - they were small double beds. Arrived on a Thursday and waited a long time for the 2nd room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hotel Kabuki and for reaching out to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure to have hosted you, and we apologize for any frustrations in obtaining your preferred accommodations. We certainly hope that you'll reach out to our team with any lingering concerns, and we thank you for providing the invaluable feedback that enables us to evolve and grow. Many thanks again for your stay and review; we would love to see more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Kimpton Buchanan
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#86 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing