We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Rooms in a Bad Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #74 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Dirty Rooms in a Bad Location”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Kabuki in June 2013. Upon arrival, the staff were extremely friendly. We booked the club king room, which was located on a private floor. Upon entering the room, we were initially quite disappointed as the room did not look anything like the room we had booked online, it was much much smaller. On further inspection the room was not clean, the toilet had stains on it, the tabletops were sticky and there was rubbish under the bed. The location is awful too. If I were to return to San Francisco, I would not stay in Japantown. This area didn't feel safe and it's not convenient to the rest of the City.

Room Tip: If you book a club king room, make sure it's a club king room that you actually get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MArmDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to lend feedback of your stay. While we're happy to hear that our outgoing team made you feel welcomed, we apologize for any shortcomings with your respective room. What you've described is clearly outside the norm of our typical attention to detail, and we encourage you to reach out to a member of our team with any lingering concerns you might have. Guest satisfaction is hugely important to us, and we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back and to showcase our property at its more typical finest. Many thanks again for your stay and review; we hope to hear more from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    787
    305
    116
    54
See reviews for
419
656
144
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel with oriental flare. Rooms were very well appointed. Best night's sleep I ever had on a hotel bed. Very inexpensive restaurants nearby featuring great Sushi and Japanese fare. Great breakfast. However, lounge closes at 11:00 pm, so don't plan on a night cap. Very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckbianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to lend us such kind feedback. We're thrilled to to hear that a comfortable sleep in one of our beds set the stage for your enjoyable visit to the area, and we hope to be able to share much more of our city and services with you in your travels ahead. Please be sure to reach out the next time you're in the area; it would be a pleasure to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Accommodations, staff and service were excellent. The restaurant food was top notch.. Hotel location put us in walking distance of great shoping, restaurants, and entertainment. Starbucks and a neighborhood bakery made for nice walking stops! We had great food at the hotel and a wonderful dining experience at nearby Dosa (southern India) restaurant. Then to Yoshi's for dynamite entertainment. What a tremendous birthday weekend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
It's such a pleasure to share our site and services with you, and we're thrilled to hear that our location enabled you to experience some of the area's fantastic attractions. We hope to share much more of our services with you in travels to come, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you're in the San Francisco area. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was on the second leg of a cross country west coast trip. The week before I was in LA - so clearly when I got to the hotel on Monday I was already tired. I spent that weekend at another Joei De Vivre hotel in Sf called the Hotel Vitale - which is certainly upscale - and I was sure what was in store for me at the Kabuki. Well all I can say is that I was thoroughly delighted and really enjoyed my stay. The people at the front desk were gracious and helpful. I had laundry that needed to be done and they directed me to a place across the street - that did a slew of clothes for a very reasonable amount - they even dropped off the clothes to the service desk. As someone mentioned earlier the fitness center was a bit small - but the room was clean and quite and comfortable, The wireless worked really well. I would certainly come back and stay there again and plan to do so in a couple of weeks. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: I'm told that the rooms higher up and in the corner are better and they said that I should ask w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Harley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thanks such much for being a guest of our Joie de Vivre Hotels and for taking the time to reach out with your Hotel Kabuki experience. We're delighted to hear that each of our properties left a memorable impression on your West Coast explorations, and we'd love the opportunity to host you again and to showcase even more of our attentive hospitality. With continued renovations and upgrades pending, we're certain to impress you with our evolutionary offerings. Many thanks again for being our guest, and be sure to reach out the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Olivos
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for one night in October. The room was very comfortable. I loved the soaking tub. We stayed on the 12th floor with a good view of the city. 42 mph winds added to the excitement of the evening. We will stay here again when we need a hotel in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Hotel Kabuki and for taking the time to share such kind words of your stay, Cassandra. We're glad to have been able to offer you a relaxing and enjoyable visit, and we hope to hear much more from you soon. It would be a pleasure to introduce you to even more of our services and regional offerings, and we thank you again for choosing our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed during a conference at the moscone center, and enjoyed my stay. It was very convenient to take the limited (express) bus right at the hotel (38L) down to market street and then a 2 blocks walk to moscone center. The bus runs every 5 minutes.

As others have stated, the hotel features very nice bathrooms, and my room (conner room) was very spacious. Compared to other hotels in San Francisco this was a great deal at 195$ per night. Very friendly staff. On the downside: windows were dirty, the fitness center is very small and not well equipped, some parts look a bit worn.

I also enjoyed that it is in Japantown, many japanese and asian restaurants around the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get on the upper floors (9+), to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vierzwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We're so pleased to have been able to host your San Francisco stay, and we thank you for taking the time to lend us your feedback. As noted in your review, our property lends an unparalleled convenience when it comes to navigating our city, and our hospitality is simply second to none. That said, we do appreciate your concerns regarding housekeeping and maintenance, and we will surely pass these along to the team in an effort to tighten any shortcomings and to promote an improved return experience. We'd love to share more of our site and services with you soon, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you visit our area. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

From the check in to check out it was a great experience. The staff was awesome. The service was great and the atmosphere was superb. I will definitely use this hotel again if I am in the area. Great for business meetings, vacations and events.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
It's a pleasure to have had you as our guest, Jay, and thanks for taking the time to share your Hotel Kabuki experience. We certainly love welcoming newcomers to our property, and we're happy to hear that the visit exceeded your expectations from start to finish. We look forward to the prospect of hosting you again, and we encourage you to reach out the next time work or leisure returns you to our area. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#85 of 229 in San Francisco
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,630 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
4,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing