We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I lucked out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #74 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I lucked out”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I didn't pick the hotel, the conference did. And I was very happy with their choice for me. The room was modern, clean, comfortable, and large compared to some others I've stayed in in SF. I spent 3 nights, and it was all good. The restaurant was friendly, convenient, and the food was good when I didn't feel like going out, and the location was excellent when I wanted to venture out and enjoy Japantown's choices.

I chose to use Muni/BART to get around for this trip, and there was a bus close by to wherever I wanted to go. What's not to like?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank swc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
It's a pleasure to be able to lend our site and services to your travel, and whether you're with us for business or leisure, we aim to provide an incomparable experience. We're happy to have done this for you, and we thank you for taking the time to share such a thoughtful review of your experience with us. We'd love the opportunity to host you again and to introduce you to even more of our services and city. Please be sure to reach out the next time you're in the area; it would be a pleasure to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    777
    300
    110
    54
See reviews for
409
647
142
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
healdsburg
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

As always, my stay at the Kabuki was just fine. i have been staying at this establishment for over thirty years and have experienced the changes made during those years, but I continue to return when I have to come to San Francisco. The staff makes me feel as though I am "coming home"and I look forward to each time. I will continue to stay at Kabuki. Jesse Lexson and his front desk staff are simply a delight. Adrian was very supportive when I was going through a stressful time and I appreciated his concern. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faywho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We're honored to have been your loyal San Francisco destination for so long, and we thank you for taking the time to extend such warm words of your visits. As you noted, we strive to create an incomparable experience with each and every stay, and we're happy to hear that the hospitality of our team continues to leave a memorable impression on you. We look forward to sharing many more visits to come, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again in the near future. Many thanks again for your loyalty and advocacy; we're hugely appreciative to have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The staff were pleasant, the breakfast (not included) was fine. The location was fine, although you may wish to consider the bus rather than walking through the tenderloin to get to downtown.

The rooms are old and pretty jaded. Including tax, 1 room service meal and 2 items from room snacks my total came to just under $700 for 2 nights. This was the most overpriced hotel I have ever stayed in and certainly don't feel that it offered value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
While we're happy to have hosted your recent visit, and we thank you for your your review, we're sorry to hear that the experience of it fell short of the expectation. With continued upgrades in the works across our property and a variety of rooms available, we would love the opportunity to host you again and to showcase spaces that are sure to be better suited to your preferences. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team with any lingering concerns you might have. It would be a pleasure to speak with you and to have the opportunity to host you the next time you return to the San Francisco area. Many thanks again for being our guest and for lending us your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
1,242 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 750 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A joyful smile from Joe, the doorman, was a most promising greeting to Hotel Kabuki. Nearly ten years ago we enjoyed a wonderful experience there and regretted not staying in one of the traditional Japanese futon rooms. This time we had remedied the mistake.
Adrian at the front desk was fully delightful, helpful and thorough urging us to inspect the two Japanese rooms available and decide which would be best for us. Rather than the "best", we settled for the room which seemed somewhat less tattered. Nevertheless, the room was tattered. Wooden trim displaying years of marks and bruises. The zabutons were thread-bare and dark stained with ware. The room had an overall odor of too many guests and too few deep cleanings. Despite a genkan style room entry where we carefully removed shoes before stepping on the carpet, we found the maid scurrying about the entire room with shoes on.
The deep soaking tub room had a decomposing door from years and years of water damage. The electric sockets were only loosely affixed to the wall. Bumper for door handle was falling-off the wall.
The futons were densely compressed not soft and welcoming like futons that are aired and fluffed daily.
At nearly $300 a night, the Japanese sanctuary was sadly marred by years of neglect.
Indifferent service at the merely adequate, but hotel expensive, buffet breakfast was also bothersome. Restaurant staff could benefit from doorman or front desk examples.

Room Tip: Inspect the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
While it's a pleasure to have hosted your recent visit to San Francisco, we're sorry to hear that the experience of your stay was an inconsistent one. With ongoing upgrades in the works, we value your feedback regarding the maintenance of your respective room, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team as you plan return visits to the area. We'd love to host your next visit and to showcase our property at its more typical level of consistency and refinement. Many thanks again for reaching out; we hope to hear more from and to see more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel was fantasic, we have been to Japan before and its such a great little area. In the middle of Japan Town, close to the bus stop which heads into Union Square.
We stayed in a corner room with a balcony which is of a good size with a deep bath & great view from the balcony.
The restaurant/bar has happy hour from 5pm - Sapporo & sake, also try the tasteing platter, the pork belly skewers are the best.
Everyone is friendly & there are plenty of placed to eat out which is walking distance.
There is a small gym on site but it is limited & as well as you do receive a free pass to the Onsen off site only 1 block from the hotel.
Great little place & i would stay again

Room Tip: Corner suites are the way to go, alot of room, good view & balcony doors that open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank evesdroping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Kabuki and for lending such kind feedback of your visit. It's a pleasure to have been able to host your stay, and we're so happy to hear that our site and services left such a memorable impression on you. As you noted, there are so many great flavors to explore in our Izakaya Lounge, and we're proud to offer a level of hospitality within it and our property at large that's unmatched. We'd love to share even more of our services with you in travels to come, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you return to the region. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaca, Aragon, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The staff seemed friendly and helpful, and the rooms were quite nice, with lots of thought to design and detail, and large bathrooms, shower and separate loo. There was a nice coffee machine, with better coffee than most American hotels. There were lots of expensive tasty morsels readily available, and expensive bottled water. The starnge thing is that the use of space was poor. The fridge was locked. I suppose they would open it on request and would then know to charge you for fridge goodies. I prefer an empty fridge that I can fill myself, and see a locked fridge that I cant use as a waste of space in a fairly small room. There was very little room to put clothes and suitcases. The trade-off for the big bathroom. The hotel has an excellent gym on the garden level. Internet was sometimes erratic. If you like something different, the location surrounded by Japanese restaurants is quite cool. Lots of choice for Sushi. It looked a little rough across Geary Blvd, where there is a Safeway supermarket and a Starbucks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kengele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
It's a pleasure to have been able to host your recent stay in San Francisco, and we thank you for taking the time to share the experience with us. We're immensely proud of our outgoing team, and we're happy to hear that their services left such a favorable impression on your visit. We'd love to host you again soon and to showcase even more of our rooms and services, and we encourage you to reach out should you return to the area. Many thanks again for being our guest and for sharing your thoughtful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Kabuki in June 2013. Upon arrival, the staff were extremely friendly. We booked the club king room, which was located on a private floor. Upon entering the room, we were initially quite disappointed as the room did not look anything like the room we had booked online, it was much much smaller. On further inspection the room was not clean, the toilet had stains on it, the tabletops were sticky and there was rubbish under the bed. The location is awful too. If I were to return to San Francisco, I would not stay in Japantown. This area didn't feel safe and it's not convenient to the rest of the City.

Room Tip: If you book a club king room, make sure it's a club king room that you actually get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MArmDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KabukiHotelManager, Manager at Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to lend feedback of your stay. While we're happy to hear that our outgoing team made you feel welcomed, we apologize for any shortcomings with your respective room. What you've described is clearly outside the norm of our typical attention to detail, and we encourage you to reach out to a member of our team with any lingering concerns you might have. Guest satisfaction is hugely important to us, and we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back and to showcase our property at its more typical finest. Many thanks again for your stay and review; we hope to hear more from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
428 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Phoenix Hotel SF
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
912 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#100 of 228 in San Francisco
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing