We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina is fine with us”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #173 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Marina Inn for a week and it suited our needs to watch the Americas Cup and explore San Francisco perfectly. It is inexpensive accommodation in a great location. Just across from a pick up point for the double decker tourist bus, on the city bus route and within walking distance of the waterfront and down to Chestnut where there a loads of great eateries. Also EXCELLENT cafe just up on Lombard for a great brunch.
The staff at the Marina are friendly and very helpful, it is clean, the room was large with a huge bed and we were very comfortable. Breakfast was simple, boiled eggs, yogourt pottles, toast, bananas, tea coffee and fruit juice - cant complain about that when it's free.
Thanks for the stay Marina. We'd happily come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Me and my friend chose to stay at the Marina Inn since it was mid range priced and was relatively in a good location.
After we check in- the room looks ok (although small) its ok.

Later that night we go to turn the bed down so we can turn in and we find blood on the sheets! Not a little bit of blood- but stains in multiple places!

I immediately called the front desk and asked to change rooms -he said unfortunately they were fully booked so I was not able to switch. He came up 15 minutes later with new sheets and changed them. After he left I inspected the bed and there was another stain on the new bedsheets!! I covered the stain with a towel (hope that was laundered too!sheesh!) and checked out a day early. The woman at the front desk the following morning was not very friendly.

I would think twice about booking this hotel. We pricelined that night and booked the Sheraton for $180- right next to the wharf. Wish I would have done that to begin with instead of trying to save a few bucks.

Room Tip: Check the sheets EARLY when you check in- otherwise you risk something gross being found and no empt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinaNYC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is not bad, but you get few for what you pay. Breakfast is minimal, and the rooms are noisy, but are clean and relatively spacious. The location is excellent too, and personnel is friendly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kurt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you can get a hotel in this area, do it! Great location close to Muni cable car, fun night life just around the corner, great shops and restaurants.

This place had people in and out always---it must be for the location, cause oh man, this place is all sorts of yucky. I checked the beds for bed bugs cause I was so skeeved by the place. Too bad--if they just put in a little money to renovate, it would be a great hotel.

Even the carpeting in the elevator was nasty. Our room faced Lombard Street. The hotel had no A/C and so we had to open the window for air. That wouldn't be so bad except the street noise is SO LOUD. They have these old rickety windows that you can fall out of by the way they open. No screens. So basically it was not sleeping because of the heat or the noise.

Bathroom was gross. My 6'3" companion that I went with couldn't fit in the shower. The shower head was literally right above my 5'2" frame so prepare for an uncomfy shower. All bathroom amenities are old and outdated. The tiles were falling off and revealed mold YUCK.

Breakfast is a JOKE. White bread, gross yogurt. That's all. Really crappy coffee. We ended up walking to Union St. for breakfast each morning.

Stay here for the location if you are desperate. Ours was a very last minute trip (as in booked in just a few days before we went) but otherwise it's just a place to sleep in, not to relax in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place is a sham. Do not stay here. They dont have their own parking so you have to park on the street which is difficult at best. The closest parking garage is 3 blocks away and cost $22 a day. The room is crappy. No air conditioning and the windows have no screens. Street noise is very loud. The entire place shows its age and lack of basic maintenence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tncple2pla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Room was uncomfortably hot the day we stayed and no air conditioning. No fans available. Mattress was stained and dirty as was the chair in the room. Very noisy from traffic off Lombard - although our windows faced the street - so other rooms may be quieter. Breakfast was limited - jam was in a communal jar with butter mixed in from people using their knives in both. Unfortunately poor service at the front desk - staff seemed irritated when asking questions about parking and services. Would not stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmc0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent a week in San Francisco for the America’s Cup and stayed at the Marina Inn. The rate was decent and it was within walking distance to Marina Green, aka America Cup Park. This is an older hotel but it is located in a nice area with a number of restaurants nearby. Our room was a nice size and had a big bay window with a window seat. The hotel is on the corner of Lombard and Octavia, Lombard is a heavy traffic street. We were on the second floor over the front entrance and our windows faced the street. When people stood outside the building smoking or came in late at night their talking or laughing carried up through our windows. We also had early morning traffic noise. The bathroom was very small, fortunately the sink was outside the bathroom. The faucet handles on both the sink and shower needed maintenance. It was difficult to get the sink faucet shut off and difficult to get the shower water started. The bath towels were small and very thin. We had a king sized bed that was comfortable and lights on both sides for reading. Our room appeared clean but the bed cover and window seat were stained, as were 2 wing chairs in the sitting area outside our room. Upgrades and maintenance needed.

Breakfast was included but was served in a very small room. There were only 4 small tables with 2 chairs each, not nearly enough to accomodate hotel guests. There was not room to maneuver to get your food, then no place to sit and eat. Breakfast consisted of white bread, butter & jelly, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bananas or apples, juice and coffee or tea.

The hotel offered free wifi and we were told there was a router on each floor so we would have no problem getting a good connection in our room. The connection was terrible or non existent. If we could get a connection it would not hold. People were always standing out in the hall above the front desk to get connected, which was also right outside our room. My best connection was standing at the front desk. When I brought this up to the desk clerk, he said ‘maybe we need to get new routers’. But it didn’t improve all week. We had counted on being able to go online to check out attractions, book tours and buy tickets but we weren’t able to do that.

Front desk staff were pleasant and will book airport transfers or arrange for a rental car for you. Despite some of the problems, it was an economical alternative to most hotels in San Francisco and was a block walk to catch buses on Chestnut.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Changitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
421 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#195 of 230 in San Francisco
65 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#158 of 230 in San Francisco
472 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#157 of 230 in San Francisco
248 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#174 of 230 in San Francisco
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Address: 3110 Octavia St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3009
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £54 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing