We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #181 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just perfect for the traveler on a budget. Not the Fairmont that's for sure but the Marina Inn is clean, quiet and comfortable. Good location, helpful staff, well appointed rooms. The walls are a bit thin but I was informed that this issue is being addressed. Otherwise it was a perfect stay. Thank you Marina Inn looking forward to being your guest again very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay window. But if you want something quieter, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satorotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    152
    151
    68
    59
See reviews for
47
231
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Irwin, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

In order to give a hotel 5 stars, I only need 3 things. 1) Safe neighborhood: I felt entirely comfortable staying in the neighborhood that the Marina Inn is located in. 2) Clean: Although the building is old, and it has a fairly strong "frebreezed" odor when you first walk into the room, it was clean and I felt comfortable staying in our room. 3) Convenient location: my husband and I walked everywhere during our stay in San Francisco. This hotel was 100% perfect in those areas.

Now, if you are a pickier person, read on. If you have fairly simple demands (like myself) then that's all you need to know.
-The shower was extremely short. It was perfect for me (I'm 5'3") but my poor 6' husband had a difficult time with the shower head being so low.
-Whenever we used the fan in the bathroom, it sounded like a small helicopter was landing on the rooftop. (again, the building is pretty old)
-The wifi had some issues, but honestly, we were there to see the sights...not to sit in a hotel on the computer so I wasn't bothered by this.
-There is quite a bit of noise at night from the traffic on Lombard street. I didn't think it was too bad, but it may bother some travelers.
-The breakfast was very basic, but it did its job!
-The staff were all very friendly and made us feel welcome.
-The beds were comfortable for hotel beds.

TL;DR - If we ever come back to San Francisco, we would definitely stay here again. You probably won't find a hotel this nice for the price in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kiela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First of all, there is no place where you can even stop to unload the luggage and some neighbours are quite aggressive if you want to stop i their driveway for a minute to unload... The reception was friendly and helpful, the room was small, shabby, there was just enough space to walk around the bed. No fridge, windows without curtains to 2 sides towards a dirty backyard.

Room Tip: Ask for fridge and check the room thoroughly before moving in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great situation, very kind staff. the room are a little bit old fashioned but very confortable though! Very nice price too! Good value for money. I loved the fact that I only had to walk for only a couple of minutes to reach the seashore and the touristic wharf!
I highly recommend it!

Pat

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Marina Inn for 3 nights in March. We were travelling with our 7 year old so we booked a triple room. We arrived in the morning and went to the hotel to leave our bags there, but the room was available, which was a pleasant surprise so we checked right in. The gentleman at the front desk was exceptionally helpful and friendly and really welcomed us to the hotel. It certainly has more of a bed and breakfast feel to it.
There is a simple complimentary breakfast, which started us off with juice, toast and fruit everyday.
The room was VERY clean. I have no complaints about the cleanliness of the room. The sheets were fresh and although the towels were thin, they were clean, along with the bathroom. The price we paid for this was great value. It is in a great location - with restaurants, and transportation options nearby. There is a famous California Mel's Diner nearby and the Inn is walking distance to the harbour, and and the famous Lombard Street. We walked from the hotel through Crissy Field to the Warming Station at the Golden Gate bridge and back in an afternoon.
The walls are thin, and were were woken once by a fellow guest playing music loudly. The front desk staff took this seriously though and it stopped very quickly.
All in all, a good stay. We don't expect the Ritz when we pay the price we did, and we were pleasantly surprised. The decor is dated and the carpets are old, but if you are like us and just need a clean room to rest your weary tourist head at night, with friendly and helpful service, this might be a good bet for you.

Room Tip: They offer an airport shuttle for $15 a person, which is a great deal. Book it the day before you le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank randomhotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Marina Inn and was pleasantly surprised. The room was very comfortable and clean. The location is good, close to food, the water and a nice park with views, away from the hustle and bustle. Wifi was a bit slow and breakfast was VERY basic so don't expect much in that regard. Would recommend a stay there though.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoniqueElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was admittedly hesitant about booking this place because of some awful reviews I read, none of which proved to be true during our stay. The room was beautiful! It was clean, nice sized, clean bathroom, beautiful window, giant mirror. The staff were nice and helpful. The breakfast was simple but perfect, however, I would encourage going as early as you can, since it is a very tiny room with very limited seating. I have no complaints, the location is PERFECT and safe and right next to many bus stops. We loved our stay here, it was a decent price too, would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#149 of 228 in San Francisco
456 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#144 of 228 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
487 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
150 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#121 of 228 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Property: Marina Inn
Address: 3110 Octavia St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3009
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing