We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel on the Embarcadero”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We typically stay in the Union Square area when visiting SF, but after reading some bad reviews of my long-ago go-to hotel, decided to try something new.

The Hotel Griffon is right on the Embarcadero, a half-block or so from the ferry terminal (though the main entrance is on Steuart St). The lobby is small, and the whole hotel is somewhat narrow, but is nicely appointed. We were upgraded from a premium room to a Junior Suite, and while I still object to the nomenclature of sticking a couch and a desk in a room and calling it a suite, we were happy for the upgrade.

This upgrade made the room very spacious by SF hotel standards, with a desk, full-sized couch and armchair, and coffee table for day use. There was also a balcony out over the light well / inner courtyard, but as it was early November, it was really too cold to use.

One drawback of the room was that the bathroom was small, and the tub quite shallow, but that is the only real complaint. It would have been nice to have a view of the bay, but the larger room made up for that lack.

The staff was very polite, though we did not need to rely on them for much, as we were out and about.

The bottom line is that we really liked both the general location and the hotel in particular, and we'll likely stay there again on a future visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnetwerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon and we are so pleased that you gave us an opportunity to provide accommodations over your previous Union Square property. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location near the Ferry Building, our polite staff and well appointed rooms. We look forward to your return visit, which we hope is soon.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had this hotel recommended to me by a colleague. Its location is perfect - right near the Bay Bridge on the Embarcadero and only about 15 minutes walk from the sea lions at Pier 39. Rooms are small but well equipped, staff very friendly and helpful, and the bar downstairs is great too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qprfact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your kind comments. We are so pleased that our great location along the Embarcadero Waterfront enhanced your visit to San Francisco and that you enjoyed our well equipped rooms and friendly, helpful staff. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nothing can beat the location..it is close to Pier 14 near ferry building on embarcadero..found it difficult to locate the entrace..the entrance is through Steuart street..SFO is expensive and the rooms are very small..if you have too much luggage, you may not find place to keep them..elevators are slow..Breakfast is not complimentary and you need to have it from Perrys near the lobby..

Room Tip: the bay facing rooms will be awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwinakamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I've stayed at the Griffon a number of times. Rooms are spotless and well appointed. Service is excellent. What draws us back is location, free parking for hybrids and free Internet. The last two stays were a disappointment.

We'd booked a Queen Room but the bed in Room 211 was clearly not a queen-size bed. Not only that, the bed was saggy and uncomfortable. It was a bad sleep for both of us. Sadly, I'm not sure we'll return.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 211.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starbritest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon and for sharing your comments. Feedback such as yours helps us improve our product and services to better serve our guests needs. I am very sorry to hear of your issues with your bed especially as it effected your sleep quality. Although we do not have any double beds in the hotel, only queen and king sized beds, it appears your mattress was not up to par and we will take steps to address this issue immediately. We sincerely hope that you will afford us a chance to show you that your last experience is not indicative or our desire and goal to provide every guest with an exceptional stay. I encourage you to reach out to myself when you return to the city. Until then, we wish you well.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having traveled to the sparkling city of San Francisco dozens of times throughout my life, Hotel Griffon was something I had yet to experience. Due to a special event that entailed the company of a handful of close friends, I found myself once again in the city and this hotel did not disappoint. Quaint, charming and stylish... the waterfront, downtown location make Hotel Griffon a prime spot in which to stay. Best of all was the accommodating staff. Matt, one of the attendant's at the hotel, was friendly and helpful from the moment our group arrived. Without asking he utilized his knowledge of the city by offering to set us up with transportation and multiple dinner options. At one point in the evening he even ran out and grabbed a can of hair spray at a nearby drugstore, after a member of our group humbly called the front desk to inquire whether the hotel had any on hand. Service to that extent is truly rare, and requires honorable attention in my opinion. Due of the dedication of the staff at Hotel Griffon, I promptly made plans to stay at this hotel again for the future celebration of my significant other's birthday. I made my reservations through Matt and once more, he effortlessly took the reigns in setting up dinner and other special reservations in order to make our experience truly memorable. The perfection to detail in regards to ensuring each guest receives the utmost care coupled with a spectacular view, trendy yet comfortable ambiance, and upbeat positivity from all those who contribute to the functionality of this fabulous hotspot- from the front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant waitstaff conjoined next door- make Hotel Griffon a vacation destination not to be forgotten.

Room Tip: Waterfront or street-side you can't go wrong. Both offer either a spectacular sky view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Christina L.,
We appreciate having had the opportunity to serve you during your recent visit to San Francisco. Thank you for the positive comments. Our staff strives to provide personalized service with the goal of achieving an exceptional experience for every guest. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodating and friendly staff, especially Matt, Perry's restaurant and the magnificent waterfront views your room afforded. We sincerely appreciate your choice to return to the Hotel Griffon to celebrate your significant other's birthday and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you once again.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I would stay there again.

Pros:
Cute, historic charm. It was a good room rate for the area. I was able to walk to Ferry terminal and meetings I was attending. Everything appeared very clean. Room service was exceedingly prompt. My second dinner came up 10 minutes after I ordered it.
I was impressed with the front desk staff.

I liked having a small room, it was very easy to get around.
The sink and mirror are in the room (instead of the toilet/bath) and has good counter space. I was able to adjust the room temperature to suite my desires.

Cons:
I was on the foruth floor and could occassionally hear floor creeks from the room above.

The free, rate limited, internet was good enough for me to do email, websurfing, etc., but I wasn't trying high speed streaming. They charge extra for high rate internet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonQuilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGRhotelGriffon, General Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and for your feedback. Comments such as yours help us improve our product and services to better serve our guests. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the convenient location of our hotel near the Ferry terminal as well as our clean and comfortable rooms and friendly staff enhanced your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again when travels return you to San Francisco.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Hotel Griffon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were gifted a night at the Hotel Griffon in SanFrancisco. The facility was beautifully decorated from the lobby and elevator to the guest rooms. Our room had two levels with a spectacular view of the Bay Bridge. When it got dark, we were mesmerized by the light show on the bridge which was in full view from our room on the third floor. We had dinner and breakfast in the on site restaurant, a little pricey but good with excellent service. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Though not a large hotel, they seem to know how to care for their patrons to make them feel special and pampered. Being just across the street from the waterfront was also a plus.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor on the waterfront side-best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#40 of 230 in San Francisco
1,354 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
385 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £128 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Griffon invites you to experience what was voted "Best Boutique Hotel" and "Best 24 Hour Getaway" by San Francisco Magazine. Situated along San Francisco's stylish Embarcadero waterfront, our certified green hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers who seek a pleasant and charming alternative to the chain hotel. Indulge in an appealing San Francisco boutique hotel inspired by European sensibility and enjoy exceptional amenities that include well-appointed guestrooms and luxury suites, delectable on site dining at Perry's on the Embarcadero, and distinguished meeting space for business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing