We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #21 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Good hotel stay - rooms are quite nice and up to date. Hotel has a lot of character to it. Very centrally located in S.F. Close to restaurants and was only a 20-25 min walk to either the ball park or Pier 39. Hotel was good value for the money. Parking was expensive but not much you can do about that as parking seems to be expensive everywhere in the city. Unfortunately our room had a view of the back alley fire escape, but the room itself was nice. The restaurant downstairs (Perry's) was pretty good. It served a decent continental breakfast. Has a nice view of the Embarcadero. Hotel also provided complimentary internet usage. One negative is that the bellhop service was a somewhat chaotic. Eventually had to go downstairs and bring my own bags up to the room as I was tired of waiting. Overall, it was a good stay

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZigZag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2009

This is a nice hotel with a boutique style. My wife and I got a top room with a view of the bay and the Bay Bridge. The room was very nice and clean. The location was great because it is right on the water (The Embarcadero) which allowed us to walk the water front one day, catch the ferry, and then walk to Union Square the next day. Some part of the hotel was under some renovation at the time, but I could tell they were doing some very nice things to make the place even better. Also, there is a nice restaurant downstairs where we would get a nice breakfast before starting are walking tour around the city. I would recommend to anyone looking for a nice place to stay with personal service.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank So-Cal-Sulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Years ago, my partner and I stayed here during our wedding weekend. We loved it. So, in a return trip to SF for work, we stayed there. I think if we had gotten a bigger room and not gone for the great discount we may not have been so disappointed. But, basically, we got woken up at 4 AM by loud revelers (coming up from the bar to their room), the parking is still outrageous ($44/night), the staff always seemed overwhelmed, etc. Our small room was always too hot (nothing they could do, just bad design: a heat lamp in the bathroom was the only adequate light, the window didn't open), and the blankets were always slipping off the bed. So, despite the large flat screen, fridge in room, nice toiletries, decent shower, etc. I don't think we'll stay here again. Too many other options in SF to warrant it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I have stayed at the Griffon on several occasions and have always had a pleasant experience. The greatest asset of the hotel is it's location. You are right next to the Embarcadero and can easily walk to the Ferry building and several great restaurants and bars in the area. Perry's, located right inside the Griffon, is an attraction itself. When I leave the hotel in the evening I often find a line of people waiting to be seated. I have only had breakfast and happy hour at Perry's, but I'm looking forward to eating there sometime.

The service at the hotel has been very good every time I've stayed. The rooms are not the biggest, but they are fine for my purposes, and tastefully decorated with a flat screen t.v. I have stayed in a suite once, and that was very nice.

Overall, this is a great hotel for the price and will provide a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC00K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

I took my girlfriend in to the city for a quiet 4 day weekend to celebrate by return to the Bay Area from 10 years in the Army. A friend hooked me up with the Griffon, and it was the perfect place to stay. It had been a long time since I spent any time in SF and I remembered that neighborhood as being baron and not so fun. Turns out that the Griffon is in the center of a rebuilt hot-spot on the eastern side of the city. Quick walk to the ball park, nightlife and down town. The Hotel it self is small and not very assuming, but what it lacks in size it make up for in comfort and design. The rooms are small (as most city hotels are), but it was excellently designed and functional. Exposed brick and a great layout made it feel like I was in a much larger room. My stay was extremely comfortable and quiet and the staff went out of there way to point out cool places to visit in the area. Now that I live in DC, and travel to NY on business frequently, I stay in tones of boutique hotels. Few of the ones I've stayed in had the comfort and the quality that I had at the Griffon.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunslinger42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We were very pleased with our stay at the Hotel Griffon. The property and neighborhood were charming. They call the area Restaurant Row because of the many top rated restaurants nearby. I do not know why they settled for Perry's - YUCK!!! Cheap food as well as cheap service. They say, "You get what you paid for." The hotel in itself was as elegant as the pictures are shown in their websites. The front desk staff was amazingly attentive. I returned late during my nights out on the weekends and still was greeted by the most friendliest night staff, Phillip.
I highly recommend the hotel but unfortunately do not recommend the CHEAP restaurant. Breakfast service was horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgreattraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We had a wonderfully modern room with a flat screen TV. Staff was great, great bar and resturant downstairs. The location is really close to downtown SF and all attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogdenrugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
1,370 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,245 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
2,892 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £138 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Griffon invites you to experience what was voted "Best Boutique Hotel" and "Best 24 Hour Getaway" by San Francisco Magazine. Situated along San Francisco's stylish Embarcadero waterfront, our certified green hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers who seek a pleasant and charming alternative to the chain hotel. Indulge in an appealing San Francisco boutique hotel inspired by European sensibility and enjoy exceptional amenities that include well-appointed guestrooms and luxury suites, delectable on site dining at Perry's on the Embarcadero, and distinguished meeting space for business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing