We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #19 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I only stayed one night here, but would return anytime. Location was a perfect walk from Chinatown, the rooms were absolutely georgous with great toiletries,but the service was the BEST. The staff were really helpful and even allowed me to store my 5 bags there when I went to Sausalito for the weekend. I could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyagerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had a December wedding across the street. Our guests raved about their stay and they worked with us to make the planning very simple. Booking for our guests were very easy. The rooms were a very nice backdrop for our wedding photos. The staff worked with on every aspect of our planning any special details were followed through. All gift baskets were delivered to the appropriate guest. Not a single mix up.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Griffon Sept 25-28. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the MUNI/Bart station so we accessed it easily after landing at SFO Airport. It is a few steps away from the Ferry Building and one of the last stops along the F cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf. Location was fantastic if you are not planning to rent a vehicle.

The hotel was quaint but the rooms were satisfactory for the two of us. Hotel provides tea/coffee in the mornings and water throughout the day ++.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again due to it's convient location. It is not as hustle and bustle as fisherman's wharf but close enough to public transportation to access tourist locations (Union Square, Chinatown, Wharf etc.).

One minor glitch was that our keycards did not work after the first night as the hotel thought we were only staying for one night, but this was rectified quickly after visiting the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FujiSyuuske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The Griffon is in a great location near the Ferry Building and within walking of plenty of shopping and plenty of bus and trolley stops. Staff are friendly and efficient. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, although some are very small indeed, but if you are only sleeping in them it's not a big deal. Handy sports bar/bistro on the ground floor. A good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Impressive lobby - elegant and subtle; adequate restaurant off lobby with tremendous, outdoor seating weather permitting. Small, dark rooms with somewhat worn fixtures and furniture; average but clean, small bathrooms. Maid service arrived at 4:30 p.m., when we had dinner reservations at 7. When we complained, one woman at front desk expressed sympathy, while the other appeared frightened. An odd reaction. All in all, however, the excellent location - financial district, port authority, public transport, etc., make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rehamilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGRhotelGriffon, Manager at Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for comments regarding the Hotel Griffon and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in San Francisco. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of late housekeeping service and any impact this may have had on your dinner plans; your feedback has been shared with our Director of Housekeeping . We are an elegant boutique hotel- a San Francisco original since 1906. Our hotel partners with a very experienced hotel designer, and the design integrates a warm color scheme to blend in with the brick heritage of our waterfront building. It is our intent to produce a look is that unique and inviting, as well as to provide a space in the city that represents the comforts of home with the exceptional service you expect. Should you visit San Francisco, we’d love to host you again.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Hotel Griffon Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

You will be amazed and overwhelmed by the Hotel Griffon from the moment you set eyes on the hotel. Walk thru the front door and you are greeted by a very friendly staff, Kevin and team are very welcoming and only enhance the enviroment. The check-in is easy and seemless as can be. The entire staff from the front desk to room service was more than friendly and welcoming. Attached to the hotel is Perry's Restraunt, what a surprise, typically the hotel restraunt does not impress me, Perry's was amazing, an awesome dining experience and very reasonable, not priced to guage the hotel guest. You know its a great place to eat when the locals are dining. Lindsey and the rest of the bar staff provided the best service I have had in ages. Well done Hotel Griffon and Perry's staff. Thanks again for a wonderful stay,

Rodney & John

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BullTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Griffon on the 5th of July. After spending a week with family in the bay area we were looking forward to a stay in the hotel. Majorie was working at the front desk. She was kind and extremely welcoming. She went out of her way to give us directions and tips in the area. Our room was nicely appointed with a great view of the bridge. It was spectacular to look at night when the bridge was lit up. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilove2travel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#40 of 230 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
403 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,882 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £126 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Griffon invites you to experience what was voted "Best Boutique Hotel" and "Best 24 Hour Getaway" by San Francisco Magazine. Situated along San Francisco's stylish Embarcadero waterfront, our certified green hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers who seek a pleasant and charming alternative to the chain hotel. Indulge in an appealing San Francisco boutique hotel inspired by European sensibility and enjoy exceptional amenities that include well-appointed guestrooms and luxury suites, delectable on site dining at Perry's on the Embarcadero, and distinguished meeting space for business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing