We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #21 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 December 2010

great location, wonderful staff, small European style property.
This hotel offers lovely rooms, some with great views of the bay, a friendly staff that always welcomes you back and works very hard to make sure every need is taken care of for you. as a business traveler most of my life is is nice to find a small quality property and avoivd the hassles of a "chain hotel'.
Will always look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revluc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

Waking to the chimes of the Ferry Building clock. . .watching the setting sun reflect off the Oakland shore line and the twinkle of the lights on the bridge at night . . . simply spectacular! But location isn't the only plus for the charming Hotel Griffin. An excellent staff and beautiful accommodations rounded out the perfections.Thanks to Janel Banres for the recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan92660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I stayed here Nov 13-16. I booked the "bed & breakfast" package - which gives you a $40 credit in the restaurant every day of your stay - and you can use it at anytime (easily covers 2 meals). The comfort food menu offers lots of choices and everything I had was very good. Enjoying dinner on the outdoor patio on the water overlooking the lights of the Bay Bridge was spectacular. Hotel staff were helpful with maps, tour suggests and coordinating transportation to the airport. Customer service was outstanding. I stayed in a Non-view queen bed room - it was not as small as some the reviews lead me to believe. There is a small desk and chair .. with free internet hookup. The bathroom sink was in the room rather than with the tub and toilet. They drop off chocolates with their turn down service. There is a small safe (large enough for a notebook) and umbrella for your use. The room was very clean. The location is good too ... a safe neighbourhood within walking distance to many attractions and streetcar. Next time I visit SF, I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrockvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

When arriving to the hotel I first noticed its delightful charm from the outside of the building, when entering the remodeled and updated contemporary lobby we were greeted right away by the hotel staff Olivia, and another gentleman(forgot his name) but both were very helpful and welcoming! The parking for us was a breeze, we were able to utilize the parking meters right out front on the hotel, and I believe it is free parking on the weekends, which was great. We reserved a standard room which was a bit small, but you have to keep in mind the old layout of boutique style hotels the rooms will be smaller, but by no means was it lacking. The room was clean and cozy, a great fit for us. I love the fact this hotel is environmentally friendly, and had many green features within the hotel. Perry’s Restaurant has a full breakfast, lunch and dinner menu with a bar, attached directly next door to the Hotel Griffon, which was tasty. The view of the Oakland Bridge is absolutely beautiful from the 2nd floor window (a great photo op). The location is off the beaten path of all the hustle and bustle of other busy areas of the city, but is right around the corner form the embarcadero and not far from Fisherman’s Warf. Overall we loved our stay at Hotel Griffon, and will stay again in the future! FYI check the weather report before you leave. People assume the weather will be chilly, but we were pleasantly surprised with record breaking 75-80 degree weather in November!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapeetrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Lovely little hotel - rooms are small but very cosy. No view - only a brick wall which was a bit disappointing. Decent nights sleep - however we could hear the noise from the bar and were woken on 2 nights around 2am by people shouting in the corridor - but if there is a bar on the premises I suppose it can only be expected. Good location if you like walking - perfect for popping over to the Ferry Building for morning coffee and a muffin!

The only downside was that I did not get my security deposit back until I returned to the UK - this was 1 week and 1 day after leaving the hotel. I had phoned and was told it would only be 3/4 business days, however this was not the case. Just make sure that if you are booking into this hotel, you have plenty of money and that you are not relying on the deposit to be credited back to your card quickly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen_h_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I only stayed one night here, but would return anytime. Location was a perfect walk from Chinatown, the rooms were absolutely georgous with great toiletries,but the service was the BEST. The staff were really helpful and even allowed me to store my 5 bags there when I went to Sausalito for the weekend. I could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyagerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had a December wedding across the street. Our guests raved about their stay and they worked with us to make the planning very simple. Booking for our guests were very easy. The rooms were a very nice backdrop for our wedding photos. The staff worked with on every aspect of our planning any special details were followed through. All gift baskets were delivered to the appropriate guest. Not a single mix up.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
1,337 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4,542 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £139 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Griffon invites you to experience what was voted "Best Boutique Hotel" and "Best 24 Hour Getaway" by San Francisco Magazine. Situated along San Francisco's stylish Embarcadero waterfront, our certified green hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers who seek a pleasant and charming alternative to the chain hotel. Indulge in an appealing San Francisco boutique hotel inspired by European sensibility and enjoy exceptional amenities that include well-appointed guestrooms and luxury suites, delectable on site dining at Perry's on the Embarcadero, and distinguished meeting space for business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing