We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in San Francisco”
Review of Hotel Griffon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Griffon
Ranked #27 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Ramon, California
1 review
“Best Hotel in San Francisco”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I’ve stayed here a dozen times this year and highly recommend it! The location is ideal and the staff are wonderful from the minute you get out of your car to check out. This old quaint San Francisco Hotel is historic & cozy, but offers all the latest amenities one could want, from high speed internet to flat screen TV’s, etc….I’ve had rooms with beautiful views of the Bay Bridge & the Ferry building or ones with spacious outside decks. If you have business in the City or just want to enjoy a weekend in San Francisco…..the Hotel Griffon is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfregoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    243
    78
    28
    19
See reviews for
75
369
62
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, california
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I have now stayed at the Hotel Griffon four times and each time I am more amazed at the hotel and the service of the employees. I was most recently there to attend a conference with my law firm colleagues and I chose the Hotel Griffon over many other landmark hotels because of its proximity to both the Financial District and AT&T Park (where the Giants were busy winning the World Series!).

My room overlooked the San Francisco Bay and was just spectacular. Very clean and neat and had everything I needed. The staff was extremely accomodating, including finding me a cell phone charger after I lost my own. I was even given access to a wonderful Board room that allowed me to get work done while waiting to meet colleagues at the equally magnificent Perry's restaurant downstairs.

I love that it is so close to everything but still has a small boutique hotel feel. The restaurant is really an added plus but mainly I just can't say enough about the service. Everyone was so friendly and made me really appreciate San Francisco in general.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues. It really has everything I could have asked for.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericsteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I don't often take time to write a review but my family and I had an amazing stay at the Griffon. This is a charming top drawer hotel. I travel extensively around the world for business and liesure and know the subtleties that make a difference between a 4 star and 5 star experience. The staff were extremely helpful but not annoying, the rooms where reasonable size with high ceilings, amazing views of the bay. Location was prefect for business or leisure. Near down town, but right near Marina. The day for the family included a bike ride along the marina, pier 39, a ride to golden gate bridge, hot fudge sundays at Ghirardelli Square then an evening play within walking distance of the Hotel. Before check out the next morning I walked to Coit Tower too! Awesome time, thank you for the FIve Star experience Hotel Griffin!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocchipinti007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Stayed at property while in area on business. Room was sent up nicely with plenty of space at the desk area and wireless internet to due my work. Beds were very comfy and it was quiet all night for a good night sleep. Property is very eco-friendly right down to the bath room amenities (love the soap with the hole in the middle). I travel and stay at various hotels on the west coast twice a month and would recommend this hotel as one of the best. The staff is wonderful, friendly and very helpful with any needs, and the turn down service is a nice touch. This is my go to hotel for the Bay area and my "Home away from Home".

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midget104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

great location, wonderful staff, small European style property.
This hotel offers lovely rooms, some with great views of the bay, a friendly staff that always welcomes you back and works very hard to make sure every need is taken care of for you. as a business traveler most of my life is is nice to find a small quality property and avoivd the hassles of a "chain hotel'.
Will always look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revluc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Waking to the chimes of the Ferry Building clock. . .watching the setting sun reflect off the Oakland shore line and the twinkle of the lights on the bridge at night . . . simply spectacular! But location isn't the only plus for the charming Hotel Griffin. An excellent staff and beautiful accommodations rounded out the perfections.Thanks to Janel Banres for the recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan92660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I stayed here Nov 13-16. I booked the "bed & breakfast" package - which gives you a $40 credit in the restaurant every day of your stay - and you can use it at anytime (easily covers 2 meals). The comfort food menu offers lots of choices and everything I had was very good. Enjoying dinner on the outdoor patio on the water overlooking the lights of the Bay Bridge was spectacular. Hotel staff were helpful with maps, tour suggests and coordinating transportation to the airport. Customer service was outstanding. I stayed in a Non-view queen bed room - it was not as small as some the reviews lead me to believe. There is a small desk and chair .. with free internet hookup. The bathroom sink was in the room rather than with the tub and toilet. They drop off chocolates with their turn down service. There is a small safe (large enough for a notebook) and umbrella for your use. The room was very clean. The location is good too ... a safe neighbourhood within walking distance to many attractions and streetcar. Next time I visit SF, I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrockvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#52 of 228 in San Francisco
1,273 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#57 of 228 in San Francisco
4,259 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,427 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon

Property: Hotel Griffon
Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Griffon, located on San Francisco's Embarcadero waterfront is just steps from the Ferry Building and Financial District and provides spectacular views of the San Francisco Bay Bridge in may of the rooms. With complimentary WiFi, a car service to downtown and on-site restaurant,the Hotel Griffon is the perfect boutique hotel for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Griffon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing