We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in a fun city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great find in a fun city”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It was my first trip to San Francisco and this place was a treat! It's a short bus ride from Fisherman's Wharf, but there's plenty to do just by walking around the neighborhood. This location is easily accessible to the 101 as well as lot of opportunities to catch public transportation. Our host, Marty, was quick to make suggestions for dining and sightseeing, as well expressing a genuine interest regarding our adventures in the city. We felt welcomed and comfortable.

PLUSES:
Be sure to spend a little quiet time in the garden, as well as checking out the rooftop terrace...you get a phenomenally beautiful panoramic view of the city!

MINUSES:
I didn't sleep as well as I would have liked to, but that's part of a country girl being in a big city! The inn's website clearly states whether or not the room gets some street noise so if you're a light sleeper, be sure to book in advance for an interior room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineBooksWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    68
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
69
209
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were really pleased with Inn San Francisco. Our room was small (which we knew upon making the reservation) but there were many perks to this historic hotel: 1) beautiful outdoor hottub to ease our stiff legs after walking up and down the hills of San Fran; 2) rooftop patio with a spectacular view; 3) character and charm; 4) close to great restaurants (Flour & Water, Mission Chinese, Delfina); and 5) a really tasty breakfast (fresh fruit, torta...etc). All in all, this is a great find.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patiofiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We arrived on Monday evening and were greeted warmly by Marty, the innkeeper who gave us a short tour and history of the place. He helped us find a wonderful place for dinner and offered to call us a cab. We had dinner with friends and when we came back late, Marty was still there and welcomed us home :) The Staff was great and even when there was a problem with the hot water, they fixed it asap and apologized profusely.

The breakfast was great and the other guests were a delight. The gorgeous room was so authentic, we felt transported back in time.

Finally, after a wonderful 3 days here, we had one last day to explore SF and get to the airport by 6pm. They offered to let us leave our bags while we toured and when we came to pick them up, Marty gave us a ride to the Bart station. An unexpected and welcome thing since we'd pretty much exhausted ourselves that day! All in all a delightful Inn and wonderful hospitality. We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed there a few years ago my wife. Host is very friendly and helpful. Love their breakfast. The room we stayed has a jacuzzi which is great. It is such a relaxing place that my wife and I enjoyed. It is hard to find this kind of gem in San Francisco. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

From the moment we arrived we were treated by a warm and very friendly staff. The rooms and inn are immaculate with loads of Victorian character and charm. Great breakfast too. Attention to detail throughout the inn. I loved the classical music and garden jacuzzi. I brought my mother who grew up in SF and my two teens and found my mother enjoying the nostalgia of the place. My teens loved it equally as much. We will definitely return and highly recommend Inn San Francisco to all travelers. Bravo to Marty and his staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

To stay in this beautifully decorated Victorian building with its exquisite attention to detail is a vacation in itself! The owner and host extraordinaire, Marty Neely, ensures that each guest is treated "like family" and no request or question is too big or too small to be met. Marty's philosophy for the utmost hospitality and his dedication to meticulous detail are evident throughout this beautifully furnished building and both goals are readily achieved by his loyal staff. His "right hand" assistant, Liza (pronounced Lee'za) is incredible as she graciously greets you, carries luggage and mounts the stairs, while donned in high heels and impeccable dress. You'll have 24/7 access to complimentary coffee/tea, cookies, port and sherry while you appreciate the relaxing music and fresh flowers in the grand parlor. FYI: numerous interesting books and various current newspapers were available, including (on Sunday when we were there) The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. The piece de resistance: Do not miss the unbelievably generous breakfast buffet (see accompanying pics), which the staff dutifully replenish without prompting (How many times have you been in lodging promising a "complimentary breakfast" when you had to repeatedly ASK for "more" coffee, toast or other meager items?!) Moreover, the hot tub and garden patio are available for all guests to enjoy, making a lovely beginning or ending to your indulgent stay.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms have their own charm and offer various options: e.g., several have a jacuzzi tub f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccorpuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Expensive price per night, can be expected in San Francisco. Good breakfast, fruits and alcohol available in the lounge. No elevators. Gratuity envelope in our room was a turn off. Nice Victorian stylish property.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,244 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn San Francisco

Property: The Inn San Francisco
Address: 943 S van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94110-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn San Francisco is an authentic 1872 Victorian mansion bed and breakfast inn. The Inn includes 21 rooms and suites, fireplaces, a garden with a redwood hot tub, a roof deck with panoramic views of the City. We serve a generous buffet breakfast 7 to 11 am. The Inn SF is located on South Van Ness Avenue in the Mission District of San Francisco. Near the Valencia street corridor, Noe Valley and the Castro. Close to the 24th Street BART station and near several bus lines. The Inn SF is surrounded by dozens of wonderful restaurants and coffee shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing