We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay in San Fran!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stay in San Fran!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Upon arriving for our stay we were greates by Liza who was very helpful during the stay. This old Victorian home is wonderful and cozy. We stayed in room 24 and it was very roomy. There are a lot of stairs so be warned about that. But they so help you take your luggage up to the room which was very helpful. We would definately stay again. Thanks staff!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdumais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    67
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
69
205
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My first contact with Marty, the innkeeper told me the Inn San Francisco was special. He didn't disappoint. From our arrival at noon( our rooms were ready!). To our departure 3 days later, what a wonderful experience. A Bed and Breakfast with all the homey, historical touches that make a stay special. The staff was charming, the maps with all the restaurants was a great touch that showed that the Inn is involved with the community. The guests were from all over the world, and the conversations were much friendlier than staying in a hotel. The chance to read about the provenance of a Victorian Mansion that withstood both major Earthquakes of the 20th century was outstanding. The décor is just delightful. The Victoriana authentic and comforting. Bravo to Marty and his gang. Thanks for a great trip from the Triple D girls in Chicago.

Room Tip: take time to enjoy the hospitality in the living room/parlor. That's part of the ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyinChicago_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I love this place, it's my new home whenever I come to SF. The rooms and grounds were beautifully landscape and decorated. The living room / parlor is a wonderful place to relax and read or meet other guests. The hot tub in its own gazebo was really inviting. Great breakfast!! We loved this place and will be staying here from now on when we visit SF.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The inn San Francisco is a very warm, home friendly B&B. Historical building decorated very antique, royale, noble style! Environment is excellent! Room are clean and tidy! Rooftop for sunset is good choice! Owner and staff are very friendly. Daily breakfast are good too, with the classical music playing, it is absolutely a good start for the morning! Near the mission quite convenient, avoid walking the dodgy street at night. Just one block down the mission ( I forgot the street name). Feeling not safe. I like this B&B. I feeling like I'm a princess when I stayed there lol! Recommended !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinescream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is lovely, well maintained historic Inn. Be aware that it is quite a climb to the entry way. the innkeeper was helpful with the bags and information on the Inn and life in the Mission. This in no way made up for the horrific parking situation. One expects when offered parking, a large garage or parking lot. Not here,the parking is across the street in garages build for the Model T, not todays compact cars. It was extremely stressful nightly getting the rental car parked. The breakfast buffet was continental, with lots of fruit, quiche, and it was most enjoyable to take in the lovely garden patio. The room was cleaned daily, there seemed to be a 2 glass limit in the bathroom, one was used for toothbrushes and never replaced. Overall it is a well run business and close to all things in the Mission,if the parking situation is resolved I would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are a must for anyone with walking problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0tty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've stayed here 3 times and have always felt very much at home. The staff is consistently knowledgeable, helpful and very friendly. The location is great, being on the BART line, it's very easy to get anywhere you want to go in San Francisco. The feather beds are very comfortable and the rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The breakfast is fantastic- quiche, bagels, cereal, yogurt, many different kinds of fruit, lunch meats, cheeses and pastries and pie. You can eat enough so that you aren't hungry for a long time. On this last stay we had a room on the second floor, in the front of the house and we did hear quite a bit of street noise. In the future we will aim to get a room in the middle or back of the house. We won't stay anywhere else when visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunpetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Couldn't rate it any higher.
Stunning accommodation, fantastically helpful and friendly staff, scrummy breakfast topped off by complimentary sweeties, biscuits, fruit, port and sherry!
Good location and plenty to see and do locally.
If ever returning to San Francisco, my first contact would be The Inn to make sure they have space for me and the family :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn San Francisco

Property: The Inn San Francisco
Address: 943 S van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94110-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn San Francisco is an authentic 1872 Victorian mansion bed and breakfast inn. The Inn includes 21 rooms and suites, fireplaces, a garden with a redwood hot tub, a roof deck with panoramic views of the City. We serve a generous buffet breakfast 7 to 11 am. The Inn SF is located on South Van Ness Avenue in the Mission District of San Francisco. Near the Valencia street corridor, Noe Valley and the Castro. Close to the 24th Street BART station and near several bus lines. The Inn SF is surrounded by dozens of wonderful restaurants and coffee shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing