We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite SF Inn”
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #23 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite SF Inn”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Every year we stay at Petite Auberge to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Although there are many choices to consider, we always return to Petite Auberge. Once you walk in through the doors you feel like you are in a French country inn. It is very cozy. We always enjoy the evening wine and snacks and have met so many travelers from around the world. You will not be disappointed if you decide to spend one day or several days at Petite Auberge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsagirl1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    490
    130
    58
    24
See reviews for
157
862
114
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had an great time! Room was great and breakfast and happy hour were fantastic.
Thank you Joel for your excellent breakfasts and friendliness. Would definitely return in the near future. Great location and excellent wine during happy hour.

Enzo & Diana

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

What a great find! Very friendly staff, gourmet breakfast, wonderful evening wine reception with quality wines and food, nice room with fireplace, outside patio, convenient location with short walk to Union Square.

Room Tip: Room 56 on top floor at end of corridor is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mce99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly C, Manager at Petite Auberge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear mce99,
Thank you for reviewing us from your recent visit! I am so glad you had a chance to enjoy our wine reception and other amenities at the inn, and we are delighted to share your feedback with our kitchen staff. We hope to welcome you again!

Warmly,

Molly Cohen
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife & I stayed here for the Convention in May, 2013. We had the room at the back of the building. We enjoyed our stay there. We did not mind walking which makes walking shoes a must. We looked forward to the evening wine fare where we met other guests. The staff is personable, good resource about the locality & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This quaint hotel has everything if you are looking for a romantic getaway. The breakfast is different every day, prepared by a gourmet chef, and is amazing. The wine reception in the evening has wonderful food as well with great company. We met some really great people here! The room is somewhat small, but we weren't there to spend lots of time in the room. The location was perfect for our sightseeing of the city. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandM0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I really hesitate to give 5* reviews, but this place is such a gem. Wonderful staff, excellent breakfasts, and gracious wine and snacks at 5:30 where people gather to chat and share their knowledge places to eat and dance.
Each room has a fireplace, which in decidedly cool San Fran August was really nice. Our room was charming. It is a bit small, but quite adequate.
The French Petite Auberge and English themed Oscar Swan next door operate as a single hotel. You may have to go into the Swan to check in or use the business center, but we had no problems with this at all. Storage of our bags the day we left was not a problem and the bellman was on the spot immediately. I left some items and they immediately contacted me by email. This is my new SF favorite place. It is really more like a B&B than a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back. We were in #35 and it was nice and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clown town
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our recent visit was during a busy convention week in the city. Our choices were limited, but based on the reviews we felt things would be fine. Bottomline, compared to others review, our roomm #32, was little more than a closet. we could not open our 2 suitcases at the same time and had to remove the lamp from the small table to have room to do this. This is a tired hotel which needs updating. Our view was an inside corridor fronting on another brick wall. Most of the services were handled at the desk next door at the sister hotel, White Swan, a small inconvenience. The afternoon happy hour of wine and snacks was excellent. A buffet of sorts, with excellent preparations. All and all, we expected more from the accommodations, but there was no alternative, and we paid sky high rates.

Room Tip: DONT stay next to the elevator AND NOT in Room32
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrjuggles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly C, Manager at Petite Auberge, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us from your stay, we truly appreciate your candor and time in providing your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed our wine reception and breakfast spread, however I apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. While our cozy queen room type is recommended for a single traveler, we strive to create a warm, welcome, and comfortable environment in all of our guest accommodations--and I am disappointed that this was not the case. We are very excited to be in the planning stages for a refresh at Petite Auberge, and I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again on a future visit to San Francisco.

With Warm Regards,

Molly Cohen
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,715 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
582 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Property: Petite Auberge
Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing