We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #25 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel was very cute and although there was nothing very boutique or fancy here, they do everything you want, simply and to a high standard. The room was clean and the filter coffee machine was appreciated. Bed was fine, bathroom was small but the shower was lovely and hot. That peppermint shampoo was lovely! Best of all was a real open fire in the queen room which lit with a switch! Not needed in the climate but very comforting! We joined the guests for free wine and canapes, it was a lovely way to connect with others and broke the ice over breakfast. Staff are so sweet and always give you a smile. Breakfast was fine, not an overwhelming array but just enough of what you need. A delight. The area felt safe enough with some good local charm away from the big corporate chains of Union Square.

Room Tip: Room 46 was nice but unfortunately, when our upstairs neighbours got amourous at 5.30am, we could he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    470
    117
    56
    23
See reviews for
144
810
104
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave. I had requested a queen fireplace room on the top floor when we booked, and was concerned due to a late night check in that it would not be available. And yet it was! The room is not large, and lived in-appearing, but clean and well thought out. The front desk staff was chill and efficient, a terrific combination.
Breakfast consisted of actual food, not synthetic eggs, not frozen fruit, not instant oatmeal. And the food was good and plentiful. The wine reception in the early evening allowed us to meet some interesting people, a very nice touch.
If you have a car, I would suggest going with the valet parking the hotel offers. It is just about the same (high) price as the surrounding garages, and the convience of having curbside drop off and pick up was fabulous.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a gas fireplace room-instant gratification, takes the chill out of the air, and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorabaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (Saturday/Sunday), this past weekend (Castro St. fair) , and were delighted over our stay. Room was quaintly decorated, large enough to feel roomy...furniture (armoire/dresser) quite in need of updating, but we loved and appreciated the double pane/sound block windows, nice bath water pressure & amenities. Lots of bedding, but the mattress was a little too soft for me. We LOVED the surprise wine "get-together". And the best part was the wonderful breakfast: freshly prepared, good supply/variety and the coffee was fantastic. Wonderful stay (wish it were longer....)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reidb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a great hotel with lots of charming details.
Awesome breakfast, afternoon wine tasting, great location, very good customer service and super nice and friendly staff that works at the hotel, shower robes. Get the room that has the fire place!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank taipeisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Staff went out of their way to provide excellent service. They provided fantastic restaurant recommendations and directions.

We stayed on the top floor and did not experience any noise from inside the hotel, but did get quite a bit of noise from the residential neighbors. This oddly started up after midnight on Sunday. Luckily I travel with ear plugs!

The mattress in our room needed to be replaced. I am used to a temperpedic so I might be spoiled but I felt like my feet were above my head and my partners motion caused me to bob up and down like I was on a boat.

Breakfast and evening wine receptions were super nice and made it feel like a community instead of just a place to stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the White Swan Inn, the sister hotel next door, last year and found both to be really good. However Petite Auberge seemed to be a little more ragged around the edges. If staying in San Francisco again we’d choose the White Swan Inn, despite the cheesy wallpaper and Royal memorabilia (if you take that stuff too seriously you’ve missed the point – it’s a great place!) Breakfast and free evening wine in each hotel is identical and the same staff seem to service each hotel. The inclusive breakfast, evening wine and 24/7 coffee/tea is a lovely touch.

During our stay there were reports of theft from room(s) at the White Swan Inn and Police were in attendance at the hotel while we checked out. We’ve stayed at both hotels on different occasions and had very good experiences at each but any sniff of thefts needs to be regarded with suspicion - there were no signs of forced entry apparently. In-room safes do not appear to be provided at either hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at front can be noisier due to street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here mid-September for 4 superb nights.

Location: really good location close to the shops and near the cable car line so that you can get elsewhere easily.

Room: room was cute, not massive, but did exactly what it needed to. Loved the decor too!

Staff: tip top service!

General: breakfast was lovely each morning and afternoon cookies were a nice touch. Especially enjoyed the complimentary wine each evening where you got the opportunity to chat with guests from around the world and get some useful tips on where to go or not the next day.

Summary: we give Petit Auberge 4 out of 5 overall as it was a tiny bit noisy at times as it's a small B&B but it's a wonderful place to stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Nice work Auberge!

Michael & Victoria (UK)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fleisch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Property: Petite Auberge
Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing