We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in San Fran”
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #24 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A week in San Fran”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A nice cute unique oasis in San Francisco. We stayed in the petite suite, with a separate entrance, a nice outdoor deck. Bathroom made you feel like you are at home, not in a hotel. Outstanding breakfast every day and afternoon wine and appetizers. Nice local places around

Room Tip: choose the petite suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coast2coastpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    490
    130
    58
    23
See reviews for
157
861
114
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I need to be fair to you, and to the world, and say that I'm generally a hotel snob. I travel a lot for work and almost always stay in name-brand places. I also need to say upfront that Petite Auberge was booked for me by the company I was visiting and I had no say in the matter.

This is a true-to-form bed and breakfast, really not suited for business travelers, and ideally suited for couples who need a place to sleep, but won't be spending much time at the hotel.
- Cozy queen is tiny (smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in) Mine backed up to an ally. All I heard all night was people digging in the trash cans. And, with no air conditioning, I had no choice but to leave the windows open.
- I'm 6'2" and had a really hard time in the shower. With the shower head being so low, and no room on any side, it was hard to rinse off my hair because there's literally no room to move in any direction in the shower.. Also, the faucet in the sink is too short. It butts up against the sink wall, so you can't get your hands under the stream of water.
- Lastly on the room, there's no desk to sit and work. I was here on business and needed a private/quiet place to sit.
- This hotel is sister to the one next door (something Swan). Frustrating that I had to walk to the hotel a few doors down to check in and check out (real, metal keys, y'all).
- Location off the beaten path and up a typical SF hill (with luggage, it gets interesting)
- The staff told me repeatedly that I could easily get a cab outside the door (know that I lived in NYC for several years). No dice. Had to walk a few blocks south and east and was a few minutes late.

Now, on the plus side:
- Breakfast is good and included in the rate. Fresh pastries, quiche, fruit and more.
- The coffee is YUMMY and available (for free) at all times.

The bottom line is that this place might work for some people. Know what you're getting, though, and look twice if you're a business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel was very cute and although there was nothing very boutique or fancy here, they do everything you want, simply and to a high standard. The room was clean and the filter coffee machine was appreciated. Bed was fine, bathroom was small but the shower was lovely and hot. That peppermint shampoo was lovely! Best of all was a real open fire in the queen room which lit with a switch! Not needed in the climate but very comforting! We joined the guests for free wine and canapes, it was a lovely way to connect with others and broke the ice over breakfast. Staff are so sweet and always give you a smile. Breakfast was fine, not an overwhelming array but just enough of what you need. A delight. The area felt safe enough with some good local charm away from the big corporate chains of Union Square.

Room Tip: Room 46 was nice but unfortunately, when our upstairs neighbours got amourous at 5.30am, we could he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave. I had requested a queen fireplace room on the top floor when we booked, and was concerned due to a late night check in that it would not be available. And yet it was! The room is not large, and lived in-appearing, but clean and well thought out. The front desk staff was chill and efficient, a terrific combination.
Breakfast consisted of actual food, not synthetic eggs, not frozen fruit, not instant oatmeal. And the food was good and plentiful. The wine reception in the early evening allowed us to meet some interesting people, a very nice touch.
If you have a car, I would suggest going with the valet parking the hotel offers. It is just about the same (high) price as the surrounding garages, and the convience of having curbside drop off and pick up was fabulous.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a gas fireplace room-instant gratification, takes the chill out of the air, and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorabaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (Saturday/Sunday), this past weekend (Castro St. fair) , and were delighted over our stay. Room was quaintly decorated, large enough to feel roomy...furniture (armoire/dresser) quite in need of updating, but we loved and appreciated the double pane/sound block windows, nice bath water pressure & amenities. Lots of bedding, but the mattress was a little too soft for me. We LOVED the surprise wine "get-together". And the best part was the wonderful breakfast: freshly prepared, good supply/variety and the coffee was fantastic. Wonderful stay (wish it were longer....)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reidb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a great hotel with lots of charming details.
Awesome breakfast, afternoon wine tasting, great location, very good customer service and super nice and friendly staff that works at the hotel, shower robes. Get the room that has the fire place!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank taipeisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Staff went out of their way to provide excellent service. They provided fantastic restaurant recommendations and directions.

We stayed on the top floor and did not experience any noise from inside the hotel, but did get quite a bit of noise from the residential neighbors. This oddly started up after midnight on Sunday. Luckily I travel with ear plugs!

The mattress in our room needed to be replaced. I am used to a temperpedic so I might be spoiled but I felt like my feet were above my head and my partners motion caused me to bob up and down like I was on a boat.

Breakfast and evening wine receptions were super nice and made it feel like a community instead of just a place to stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,707 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
1,675 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
571 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,765 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Property: Petite Auberge
Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing