We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Charming”
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #25 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This small hotel in the heart of San Francisco is a little slice of country French style and pleasure. I stayed at this hotel many years ago and loved it. Last week I wanted to do something for my son and his wife so I bought them a room at this hotel. They raved about it when they came home. The staff is friendly, the hotel is utterly charming and the rooms are little bits of France. They offer a lovely full breakfast each morning and a wine and hors d’oeuvres each evening. It doesn’t offer the room service and work out rooms of the large hotels, it is just charming and romantic and wonderful.

Room Tip: Several rooms have fireplaces in them which adds to the romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tallguy92056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, General Manager at Petite Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear tallguy92056,

I can't thank you enough for spreading the word about our charming oasis in the heart of the City! It is such a pleasure to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stays at the Petite Auberge. On your next visit with us, please feel free to let us know if you are interested in exercising and we will make sure to set you up with gym passes. We work closely with a full-service fitness facility only 2 blocks away called Club One Fitness. I would be thrilled to welcome you all back and hope to have the pleasure to meeting you soon.

With much appreciation,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely, charming boutique hotel, which is just perfect for being a short walk into the main shopping area, and chinatown. It was close enough to walk in to the city getting the tram, and just enjoying the wonderful sights. The rooms are all charmingly decorated with the most amazing roaring fire. Downstairs you can sit on big couches to enjoy the coffee, and cakes (snacks) that are provided for guests which was a nice touch after a busy day. The breakfast was nice each morning, with a homemade selection to choose from. Our room had no view, only a wall of the building next to us, but plenty to see when you're out and about. We booked two nights to start, which we paid for before we travelled, and decided to stay an extra night, which was much more expensive to do that way, And you pay to park your car, which is taken away to be parked, which was fine, as once you are there you don't need it. All in all loved the hotel, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This hotel has a European feel. Very charming boutique hotel. The noise of the city did not bother me at all, and the house itself is pretty quiet. I came to SF on business and stayed here during the coldest week of December so the fireplace in the room was delightful. The bed was really comfortable and the room was cozy. Great breakfast each morning with home baked goodies. Enjoyed wine and appetizers in the afternoon. The staff was nice and very accomodating. I called the front desk for an iron and they were at my door within 5 minutes with an iron and board. The location is perfect. Short walk to cable car and down to market street. This is a quiet hotel with no swimming pool, recreation or restaurant so I wouldn't want to stay here if I were travelling with small children. However, it's so peaceful, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluizeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here on honeymoon. Some squeaky floors and stairs in this older building but no complaints about anything else. Room might be a bit small and pokey for some but really it's enough for most, clean and quaintly comfy. Staff very nice. Breakfast very good. Free afternoon wine & snacks for guests. Located a short walk from Chinatown and the main shopping area. I'm sure we'd go straight back here if we were returning to San Francisco which we would love to do some day. Can't really think of much bad about the place other than that the view from the room was just of a wall of the next building but who's going to spend time in their room when Frisco is just outside the door! :) Wasn't too expensive either.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pandabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have been in SFO many times. I usually stop at brand hotel. I choose this one based on trip advisor. Very cosy, looks like home. I maybe bias I am into that king of country style deco. My room was small but nice, with a fireplace that put some winter ambience. The bed was good. All you need is there. Breakfast was nice. My only remark would be to upgrade the TV…That is sure, I am gonna come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a great visit. Excellent stay. Great breakfast and wine & cheese. Close to Cable Car route can walk there. Would highly recommend staying at this San Francisco Inn in Nob Hill. Near to restaurants and lots of tourist attractions and shopping.

Room Tip: Note..no fitness center or swimming pool. It is in downtown San Francisco so I wouldn't expect s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clyde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly C, Manager at Petite Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Clyde P,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for again choosing Petite Auberge for your stay! The highest compliment we could ask for is the opportunity to make your upcoming stays in San Francisco special, and we hope to have you for many more.

Warm Regards,
Molly C
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The room I stayed in was small but certainly large enough for me as a solo traveller. I think it would be suitable for a couple also if planning to spend the majority of your time out exploring the city. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the inclusion of a sound machine to counteract the regular city noise from outside was appreciated. The room was not air-conditioned, which meant I kept the windows open (a personal preference).
The breakfast each day was lovely with some nice variety in the offerings. Afternoon cookies were also tasty.
I found the location to be reasonable. It is on the edge of the less desirable part of town, so some caution in wandering at night is advisable. I didn't have any issues, however.
The main contributing factor for the average review is the price - while possibly comparable for San Francisco, I feel that I've had better experiences in better locations in other cities, so don't feel this was great value for money for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wwttrr_021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,878 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
1,758 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £117 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing