We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lucky find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #25 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This small hotel has many positives. Great location in the Nob Hill area. Friendly, very helpful staff. Complimentary happy hour with good wine and hors d'oeuvres. Yummy complimentary breakfast with lots of options. Although an old property with squeaky floors and dated carpeting, it has many nice touches, including the French music which is played in the sitting areas. We had a basic queen size room, very small but adequate. The bed was super comfortable. Valet parking. Because of location, we didn't need our car until checkout. Lots of restaurants and neighborhood markets nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southbaytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    470
    117
    56
    23
See reviews for
144
811
104
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SANTA ROSA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I enjoyed this hotel very much. Amazingly nice staff, quaint little hotel. Not in the middle of the action but just a couple blocks off. Only one siren at night but that's the city for you. Very nice breakfast. Thanks so much, Nice wallpaper

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LUIS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
257 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very pleasant and helpful staff here, we loved our 2 day stay. The gas fireplace added warmth and romantic flavor to a delightful room furnished with antiques. My spouse said this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It's not for everyone. An old building means steep narrow stairways, an elevator with a gate, creaky floors and you can hear other guests if they argue. To avoid these charming old world problems, get a room at the Hilton.

The breakfast is noteworthy and no two days will be the same. Today there was an asparagus and olive quiche, sausage, potatoes, full flavored rich dark coffee, juices, fruits, presented in a charming setting on the lower garden level. An afternoon reception with wine & hors d'oeuvers was a nice way to meet other guests.

We walked to Nob Hill and Chinatown (easy), North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf (farther). Taxis are affordable and easy to snag, the Cable Car is 1.5 blocks away. Many varied restaurants are within an easy walk.

This is an ourtstanding, colorful, charming, small hotel. We would choose it again and again.

Room Tip: The "deluxe" queen rooms are slightly larger and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We liked the staff which was very friendly and willing to help. The location is just great, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was something extra. We like small hotels so this one was perfect with its 25 rooms, We also like France so we found it very homely. If you read this just book this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Ilta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Location of this hotel is great - just a couple of blocks from Union Square, Grace Cathedral, Chinatown, etc. There isn't much right around the hotel, but it's an easy walk to restaurants.

The room included breakfast, which was adequate, and coffee/tea/bottled water/soft drinks around the clock. My room was on the top floor at the back of the hotel, so noise wasn't an issue. Furnishings were a bit worn - it feels like you're visiting an elderly relative. The room did have a gas fireplace - very nice touch. Check-in is odd in that you have to go to their sister property next door, then get the key to your hotel & room. Staff were OK, but no real standouts - they simply did what they were asked to do and didn't make an effort to do more.

Overall, it was fine for an evening in the city and is a good value based on the location & price.

Room Tip: Spend a few more $ for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SACRAMENTO
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed at Petite Auberge several times and always enjoy the tranquil setting with the French flavor. We have always been in a king with fireplace which is so comfortable. The location is perfect...can walk many places and is also close to Muni. The staff is great. It is time, however, to replace the carpeting in room 51.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SUSAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Petite Auberge is close to Union Square. I have stayed there many times in the past and am always pleased. The staff they have right now are very pleasant and helpful. Staying at a b&b with wine and snacks in the early evening and full breakfast in the morning is a perk!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie46240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Property: Petite Auberge
Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing