We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strategic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petite Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petite Auberge
Ranked #24 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz
1 review
“Strategic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have never stayed downtown and found the convenience of being able to walk to shops, restaurants, and theaters to be a real plus. The staff was very attentive and encouraged us to make ourselves feel at home. The suite was a pleasant secluded surprise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara And Ste... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    477
    122
    57
    23
See reviews for
150
830
106
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
simonuineill
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed here in June and would come back again any time I was lucky enough to be back in SF. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the whole place has an old worldly charm. My room was very comfortable - not the largest but well laid out, with a nice ensuite shower room. Great to have breakfast included - and a very nice breakfast it was, eggs, sausages, cereals etc. but I loved the way there was free fruit laid on all day, as well as a fridge with free water, diet coke etc. The hotel is very central - walkable (if you can cope with the SF hills) to all the places you might want to visit and near trolley cars and the metro system. A real little European haven in SF

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonuineill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel has many of the advantages and disadvantages that are typical of "boutique" hotels. Charm is the main advantage; the hotel is cute, and it has some nice touches, such as fireplaces in many of the rooms, evening wine, 24-hour access to soft drinks and water, a decent (although not quite "gourmet") breakfast. Disadvantages have to do with comfort, convenience, and lack of modern amenities. The bed was too soft. Whenever someone would walk in the room above ours the floor creaked, and during 2 of the 4 nights of our stay it sounded as if people above us were doing heavy exercises (on the floor, not the bed) for a couple of hours late at night. A bar across the street was extremely noisy late at night. The bathroom sink lacked counter space. These deficiencies could easily be overlooked in an inexpensive hotel, but this one is far from inexpensive. (Granted, SF is a pricey city.)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Petit Auberge is a very cozy B&B/hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. There was lots of fruit for breakfast and the wine hour was a great way to relax and if desired meet up with other guests. The staff is generous with its hospitality. The location is good although the traffic can be loud we weren't disturbed by it. Try out the small restaurant City Chopsticks just a couple of doors from the hotel

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlph55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times. We really like it. The full hot breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are an added extra. We stayed in Queen with fireplace this time. It was fine. They got new flat screen TVs which are great but we had trouble working the remote. When I called they came to help explain it. I wish they listed the TV network stations in their booklet, It would be better than just flipping up and down the remote. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Location is great, near Union Square and various Muni bus lines.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely small hotel, with pleasant staff, international clientele, well-located near Union Square. Small, comfortable, charming rooms. Full complimentary breakfast and evening wine reception add to the value. Terrific cage elevator.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elise406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, N.Y.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I recently stayed for six nights here during a business trip to San Francisco and I have absolutely zero complaints. The area is in a great location -- close enough to walk to the city financial center and the shops near Union Square Park, and also near many good restaurants and bars.

When they checked me into a "downstairs" room, I immediately cringed and asked for another, unsuccessfully. In the end, I loved my room, which though on the lower level, got a decent amount of sunlight.

The room was tastefully decorated and homey. The bed, big & comfortable. And I enjoyed the fireplace on a couple of chilly nights. While I was on the same floor as the kitchen and dining area, I was never bothered by any noise at all.

I never actually saw anyone at the front desk of this hotel, which was a little odd. But I never had to ask for anything either. Staff in the dining area at breakfast were courteous.

Although I was tempted to sample some of San Francisco's bakeries, I couldn't pass up the breakfast served each morning, which typically included an interesting egg dish (quiche, etc), pancakes or biscuits, sausage, fresh fruit, pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, cottage cheese, breads and jam. The variations kept it interesting and satisfying for the whole time I was at the hotel.

Petite also had an afternoon happy hour. I made it back to the room only a couple of times to enjoy a glass of wine, but I thought it was pretty good, as were the cookies in the lobby.

One additional perk I really appreciated was the complimentary water, sodas and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge

Property: Petite Auberge
Address: 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Petite Auberge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Nob Hill and Union Square, Petite Auberge is the perfect small hotel for a trip to San Francisco. The Petite Auberge welcomes you to a world of French provincial enchantment. French doors with beveled glass, a collection of French art, a cozy parlor with a crackling fire and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Most guestrooms offer fireplaces. We offer a generous breakfast buffet each morning and an evening wine reception. Fresh baked cookies are available each afternoon. Also, check out our sister hotel, White Swan Inn just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petite Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Hotel San Francisco
Petite Auberge San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing