We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Ranked #140 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

On arrival we found the receptionist very helpful, and upgraded us to a lovely room. I just wish there would have been tea & coffee making facilities in the room. Everything else there was excellent. It is in a great location close to Union Square and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise I suggest you mention this when booking. We had a street room bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    150
    118
    28
    18
See reviews for
35
139
79
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 nights (jan end to feb). Was looking for a good location, clean and silent hotel. Glad to say it delivered on all counts! The only negative is a funny odour from the carpets and lack of view (at least from my room on 6th floor). But on the whole a good experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anuj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Great location, small clean hotel with breakfast option. Very nice and helpful staff. Shehbyz went above and beyond to make our stay very pleasant. I will stay there again and would recommend my friends to stay there too. This is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for. I don't understand people that can't afford to pay more, but complain about everything. Luxury is never cheap!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Mountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Touchstone is a no-frills, small hotel located close to Union Square and Market Street, which are hubs to virutally anywhere in SF. The room is tiny and the walls need a repainting, but that wont be a big problem if you don´t spend a lot of time inside the room.. It can be a bit noisy during the night, but I guess that´s the price for staying in a central area. There is no safe and no fridge in the room. Wi-fi works just great, and if you need there are also computers available.
There are complimentary bottles of water in the room every day, which was very handy. The staff is very kind and was very helpful arranging the airport transportation (specially the asian lady)
The guests get 25% discount to every meal they have at the delicatessen (David´s), which is a plus!
All in all if you´re looking for a budget hotel in a good location in San Francisco, I would recommend the Touchstone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cre3pyTie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The receptionist told us to park outside the hotel while we took our bags upstairs and then move the car to the garage behind for $18 per 24hr reduced rate. We got a $95 fine as parking outside the hotel is apparently not allowed (for even the 5 minutes we were upstairs). It was also $40 per night parking as the reduced rate deal finished the month before (we found this out when we picked the car up after 2 days).
At 1am on the 2nd night we awoke to water dripping through the ceiling. The night man (great help, although apparently not a full time employee) let us stay in a different room, but told us it was a known heating problem (from the water sprinkler? Really?). On check-out, the receptionist refused to let us speak with the manager and instead spoke to her on the phone in front of us. He told us that the water wasn't from the heating system, it was toilet water from the room above(!!!!!!) and was quite rude and unapologetic. The General Manager has had a letter from us requesting a response, and (via the receptionist) said she would call/email us. This has yet to happen after 4 weeks.
Tip 1- don't stay here. If you have already booked, cancel.
Tip 2 - if the Asian lady is working, leave ASAP!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
touchstone480, General Manager at Touchstone Hotel - City Center, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,

this was admittedly not a good stay for you. Again, we are extremely sorry for these upsetting events. Even though none of the staff had any bad intention, things were obviously not clearly communicated.
Kindly note that we attempted to contact you via e-mail and through the third party supplier you booked the room with several times. We know that money cannot make up for stress and discomfort but you were refunded for all your expenses. Please do accept our apologies.

One more thing, though: RACIAL PROFILING is NOT WELCOME on a travel site like this, as it is should not be anywhere in the world! I am afraid I will have to report this review.

PS: these are all our UNANSWERED e-mails to the guest:

----- Forwarded Message -----
From: Touchstone Hotel
To:
Sent: Friday, January 10, 2014 10:51 PM
Subject: Fw: Your stay at the Touchstone Hotel - official complaint

Hello ...,

I understand that you are really upset with us.
Even though you did not confirm which credit card we may refund,
we went ahead and used the card you provided at check-in.
Please find attached the receipt for further follow-up.
Again: kindly accept my apologies for all these unpleasant events.

Have a good weekend,
(Manager)

From: The Touchstone Hotel
Sent: Friday, December 20, 2013 7:10 PM
To:
Subject: FW: Your stay at the Touchstone Hotel - official complaint

Dear ...,
kindly confirm the receipt of the mail below
and advise how you wish to proceed.
Best regards,
(Manager)

From: The Touchstone Hotel
Sent: Thursday, December 19, 2013 6:20 PM
To:
Subject: Your stay at the Touchstone Hotel - official complaint

Dear ...

thank you for contacting us regarding this matter.
This was not a good stay, now was it? I was informed about the
unhappy circumstances taking place last weekend: a guest had
taken an unusually extensive shower at an equally unusual time,
and had flooded not only his own room (2 stories up from your room)
but obviously yours.
I can assure you that the water did not come from a toilet,
but definitely from the shower. The coloring stems from our
90 years old wood structure. Our water damage was/is huge
and to make matters worse, the guest refused to open the door
and claimed that everything was fine!

I sincerely apologize for this very inconvenient commotion you
were forced to be part of.

As far as the parking situation goes, I cannot state any opinion,
I will have to take your word.
While I know that money cannot make up for the stress and lack
of sleep during this particular night, I still would like to refund your
accommodation fee, refund your parking ticket, and pay for your
extended stay at the parking garage. We would refund the amount
to the credit card you provided at check-in, if this alright with you.

This was an unlucky weekend for all of us. Kindly do accept our apologies.
Naturally, I remain at your disposal should you like to discuss things further.

Sincerely,
(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay here for our last two nights of a three week trip of South America.

Absolutely disgusting, I would not recommend anyone to stay here. The noise of the traffic is unbearable, we had to get really drunk so we could pass out when returning to sleep.

We changed room on arrival as the room we were given originally, was horrid. And the new one wasn't that much better. In the picture it looks, new and contemporary. But believe me is horrid.

My wife cried her eyes out when we opened the door to the room.

Duvet and Sheets were dirty, floor was dirty, bathroom was dirty, very very noisy, windows never shut properly.
We cancelled the second night and lost our money because it was that unbearable. It's borderline a 1 star.

Please don't make the same mistake I made by booking here. The picture is a load of crap!!! By far the worst hotel we stayed in on our trip and we mostly stayed in 2 to 3 star, as we were on a budget.

Be aware- stay clear!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shepp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

A great hotel to start our trip. It's location was ideal, a short walk to union Square and down to cable car and line 7 transportation to Fisherman's Wharf. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Our Room was tidy and comfortable and serviced daily. The free fruit available was an added bonus. Only down side was it was very noisy. We had a room on the 3rd floor that overlooked the street. May be less noisy in a room further back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#167 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Music City Hotel
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#179 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touchstone Hotel - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Hotel - City Center

Property: Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Address: 480 Geary St, Between Mason Street and Taylor, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Touchstone Hotel - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the pleasant 2 star Touchstone Hotel-City Center, you will be located in San Francisco's Union Square, surrounded by famous restaurants, luxury hotels, high-end galleries and exciting night life. Nob Hill, North Beach, Chinatown and the Moscone Convention Center are a leisurely stroll from our doors. A short 2 min walk will take you to Union Square, which offers some of the most sophisticated shopping on the West Coast. The famed Cable Cars are close enough for you to hear rumble by. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center offers 44 rooms blending old-world charm, new-world convenience and small-world comfort. Simply but pleasantly decorated and equipped with organic toiletries and complimentary bottled water. All rooms have their own en-suite bathroom. Internet is available throughout the hotel at no charge. There is an original 1950's deli/cafe adjacent to the hotel. Hotel guests receive a 25% discount coupon. The hotel provides a left luggage office and valet parking service at extra cost for 24 hours with unlimited in-and-out privileges. The Touchstone Hotel-City Center is very close to the city's efficient public transportation (25 min train ride from SFO). Great central location for this budget San Francisco hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Touchstone Hotel - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touchstone Hotel - City San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing