We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best service and room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Oceanside, California
1 review
“The best service and room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have not had a vacation for about two years. What a great choice I made. My vacation was great. I love the location of the hotel for I could walk to shops and dinning in just a few blocks. The staff was the best and I will recomend this hotel in a heart beat. Thank you for your great staff and the cleanest hotel ever

Room Tip: 15th and 16th floors the view is the best, but the north west is the best view of the city and bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    857
    351
    149
    73
See reviews for
414
927
130
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Super locale, great service, fab-o hotel and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. While there, I used the small meeting rooms as well as the ballroom. Great layout. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Great locale to go sightseeing (although be prepared to tackle the steep hills).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BookCentsBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Great view, wonderful service, large renovated rooms, and super location. Breakfast was delicious, and the cold buffet sufficed, with numerous choices. From the moment I pulled into the entrance of the hotel to the front desk, everyone was very attentive and helpful. Parking rates, like the rest of San Francisco, was $60 per day, so my recommendation is to take taxis to and from the airport, or the BART, and walk around the city. This location affords you that opportunity, walk to Market, Chinatown, and the Embarcadero.

FYI, first checked into a room at the Four Seasons, and did not care for my room. Decided to stay here instead.

Room Tip: 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FHANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We booked two rooms for six nights Nov 16 to Nov 22, king beds 10th floor
THE GOOD:
Nicely appointed room, immaculately clean and comfortable, excellent quiet air conditioning system. A very quiet room, I noticed lots of reviews complaining of street noise not in our case though. A great location with easy access to public transit, close to major tourist attractions like Fishermans wharf and shopping centers. Great historic hotel and very friendly staff. Speaking of which Helene the hotel Concierge managed to find us Oakland Raiders tickets and even negotiated better seats with the vendor than we could get. Safe in the room great for valuables.
THE BAD:
Yes up to $18.95/day for wireless internet is insane especially in this day and age. The worst part is it says 3MB / sec and its more like .6MB/sec most of the time and often drops out entirely.
No restaurant, they have a breakfast buffet each morning @ $25 / person four people with 15% gratuity added and tax was $139 each morning.
SUMMARY:
We loved the hotel, loved the location, found the staff great, disliked the internet, thought the breakfast buffet a bit pricy although it had a nice selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

What a city - what a great hotel. Top of the world. Great service, beautiful rooms. Maybe a little expensive on the breakfast, but there are cheaper places nearby.
Also- you better be prepared to walk up steep hills, or take a taxi - these hills are the steepest, but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We love this hotel. Friendly staff, great view and comfortable accommodations. The Top of the Mark has late night dancing with awesome views. Parking and wifi are very expensive and there is no gift shop in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Rooms facing the front of the hotel are a bit more noisy, but the views are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amomnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have just finished a 5 night stay here and highly recommend it. Stayed on 17th floor in a Club Room.

Room was clean, tidy and modern. Bathroom was massive - as big as the room nearly! Room was also very spacious. Found the room to be very quiet - minimal street noise and almost no hotel/ guest noise unless someone was outside the room.

Excellent housekeeping service - they figured out we liked the soap so a few extra were left. Room was always immaculate.

Beds are soooo comfortable - like a huge pillow of air.

In room facilities were great - Internet was fast and there was a coffee maker (although we did not use it). There was a shortage of power points and in our room, no desk but we just used a side table and the ottoman easily enough. Air conditioning was good and enjoyed the ability to open the window.

In room dining was prompt and usual fare for a hotel of this nature.

All reception/ concierge staff were friendly and helpful. Doormen were lovely and remembered our names. Use of the town car was appreciated.

Club lounge facilities were exceptional! We made good use of these - breakfast, high tea and cocktail and hors d'ouerves hour. Food quality and range was excellent. The staff in the lounge were exceptional - answering questions,arranging things for the room and helping with the medical service. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Top of the Mark - loved the view but found the menu (light dining) to be very limited. Good drinks but did not appreciate the attitude from front of house - found him to be quite rude. Despite being a hotel guest he did not want to give us the window table as he wanted to leave it for a group of 4 (we were a party of 2).

Location - yes it is a little out of the way but that can also be a good thing especially when you encounter the issues on the street in other parts of town. Found the walk down easy enough, similarly got on to cable car quickly each time. Tended to taxi back up due to where we had been.

Overall - Really enjoyed the stay and would happily return. Would be great to see day spa type facilities though!

PS - to the last reviewer re the 10 cent charge - that became law in SF in October. I encountered it in a number of places like Walgreens.

Room Tip: Higher floors for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFlyingKiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,342 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing