We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #65 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Gloucester, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

First the bad and then the good: I had booked the deluxe room in order to make sure we got a top floor view. We received 4th floor rooms and were told by Wendy, the receptionist, this was an upper floor (there are 18 floors). A request the next day for a refund for not getting a deluxe room resulted in sudden appearance of two rooms next to each other on the 10th floor. We asked Wendy to please leave a set of room keys for our two teens who had gone out shopping but she refused saying anyone could walk up and request the keys - even though she had seen the kids the day before. We requested plates be sent to my parents suite that NEVER arrived. We requested NO room cleaning and came back to find out the maids cleaned the room anyway. Entering the hotel, the garbage cans are overflowing with trash - not much of an impression for an Intercontinental. It took 2 days for the hotel staff to remove a roll-away bed we had requested for one night. $16/day for internet access is ridiculous. There is no coffee shop in the hotel or really anyplace to just sit and have a drink unless you went to the Top of the Mark. Maybe minor things, but not if you're trying to be a top hotel. Now the good: We loved the location on Nob Hill, easily walking down to Chinatown and taking the cable car back up the hill. I loved waking to the cable cars clanging their bells - very San Fran. The hotel is older but still retains much of its charm. My parents suite wasn't ready until 5pm but the manager sent up a bottle of wine to apologize. Top of the Mark does have fabulous views and is worth going to for breakfast once. I recommend the hotel for tourists looking for a romantic place to stay, but its not great for families. Don't expect much in regards to customer service though, especially from "no-can-do" Wendy.

Room Tip: Room 1037 (corner room) had great views in two directions. If you pay for a deluxe room make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank screwtopprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear screwtopprof,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    842
    346
    143
    72
See reviews for
409
915
127
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We got a good deal on this hotel for the day after Christmas. I thought the room was nicer than the ones we've been in at the Fairmont next door, or at least a little newer looking, though possibly smaller. The view from the top floor is really breath-taking, and our room also had a great view. The location is at the top of the hill, so you'll get a lot of exercise, but within walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy, multiple BART stations, etc.

The service left a little to be desired, but that's not really a deal-breaker. The hostess of the top floor restaurant was annoyingly aloof, and we had to wait a while at check-out while the front desk girl was on the phone for a long time. I'm also not really a fan of hotels that charge your credit card with a "deposit" upon check-in for incidentals, which seems unnecessary, or hotels that charge a lot for internet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leilani9484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Centrally located, a pain since at the top of the hill but as long as no one minds that then this really is a great location and nice to walk around too! The trolleys tops right in front and cab are super easy. The hotel was very nice on the outside and quite nice on the inside but once inside you could tell it was a bit dated. Unfortunately windows are old and since we were there mid-December the rickety windows really let the cold in and you can hear the trolleys back and forth through the night. Regardless, everyone was very friendly and the concierge service was priceless. We got there Christmas eve without dinner reservations and the concierge made sure we had somewhere to eat that night, she was super helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAround24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I am a business traveler and stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel is located on top of Nob Hill and offers spectacular views of San Francisco (especially the Top of the Mark bar/restaurant). I found the staff to be helpful, friendly, and patient with requests and questions about directions, transportation, etc.

It is a lovely place situated in a nice quiet area which reminds you of the grandeur of old San Francisco but it is also beginning to show it's age. The room where I stayed was showing it's years of wear and tear with a tired-looking carpet, chipped paint in the wall, antiquated bathroom fixtures ( a loose shower knob that almost fell off), and old/cheap-looking towels. For a hotel that boasts of old world San Francisco charm and luxury, it was disappointing to see the lack of attention and maintenance.

I would not recommend this hotel for business travelers looking for a reliable and high speed internet connection. Wi-fi access in the room was very expensive and not worth the painfully slow and spotty service. The business center also charged a steep fee for internet access and printing services. This is unacceptable especially for a hotel that is part of the Intercontinental. Had I been on holiday I wouldn't have minded not having internet access but this is a standard requirement for most business travelers to be able to check emails and do some work if they aren't working from an office without much hassle.

Food ordered from room service was also pricey and mediocre. For a hotel in Northern California, the wine list in the in-room dining menu is surprisingly not very imaginative. The Top of the Mark is worth going up to for the view but the food is forgettable.

The hotel is close enough to landmark tourist spots and the business area including the Grace Cathedral (very close and within walking distance from the hotel), Chinatown, the Embarcadero and financial district. Remember that the hotel is on top of a steep hill and while walkable, it will definitely give you a good work out and it is literally not for the faint of heart. Luckily, there are trolleys and cabs to take you up and down.

I would come back if I were on vacation but most likely won't stay here again when I'm traveling on business.

Room Tip: The rooms with the twin bids are apparently more spacious than the ones with the Queen-sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Karslima,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed the view from our property. However, I apologize that the Wifi connection was a disappointment and if the food served did not live up to expectations. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great old dame. Read up about Mark hopkins..interesting story...Beautiful Building...Long walk up the hill but conveintly located to downtown, China town and the trolley. Expensive parking!.More than 1/3 we paid for our room! Great weekday buffet.a real bargain... top of the mark on a clear day ..priceless

Room Tip: Well we got an exceptionl deal so we were very happy with a corner room with a city veiw. We were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeniheifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We usually stay at the Intercontinental SF whenever possible when in SF but decided to try the Mark Hopkins over Christmas. I wish we had gone to the Intercontinental SF. To me there is no comparison.

Our room was nice – dated but well maintained. Throughout our stay service was very inconsistent which resulted in several trips to the front desk, where for the most part you were told what you wanted to hear and then nothing was done. Although the issues were minor they took away from the total enjoyment of the hotel.

The hotel lacked amenities that should be standard in a hotel such as this one. There was no sundries shop (you are out of luck if you want an aspirin). There was no place to get a small breakfast unless you ordered room service or walked down the hill to Union Square. All they offered was a massive, pricy buffet. There was no lobby lounge so you had to go to the Top of the Mark to get a drink and it was closed two of the three nights we were there for a dinner buffet each night. As a previous reviewer pointed out the guests were not a priority at this hotel.

All in all, the Mark Hopkins did not live up to our expectations and appeared to be complacent living off its past reputation. From now on when we visit San Francisco we will stay at the Intercontinental SF. There we had few issues during our many stays and they were always handled promptly to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear michbren,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best InterContinental Hotel around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room being well maintained.

However It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the hotel amenities, poor customer service and the Bar. we will look into this point. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Where do I begin.

1. Only restaurant open was Top of the Mark and you needed a reservation for dinner and they were all booked up.
2. Believe breakfast was $40.12
3. Internet was something like $20.00 per day minimum
4. Coffee and tea were only set out until 8am
5. My last day there no hot water for shaving or shower.
6. Went to the Top of the Mark one evening. Help ignored us for 5 or 10 minutes and when we finally got seated, in a dark corner, they did not have tea or cookies/biscuits. They finally scrounged around and came up with some hot water in an egg nog type glass. We left.
7. Could not get into computer to print up my boarding pass. Concierge reluctantly did it for me, and he raced through and did not get seat assignment. I flew home, over 6', in middle seat. AAAAAAAAAArgh.

Don't think we will be staying there again.

Rest of staff was reasonably friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear dreamjoe,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Please accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service at the hotel restaurant. Our objective is to always provide the best guest experience and ensure the highest level of service across all areas and I regret that we have failed to deliver on this occasion.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#50 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, IHG, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing