We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready for a hospitality training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #61 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Mark Hopkins is located at a perfect location in the city, provided you have no problem to conquer the steep streets. The views from the Top of the Mark are great. The general atmosphere of the hotel is rather outdated, but could still be charming if the personnel would be hospitable, which they are not except for the staff at the reception.
The bartender and waiters at the Top of the Mark were downright unfriendly and seem only interested at getting writ of their customers. In general the personnel could increase their language skills and hospitality skills.
A further item is the fee charged for a very slow internet connection, which is something that is not expected at a business hotel.
What we very much liked was the breakfast in the Top of the Mark. the quality of the food and the views there were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pim_Sippola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service from the Front Desk and Concierge team. I am sorry however to hear that you found the Top of the Mark Lounge staff unfriendly. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with our Director of Food and Beverage. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

David Valencia
Assistant Manager – Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,132 - 1,138 of 2,570 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Mark Hopkins. We were quoted a rate of $349 a night. While our stay was excellent and the hotel beautiful, we were shocked to view our bill and see that for the last 2 nights our rate went to $439 and then $719! When we called the hotel next day they told us that my husband initialed this increase when he reserved the room. He did not. We were told one lie after another and sadly the hotel would not make things right. What a very disappointing end to a wonderful trip to SF.
I highly recommend that anyone staying at The Mark make sure they check the bill at time of checkout and not have it emailed as we did. We fortunately will get a credit from our Visa card but shame on that hotel for engaging in such dishonest and deceptive
business practices. Be careful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pboldys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hotel Management has contacted the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This is a delightful hotel. Old fashioned elegance. Service is excellent. Rooms as quality classic. Everything expected is there. It is an opulent place to stay. Small not likes: expensive internet on my deal and $6 water in room. Ovrrall very good and look forwars to staying again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TunbridgeWellsTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a larger group tour package and found it to be an excellent choice. We have been to S.F. before but stayed in the Fisherman's Wharf area. This location allowed us to explore many other parts of the city. The hotel exceeded our expectations from the friendliness of the staff and the efficient check in process to the comfort of our room and to the outstanding views from the lounge on the top floor.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niagaranomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Get a club room here and you will feel like a star! Morning breakfast, afternoon tea, happy hour, and sweets before bedtime are all included. The rooms are spacious and elegant and the views are phenomenal!! Only downside is being at the top of the hill means hiking back up every time you go down but hey, it's San Francisco after all :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in May, can’t remember anything bad about the room or hotel really.
The hotel has a nice entrance and lobby and the bar on the top floor is certainly worth a trip as the views are amazing. I can’t comment on breakfast or eating in the hotel.
The lack of a bar/café on the ground floor means there is nowhere to congregate outside of the lobby which has limited seating. View from the room was ok (city view) but the other side of the hotel would be better.
One thing to note, if you have trouble with walking this is not for you, it’s on top of one of the highest hills in SF and we struggled with the walk from downtown up to the hotel. Nice church across the road and its very scenic around the area though not much in the way of nightlife.
Overall it’s a good hotel and you can tell it’s been around for a while though not in a bad way.
I would probably stay somewhere more downtown in the flat area if I was going back, its nothing against the hotel, just the location.

Room Tip: Try and get a high room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JurKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent one night in San Francisco and stayed at the Mark Hopkins at the top of Nob Hill. The hotel is lovely with lots of elegant details. They upgraded us to a suite and it was luxurious to have 2 full rooms and a bath in San Francisco. The amenities in the bath were top notch and included bath salts and a shaving kit. Parking is very expensive here - $58 if you use their lot and between $30 and $40 if you park down the street. The cable car is a few blocks away, but gets very crowded. We opted to take a cab to dinner rather than fight for parking once we had a space.

We had drinks in the Top of the Mark, a dining room/nightclub that has served many celebrities over the years. It had a great view of the city and the service was perfect. We would have eaten breakfast there but they only offered buffet for $30 and we didn't want to eat that much.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beetky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,464 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,369 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £117 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing