We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The human aspect of an hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #61 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a very well managed property! The staff is distinguished not only by their competence, but also by their humanity. That goes for the maintenance personnel to those who front their guests personally. Thus, the well-kept facilities become secondary to the professional care for hotel guests.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

In my business life I have learnt that clients rarely get upset about the cost of the big items, it's the little things that make the difference. An expensive hotel that has all the advantages of grand old architecture and location but fails to deliver a true guest experience can never be considered to be a great hotel. The Mark Hopkins fails to deliver a true guest service experience, it fails miserably on the "little things" that makes the difference between feeling like just a paying customer and a valued guest.

I can overlook the really noisy toilet flushing during the night from adjoining rooms. I can overlook the noise through the door of the adjoining room. But I cannot overlook the following things that made feel me not valued as a guest -

1. I was tired and wanted a quick dinner in the hotel restaurant. When I rang to reserve a table I was told in a very rude manner " we don't accept reservations and the current wait is 40 minutes" ...and was hung up on.

2. No complimentary water. $6.50 a bottle.

3. Only enough complimentary cream and sugar for one cup of coffee each.

4. Tiny bath towels.

5. The light continental buffet breakfast, expensive for what it is, has a sign the instructs guests that that may only take 2 baked items!

Compared to the room cost these little things are insignificant. But it is the little things that make a guest feel valued. I did not feel valued at the Mark Hopkins.

Let me suggest the hotel as a whole take a lead from our housekeeper Nancy who left a personal note thanking me for my tip. Thank you Nancy, you were the only Mark Hopkins employee that made me feel I was appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Brischris,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the Value prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were truly pleased to see your high scores for the Cleanliness and Rooms. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked rooms for a wedding party and they made the stay perfect for us. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with panoramic views of the city. The suite was very nicely appointed...all marble finishings. All of what you would expect from a San Francisco traditional hotel...and one of the big four names...Hopkins! The Top of the Mark had incredible views...though we were a bit surprised by the lack of appointments up there. We were also surprised that they only offered buffet breakfast so left the property for breakfast.

Room Tip: Expensive...but worth a special experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My entire family stayed at the Mark Hopkins for a wedding and had a great time. The rooms were on the smaller size, but each one was different and had a little flair. Make sure to choose a room with a view - each room gets different lighting too. It was very close to SF Chinatown and we were able to walk there for dimsum. It's also decently close to Fisherman's Wharf so definitely make a stop there. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here - hotel employees were also very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jacki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We only stayed here for one night as a last minute alternative to staying at Yosemite (which we couldn't do because of the Government shutdown). It was relatively inexpensive for a basic room.

The hotel is not too far from Union Square but it should be noted that its at the top of a very steep hill so in order to get anywhere by foot, it involves some serious hiking (recommend against heels!). That said its location does offer excellent views of San Francisco. The exterior is magnificent and the service desk staff are friendly and efficient. The room itself was very spacious but you could see in places that it was a little tired.

The air conditioning was the most annoying thing - rather than a constant, low level of cooling, it blasts out cold air intermittently which makes a noisy rattling. My husband and I were woken up every time it turned on.

After a long day of touring around, we could not be bothered trekking up and down the very steep hill so we went to the restaurant at the top of the hotel, only to find that despite service breakfast and lunch, they only do cocktails and light nibbles in the evening. Unless you're willing to spend a small fortune on several small dishes in order to fill your empty belly, it's very unsatisfying. We ended up ordering room service which was very tasty but also quite expensive ($72 for a light dinner for two)

Would I stay here again, probably not. There are cheaper hotels in better locations.

Room Tip: Keep the air conditioning off if you want a decent night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvermouse27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Silvermouse27,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the condition of our facilities. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The "norm" for luxury hotels is to nickel and dime (well, the charges are considerably higher) their guests. It's an odd fact that a Marriott/Holiday Inn type place will almost invariably offer free WiFi and free coffee/tea and often light breakfast in the lobby, if a motel, free parking as well. But the more you pay, the less you get (or the more you have to pay for). MH no exception.

Amazing views, startlingly steep climbs, but cable car (day, 3 day or 7 day pass for most SF public transport available & California & Powell St cable cars V convenient & fun).

In room coffee machine V nice, but wish there was greater awareness of what is offered. One pod each of coffee/decaf/herbal/black tea doesn't work if a couple likes the same thing & really doesn't work when replacements duplicate undesired options (2decafs, 2herbal teas).

And when machine went kaput & spoke to concierge, desperate for a quick cup of coffee, (as coffee in lounge is only from 5:00am-8:00) he offered options of $ going to the Top restaurant, $ going out, $ ordering room service, or waiting for maintenance to fix machine (no$, but lengthy). Clearly saying 'please go to our $40? day nearby empty Club lounge & help yourself to a cup, so sorry for the inconvenience' was not an option. Go next door to Fairmont & take elevator to lower level & locate Cafe Centro. $ but nice takeout latte & espresso.

Am impressed & appreciative that hotel looks @ & responds to reviews. Have never been thanked (notes left in room) for tipping the maids & got lovely notes!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank qstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear qstreet,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Mark Hopkins is located at a perfect location in the city, provided you have no problem to conquer the steep streets. The views from the Top of the Mark are great. The general atmosphere of the hotel is rather outdated, but could still be charming if the personnel would be hospitable, which they are not except for the staff at the reception.
The bartender and waiters at the Top of the Mark were downright unfriendly and seem only interested at getting writ of their customers. In general the personnel could increase their language skills and hospitality skills.
A further item is the fee charged for a very slow internet connection, which is something that is not expected at a business hotel.
What we very much liked was the breakfast in the Top of the Mark. the quality of the food and the views there were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pim_Sippola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service from the Front Desk and Concierge team. I am sorry however to hear that you found the Top of the Mark Lounge staff unfriendly. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with our Director of Food and Beverage. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,

David Valencia
Assistant Manager – Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
2,989 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,375 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#92 of 230 in San Francisco
3,319 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,409 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £136 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing